skip navigation
The Passionate Friends

The Passionate Friends(1949)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

The Passionate... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • movies not yet on dvd

    • joan dalton
    • 4/21/14

    another great movie!waiting for it to come out on dvd to purchase!

  • A Wonderful Movie

    • Marlene
    • 4/10/14

    I came across this movie recently and immediately fell in love with the primary threesome. This movie had me wrestling within myself for who I wanted to like and/or find happiness. I also often replay the last fifteen minutes amazed at the acting abillities of Claude Raines and Ann Todd. He makes you feel his anger, hurt and love while she makes you feel her despair in ways that I found real and captivating. This movie offers both story telling and acting at its best!!!

  • The Passionate Friends

    • Catheryne
    • 3/25/14

    How refreshing to see a mature movie with a love story between three adults...Life does happen. I don't need special effects or never ending car chases. I ask only for excellent conversation, not innuendos, true feelings, not twerking to express emotions best expressed by looks and touches. Claude Rains was magnificent, Howard Trevor and Ann Todd beautifully complementary. Mr. Rains has starred in many outstanding films. In my opinion this is one of the best, yet this is the first I have heard of it. Must watch again to more appreciate and experience the many nuances of the relationships, the emotional entanglement of the three principals. The end was truly unexpected...not predictable at all.

  • Hmmmmm . . . Can't decide

    • I_Fortuna
    • 3/25/14

    Love Trevor Howard and Claude Rains so I can't decide who to go for. I must be sympathetic to both. Surprising H.G. Wells could be such a romantic. Nice film. LM has trouble seeing certain things from a female perspective so I am not suprised by his low rating. I also think that LM is a bit Victorian and it may color his perception of the female point of view. I noticed that unfaithful women or women outside the confines of traditional morality consistently are responsible the low ratings of certain films.

  • Beautifully Acted, Gripping Love Story

    • TrishSaunders
    • 3/25/14

    What a pleasure it is to watch a fine, sensitive movie that never ages. This is much more than a predictable love triangle, this is a psychologically-gripping, sensitive portrayal of a marriage disintegrating one little betrayal at a time. When Claude Rains fully realizes his wife loves another man, his quiet despair overpowers the screen. Yet, the movie is never dull. The small details of lost tickets, the indentation on a pillow... all create masterful suspense. Five stars from me.

  • Very Romantic Great Production

    • Joan
    • 5/1/13

    I always look forward to this movie. It is so pretty and pleasurable. I can't believe Maltin only give it 2 1/2 stars. Love it.

  • Claude Rains was just perfect!

    • TG
    • 9/27/09

    I fell in love with Claude Rains all over again after seeing this movie for the first time last week. Thank you, TCM for showing this gem. The tension mounted perfectly and enough drama to hold your attention. I flip flopped, just like she did in trying to decide who to choose. Perfect ending, perfectly paced. In today's hollywood, there would have been special effects and all kinds of stuff, but in this beautiful classic, there were expressions, embraces,and the perfect words. The day it comes out on DVD will be a happy day in my book!

  • Very enjoyable film

    • Robinita
    • 9/24/09

    Was surprised this was written by H.G. Wells. Never knew he did this kind of work. Love Claude Rains. Glad to see it end the way it did.

  • Wonderful!!!!

    • Courtney
    • 9/24/09

    I saw this movie this morning and it was just awesome!!! The acting was great and belivable. I think we can all say that somewhere in our lives we have had to follow our head over our heart. Being deeply in love with someone does not necessarily mean that they are the one for you. Please put this on DVD. Loved it. Was late for work looking at it. LOL!!

  • What profound questions!

    • Leary Blaine
    • 6/26/09

    Yes, yes, the acting and directing are wonderful. (I especially love all the subtleties that are entirely missing from today's pictures.) What inspires me, however, are two things:First, oh, the questions this movie asks us to consider! Just who, exactly, is our ideal mate? Is the romantic love that makes us all crazy the same kind that produces successful, long-term relationships?Second, the character of Mary is a personality type we seldom see: one who is the opposite of "calculating" or conniving. Poor Mary can't figure out whether to follow her heart or her head, so she struggles with both.It's coming back 'round in Sept, and I plan to watch it again!

  • A must-see for Claude Rains fans

    • Elizabeth
    • 8/28/08

    This was the first time I'd seen this film since I was in college, and it confirmed my memory of Claude Rains' performance, in my opinion the best work he ever put on film. His character has a distinct and very complicated inner life under his polished businessman's veneer. It's also a good, sophisticated piece of filmmaking and well played by Trevor Howard and Ann Todd. Here's my vote for home video!

  • The movie The Passionate Friends

    • vicki long
    • 8/24/08

    This is a must see if you have not seen this older movie. It is really great. Trevor Howard and Claude Rains wonderful actors. I love the snow scene where they go up into the mountains to have a picnic and they ride the ski lift!!!! Wonderful hope it will come out on video!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.