skip navigation
Orchestra Wives

Orchestra Wives(1942)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Orchestra Wives - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Great Musical!

    • Jery Tillotson
    • 3/21/13

    When I first saw this musical on Million Dollar Movie back in the '50s, I thought the great Betty Hutton was singing with the Modernaires in their rendition of "People Like You and Me" and the best, "I've Got A Gal in Kalamazoo." Later, I learned this blonde bombshell was Marion Hutton--the often forgotten sister of Betty. I loved Marion's dynamic performance and her sparkling charisma that was sadly never utilized by movie makers back in the swinging 40s. And then there's Lynn Bari who plays the meanie, Jean, but wow, she was fabulous performing, 'At Last" and "Serenade in Blue," which were both dubbed--but Bari throws herself into these songs and she looks great. The whole movie is a wonderful piece of nostalgia, freezing forever the great Glenn Miller Orchestra at their peak. The storyline is rather simplistic: small town girl falls for handsome trumpeter and she then becomes a "orchestra wife." The "At Last" sequence is especially memorable as we see a long shot of a crowd of youngsters swinging and dancing to probably the greatest orchestra at that time. And then Lynn Bari and the handsome Ray Eberle come onto the stage to perform this classical song that is as popular today as it was after this movie hit the movie theaters in l942. We see a long-ago snapshot taken of what the "younger generation" enjoyed in those more innocent World War II days. Gee, I wish I could have been there to be part of that crowd of young spirits.

  • Great music!

    • RedRain
    • 3/20/13

    The "story" is a bit thin but the music redeems the film in toto. I didn't care for the great Nicholas Brothers being billed in the overview here as "specialty dancers." They were the greatest tap dancing duo that ever lived! I saw them in London. They were the opening act for, of all people, Judy Garland and what a night that was! The Nicholas Brothers received so many standing ovations that I wondered if Garland, as great as she was even then, would even show! If you liked the Nicholas Brothers in this film, please check them out in "Stormy Weather" when they perform their greatest number ever!

  • Orchestra Wives

    • Dashiell B.
    • 2/10/13

    An entertaining film devoted to swing music. The cheesey story of Montgomery & Rutherford's romance is dissapointingly unappealling. The film's main purpsoe is to croon us with Glenn Miller's music as performed by his outstanding orchestra. In short, if you like swing music, this is the film for you. I give it a 3/5.

  • Orchestra Wives

    • JeanetteRuth
    • 2/9/13

    "At Last" is a song which my 25 year old daughter fell in love with.It is classic ~The screen play in this film is especially classic~The overall plot frame could always be reworked into a useful story: small town girl makes it big.What I especially like about this screen play is that small town girl uses her ingenuity to temper such passion and in the process of "growing up" taps into some very strong leadership qualities of organization and management which in today's culture might be "capitalized" and expanded and reworked.The theme is relevant to any society and since it's in musical format: I love this. A good message sweetened with extraordinary musical artists, talent, and joie- de- vivre!

  • Orchestra Wives

    • Eli Raindancer
    • 3/27/12

    I felt the movie was the best I have seen it is a shame that I could not see it on T.C.M. I watched it on Fox F.X.M. When this movie comes to the open market I will be buying and adding to my library of films that I will share with friends.

  • The Awesome Nicholas Brothers!!

    • Alethea Thomas
    • 7/7/08

    This movie was so packed with young talented entertainment of that era, I barely remembered the plot! Singing, Dancing, Big Band...just breath-taking!TCM, this is a 'must add' for your film library!

  • Mesmerizing Harry Warren and Mack Gordon

    • Elliot Essman
    • 6/25/08

    It's not correct to say this movie doesn't have much of a plot; it has a real story, except that it's not a very interesting story, but the music! I would say Marian Hutton steals the show, if it weren't for the Nicholas Brothers dance magic. It's worth enduring the silly story just to reach the musical numbers in their context. Lynn Bari is such a wonderful "bad girl," and Cesar Romero is mainstream as the womanizing pianist. Glenn Miller (who only appeared in one other film) wasn't much of an actor, but you don't care. The film even has Harry Morgan and Jackie Gleason in their pre-TV days. It's a true historical document, a frozen point of American musical time.The songs: Serenade in Blue and I Got a Gal in Kalamazoo (I think this won the Oscar that year) are, of course, classics.And then there is the cat-fighting between and among the wives, if you like this kind of thing. It's not overdone.

  • Not much content, but oh, the music!

    • Christina
    • 3/18/07

    One of two movies that feature the dubious acting talents of Glen Miller. The plot is simple and laughable, but Miller's band is featured prominently. Even Tex Beneke demonstrates his acting. The movie is highly recommended for Glen Miller fans, and is a fun and brainless watch for everyone else.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.