skip navigation
One Million B.C.

One Million B.C.(1940)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

One Million B.C. - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Missed It Again

    • r
    • 2/26/13

    Back in the fabulous 50's when nothing much important was happening on TV, this was played in the N.Y. area quite frequently. I remember watching it over and over at a very young age, way before I was really old enough to understand not only what was going on with the movie, but what was going on around me. Accumulatively, after watching it over time and aging a bit. I finally got it. This is a great movie. Not just because of my personal nostalgia for it, but because of the message. Well done in all aspects given, as I recall it is a sound movie, without dialog. The special effects are amazing, and not just for the "lizard" dinosaurs. The volcano and lava scenes are very effective. I say as I recall, because I found out that this was playing today, after it was on. I haven't seen it in years and I would have liked to tape it. Don't confuse this with the 1960's remake which is a total waste of time.

  • Boy Meets Girl Caveman Style(1940)

    • nshepard
    • 7/18/12

    Tumak(Victor Mature) wanders from the Rock tribe(harsh people) to the lush valley of the Shell tribe(nice people), where he steals a spear to defend soon to be girl friend Loana(Carole Landis)...Even in the old times stealing not a good thing and he is banished,(boo hoo). But not to worry due to the anachronistic Dinosaruses wandering the premises, they are reunited. Even a volcano. Hard to watch Mature "ugh" his way through this er, adventure across time periods.3 stars out of 5. Have fun.

  • One Million BC

    • Carmen Santiago
    • 6/24/12

    This is an excellent and exciting movie. I cannot understand the 2.5 rating. It should be at lest 3 stars, if not 3.5.Sometimes they rate movies 4 stars and I would rate it 2 stars so no matter how important these people who rate movies you cannot go by them.

  • A political parable and great film score

    • Lars1
    • 1/29/10

    I really enjoyed this movie as a kid. As an adult I notice that it is in part a parable about western liberal democracy (the sensitive, cultivated Shell People) vs. fascism (the brutal Rock People. After all, the film was made in 1940, with Hitler and Mussolini already at war with the rest of Europe. The film is also notable for its romantic music score, which I believe was nominated for an Academy Award. I have some knowledge of classical music, and think that the composer was strongly influenced by the music of Anton Bruckner.

  • One Million B. C.

    • K. Wong
    • 7/13/07

    This movie made an unforgettable impression on me when I first saw it when it was shown at the movies. I must have been 12 or 13 years old at the time. I thought Victor Mature and Carole Landis and the rest of the of the cast gave an incredible performance. I recently acquire VHS format of this film but the clarity and definition of the film was poor. Recently, each time ACTMXE announced this it but showed One Million Years B. C. with Raquel Welch made in 1967.

  • A great 'suspenseful' movie

    • Jan
    • 11/4/06

    Loved the movie when I first saw it around 8-10 yrs of age. Saw it several times whenever I found out it was playing. Tried to get a copy over the years but was unsuccessful. Maybe if I can catch it from the beginning, I'll make a tape for my own use to play whenever.

  • One Million BC

    • Philip Fischetti
    • 3/8/06

    I believe this Movie was the first for actor Victor Mature.I think for it's time it was amazing, and as i young kid i remembered how i enjoyed it,although it scared me some.I would rate it as a classic along withKing Kong.I have looked for this moviefor quite some time and found a copy on Ebay,that i bought.

  • One Million BC

    • Kay
    • 2/8/06

    This original One Million BC was a great movie and the special effects in 1940 really was pretty good.Would like to see it starring Victor Mature, Lon Chaney Jr & others. Can Turner Classic movies show this? Hope so.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.