skip navigation
One Touch of Venus

One Touch of Venus(1948)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

One Touch of... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Miss "ONE TOUCH OF VENUS" movie

    • Mary Lou
    • 9/22/14

    I'd appreciate it if you would PLEASE run this beautiful story :-) I kept hoping and waiting for you to run this wonderful film. Please bring it back. Thank you in advance.

  • LOOKING FORWARD

    • E. R. GUMP
    • 7/29/13

    I SAW THIS MOVIE WHEN I WAS 16. I BECAME A FAN OF AVA GARDNER. HAVE BEEN SUBSCRIBER TO TCM FOR MANY YEARS AND I DON'T RECALL SEEING THIS MOVIE LISTED. DO YOU HAVE IT AVAILABLE?

  • One Touch of Venus

    • Archie Buchman
    • 7/20/13

    When this movie came out I was 1 year old, so I didn't make the premiere but when I was a teenager I saw this movie on NBC's "Saturday Night at the Movies" which was a good way for people who couldn't afford to take the family out to the movies to see one for free. This become so popular there was a "Monday Night at the Movies". This was where I learned about the old stars of Hollywood in it's Hey-day. I remember falling in love with Ava Gardiner at 13 not knowing anything about her other than she was beautiful and I loved that soothing voice and laugh. Dick Haynes was also a singer that really wasn't in my era of Rock-n-Roll but I enjoyed his version of Sing Low and like any version of the song today. Now that there is a blu-ray version of the movie available I will certainly buy it. For me it's great escape and reminds me of a simpler time. Frank S had good taste hen he choose Ava, he should of stayed with her.

  • One Touch of Venus

    • Kay Blum
    • 2/21/13

    One of my favorite movies of all time! PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE show this movie. It's a delightful movie with a great cast.

  • I movie to dream on

    • Lou
    • 2/2/13

    What a wonderful movie. When I was a young man and dating the loveliest girl ever, this movie made a romantic of me. What a cast! The chemistry was perfect. Ava Gardner was truely a fantasy come true. What beauty.It is an injustice to all those responsible for this production and the special cast, not to make this available to those who, like myself would love to revisit this film often and the memories that went with it. This generation needs more screenplays like this to see rather than horriffic violence and cheap sex. We need romance desparately. We need One Touch of Venus.

  • One Touch of Venus (1948)

    • Mary Griffin
    • 6/3/12

    I just realized while listening to Tony Bennett singing "Speak Low" that I haven't seen One Touch of Venus in at least a decade. Please put it on your schedule? Maybe when you do Robert Walker movies or include it next time you do Ava Gardner movies. She was beautiful. The entire cast was perfect from Eve Arden on.

  • One Touch of Venus - What a cast!

    • Hal Whitney
    • 11/2/11

    Robert Walker, Ava Gardnew, Eve Arden, Dick Haymes! What a cast! How can you not air this movie more often? Dick Haymes singing "Speak Low" is great!

  • one touch of venus

    • martin tarlentino
    • 7/23/11

    I am a faithful viewer of tmc movies and have never saw them show this movie,I think it is a great movie I use to watch it on million dollar movie when I was about 10 yrs old I am now 65 yrs old and would love to see it again.I would appreciate you showing it again. Thank You.

  • ONE TOUCH OF VENUS

    • ITHADTOBEYOU
    • 7/18/11

    I watched this movie on the Million Dollar Movie. show many years ago. I would loved to see it again.\Good songs, clean plot, great movie!!!! I hope TMC would show this one.

  • Divino

    • Sonia
    • 11/6/10

    Um dos melhores filmes de Ava. Ela est divina coma a deusa Vnus. Deslumbrante.

  • Another Million Dollar Movie , BABY

    • M. San Filippo
    • 8/6/09

    I am one of the persons that used to watch this movie every night for a week on the Million Dollar Movie.I loved every single caracter . I loved seeing Eve Arden looking so young. Ava Gardener was my ideal of a black haired beauty. My children have seen the remake /Manequin and it cannot hold a candle to it .

  • Ava Gardner...what a beauty!

    • CC
    • 6/24/09

    Has TCM ever shown One Touch of Venus? I don't believe they have....I may be wrong? Anyway, I remember it being such a wonderful movie, with such a beautiful actress and a great actor Robert Walker. The music wasn't bad either!

  • ONE TOUCH OF GREATNESS!

    • diane
    • 10/6/08

    i saw this movie way back when channel 9, nyc, on the million dollar movie. it played all week and i watched it all week. i couldn't been more than ten at the time but just the idea of watching it again resurrects wonderful, powerful memories. a love story, yeah, i guess but it's way more than that. what's not to like. eve arden, robert walker, ava gardner: it's one of a kind b&w movie that showcases all the actors' talents. a pure 10, pure and simple!

  • love

    • jim
    • 9/29/08

    I fell in love with ava gardner watching this movie when I was a kid growing up in Newark NJ

  • Great Love Story

    • Grace
    • 9/7/08

    I watched this movie over and over when I was growing up in Newark NJ also. It played on a show called the Million Dollar Movie several times in a week. Every time it showed my cousins and my self watched it.I would love to see it on Turner classics.

  • One Touch Of Venus

    • Carol
    • 7/11/08

    I really enjoyed this movie growing up back in Newark, NJ my sister and I cried each time we watchted it. Robert Walker and Ava Gardner were perfectly matched.The soundtrack and music were key in the whole story my favorite was "Speak Low"Please make this available soon!Carol

  • One Touch of Venus

    • connie garden
    • 4/19/08

    This is a fantasy movie I remember watching as a child , to this day. I would love to purchase.Why is it no one remember this.

  • One Touvh of Venus

    • Barbara Hickman
    • 3/14/08

    This is a great fantasy movie. Robert Walker was great in this movie and Ava Gardner was a goddess! The music is hauntingly beautiful. Once you hear the title tune , you can't get it out of your mind. I would love to see this movie become available via DVD. And, it would be nic to see it shown again on TCM!

  • HEART WARMING

    • GLEN RICHARDS
    • 3/13/08

    EVERY ONE HAS THE CAPACITY TO DREAM AND WE ALL WOULD LIKE TO HAVE ARE DREAMS FORFILLED. THIS MOVIE HAS THAT WARMTH THAT REMINDS YOU OF MIRACLE ON 34TH STREET THAT GIVES YOU HOPE THAT HE WILL HAVE HIS DREAM COME TRUE AND IT LEADS YOU ON A CHASE TO THE REALITY THAT MAKES YOU BELIEVE IT SHOULD HAPPEN. THE CHASE IS DEFINITLY WORTH THE RIDE THIS IS A PRODUCTION THAT SHOULD BE MODERNIZED AND I KNOW WHO THE CAST SHOULD BE ITS FUN AND HEART WARMING

  • Ava Gardner

    • jim
    • 1/31/08

    I have not seen this picture in many years.I was a young boy when I saw it and I fell in love with Ava Gardner .The music was great and Ava Gardner was beautiful.

  • ONE TOUCH OF VENUS

    • TINAS
    • 9/23/07

    OH WOW!!! I HAVENT SEEN THAT MOVIE IN YEARS PLEASE RESTORE IT AND LET THE PUBLIC HAVE A GREAT TIME WIAT THE CLASSIC MOVIE. EVERY SCENE IN THAT MOVIE WAS FUNNY AND ENTERTAINING .. PLUS IT WAS A CLASSIC LOVE ,ROMANTIC AND GREAT STORY.. I STILL REMEMBER THE CHARACTER EDDIE HATCH,, LOL!! BOY WAS HE IN FOR A SURPRISE WITH THAT THAT PIECE OF ART.THE MUSIC WAS ENCHANTING.. THANK YOU AND LET US KNOW WHEN ITS COMING ON.~TINAS~

  • One Touch of Venus Availability

    • Herman45
    • 6/28/07

    I've been looking and waiting. I found that it is available thru Amazon. It sports a "45 Year" edition, but it's in VHS format. I too saw this movie when I was younger(1950's) and never forgot it. I am determined to get a copy and add it to my DVD collection after converting the format. Other than Ava Gardner and Robert Walker, the supporting cast were classic and the music("Speak Low")is a gem. Good luck, may we all luck out and discover it scheduled to air soon.Herman

  • I'm looking for it also.

    • bob
    • 3/8/07

    I remember looking for this movie for years. What happened to it? Turner neverhas it one. Please help.THank you

  • Looking For "One Touch Of Venus"

    • Jill
    • 1/24/07

    Does anyone know where I can find a copy of "One Touch of Venus" (1948)?I'm a Boomer (1946)and saw this on TV back in 1956. Without a doubt this is my favorite Ava Gardener movie. Robert Walker left such an impression on me and you can just feel their magic together.Please contact me at jillr@impakmarketing.com. Thank you for your help!-Jill

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.