skip navigation
Once Upon a Honeymoon

Once Upon a Honeymoon(1942)

  • Tuesday, December 16 @ 07:00 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Wednesday, February 25 @ 12:00 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Once Upon a Honeymoon A radio correspondent tries to... MORE > $11.99 Regularly $17.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Once upon a Honeymoon

    • George McTavy
    • 2/24/13

    Cary Grant at his best. They don't make them like this anymore sadly.

  • Once Upon a Honeymoon (1942)

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 12/26/11

    One of Cary Grant's best movies, and one of Ginger Rogers' best, as well. Perhaps a bit slow in parts, and unevenly paced, but incredibly worthwhile because of its subject matter (and the expert way it is handled) and the acting and chemistry between the two leads.

  • Excellent, CLASSIC film (giving it all 10s)

    • Jarrod McDonald
    • 1/1/10

    There's a lot to say about this movie. I had seen it originally about a year ago and I did not comprehend how great it was till today. I am going to have to consider it among my top five favorites. Due to the deft handling of its subject matter, it's a smart film on many levels, and I can see why it was made. Also, I think Cary and Ginger were truly in love with each other off-camera as well as on, and it shows. They also reteam in 'Monkey Business' ten years later, and they're older but just as good together. But what I really love about this film is how methodic it is and how each close-up and line delivery is precisely defining a mood or feeling about what's going on in Europe. Also, they are able to mine comedy and find laughs in some otherwise very serious material. It's really the perfect tragicomedy when you think about it. It is just so evenly paced. It doesn't hurry towards the finish line, and it doesn't stop along the way, either. It has the right amount of pauses and the right amount of on-going action in it. The stars are shot at their gorgeous best, and the supporting cast shines thanks to Leo McCarey's direction. It's an excellent piece of American cinema.

  • Hollywood stands for something big.

    • Carolina
    • 12/28/09

    Personally, I'm grateful Hollywood made these and other anti-Nazi films. "Once Upon A Honeymoon" is over-simplified, jingoistic propaganda--of the right kind, of course. With the hindsight of history on our side, we can see why good guys were compelled to use their art against what turned out to be an evil machine bent on taking over the world. The scene with Ginger Rogers and the passport photographer, dripping with sap as it was, ought to remind every American of our greatness and the good of fighting for what's inherently America and the human spirit, by extension. Note to young audiences: Watch and take heed! Note to today's Hollywood: Stand for something big, something real!

  • A Wonderful Patriotic Movie

    • Michelle
    • 5/5/08

    I was on vacationing in Flordia in the summer of 2003 and just happened to turn on the Turner Classic Movie channel[did not even know it existed]... This movie was playing and I was immediatly drawn into it,at that time I had only seen a handful of "Classic" old movies.This film started my complete and total obsession with old movies.I came home and started my subscription to 'NOW PLAYING',my DVD library of old movies is approx. 150 titles strong,and my TIVO has 32 movies that are not available on DVD that will not be erased.Cary Grant is always wonderful to look at, and one of the finest actors of all time...Ginger...Absolutely LOVE HER,whether she is playing a dramatic role,comedy[she is very funny],or dancing!In this film the cinematography is great,there is a scene where her eyes are highlighted in the dark of night,she is looking at Cary and her eyes are sparkling!!!!Now these two were Movie Stars.

  • Holocaust scenes, unusual gender roles

    • karen
    • 2/13/08

    As a 30-something whose public schooling covered a lot of WWII holocaust education, I have heard a lot of debate about how whether the US pop. & govt had been informed about what was happening to the Jews. There are many who profess innocence at the time -- that no one in the US knew anything that was happening. I was shocked at the level of horror portrayed in this 1942 film about what the Germans were doing to Jews across Europe. I want to know more about the context of this film in the did-we-know debate at the time it was released, and whether this film is ever entered, as an example, into the modern version of the debate.This film initially caught my eye because in some scenes Ginger Rogers almost looks like a young Bette Midler... also, Ginger has some incredible styling. I also find it interesting how this early film plot lets Ginger appear to hold her alcohol far better than Cary.

  • Another Interesting Cary Performance

    • roofus21
    • 7/8/07

    Leo McCarey's movie "Once Upon a Honeymoon" veers from slapstick to tragedy in a blink of an eye. It may be a bit much for casual viewers to bear, but lovers of Cary Grant movies will find another very interesting performance. As a correspondent in Germany when WWII breaks out, Cary traipses across war torn Europe in search of a story and following lovely American Ginger Rogers, married to nazi Walter Slezak. (For an anti-nazi, he played such a good one!) Perhaps not a classic in the true sense, but an enjoyable one and well worth releasing on DVD.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.