skip navigation
One Flew Over The Cuckoo's Nest

One Flew Over The Cuckoo's Nest(1975)

  • Sunday, February 22 @ 10:30 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down
Contribute

FOR One Flew Over The Cuckoo's Nest (1975) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

One Flew Over The Cuckoo's... A small-time criminal fakes... MORE > $39.98 Regularly $39.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • One Flew over the Cuckoo's Nest

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 11/3/12

    Only one of three films to win the five major Academy Awards. A petty crook's ambitions of doing easy time in a mental institution are crushed by a battle-axe nurse. Nicholson won his first Academy Award as the lively McMurphy, Fletcher won the Best Actress award as the sadistic Nurse Ratched & Dourif was nominated for his supporting performance. Along with the Best Picture prize, the film also won for Forman's direction & for the writer's who adapted Kesey's novel, which deals with conformity, individuality & sanity. A humanistic & mesmerizing drama. I give it a 5/5.

  • Further.....

    • OnTheBus
    • 10/31/12

    In the early 1960's, experiments with hallucinatory drugs like mescaline, lsd, bmt, peyote, psylicybin ect. were given to university volunteers for studies as their therapeutic use in treating mental illness. Author Kesey was one such volunteer and his experience's while on these drugs inspired this story.

  • Great Movie...Great Ending

    • Kurt B.
    • 6/12/11

    One of the Greatest movies I have ever seen, I haven't read the book because it's hard to find, but the movie was incredible, Im not going to reveal the ending because it is the 2nd best ending I have ever seen, It was sad yet heartwarming, check it out.

  • NURSE RATCHETT

    • william gauslow
    • 2/27/11

    When nurse Rachett confronts Billy Bibitt with his mothers knowledge of the wild night. Taught me to distrust women for a long time. Calling it a catholic event is pretty accurate.

  • Cross section of society

    • Leanox
    • 5/18/10

    This film offers a small segment of our society - the fringe and marginalized. Not only is this a wonderful film, the performances leave the viewer with eyes wide and jaw dropped to the floor.

  • Bad memories

    • Minky
    • 5/13/10

    This film in some way scared me and later I discovered why--it was nurse Ratchet, she reminded of the Catholic nuns that taught me in the forties. I thought about it and realized that I had no memory of any of those nuns smiling, sometimes though there was a forcd smile. When you consider that they were dealing with little children, that is odd. I must admit though, I would go back to Catholic grade school again ---there is no education like a Catholic education, period.

  • The real story is sad

    • Jack The Hat
    • 5/7/10

    I had an uncle who spent most of his life in a real mental institution and died there. I would vist him often and on and I can also attest that mental institutions are anything but funny.

  • One Flew over the Cuckoo's Nest (1975)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 10/4/09

    This is an amazing film. Milos Foreman does a brilliant job directing it. Jack Nicholson gives one of his finest performances of his career, Louise Fletcher does A SENSATIONAL JOB AS NURSE RATCHET. She manages to be a cold butch and to have a human side too. One of the best films from the 1970's. Every cast member is great.

  • I don't get it...

    • mixie
    • 12/21/07

    Why is this released on DVD with extras, while Sometimes a Great Notion is left to the ghosts of VHS?This movie is great too, of course (though Kesey himself preferred Newman's handling of SAGN better, but I digress).Nicholson at his finest, not to mention the rest of the loonies.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.