skip navigation
On Dangerous Ground

On Dangerous Ground(1952)

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

On Dangerous Ground A tough cop sent to help in a... MORE > $49.98 Regularly $49.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Gritty and Touching

    • Tin Man
    • 11/13/13

    I really like Noirs. This one captured the "zoo" of the crowded filthy northern inner city. However ' the move to the cold countryside brought a sense of isolation. The music was more pronounced in the countryside. All this captured my attention and emotions. It drew me in and touched me. Watching Noirs are always a risks because of the emotions that can surface. I am so glad to have taken the risk and it is films like this one is why I like Noirs.

  • music

    • ram
    • 11/11/13

    During the final chase to the rock face, the music sounds like North by Northwest. I then see that the same composer for a lot of Alfread Hitchcocks later movie were done by the same composer. I guess he ran out of ideas or just started repeating himself.

  • On Dangerous Ground

    • Goetan
    • 10/4/13

    An engaging and entertaining film noir. Ryan & Lupino give solid performances as a embittered city cop relocated up North to find a killer related to Lupino's blind woman. Director Ray creates an authentic moody atmosphere in the city and rural area's, and heightening the lonely life of Ryan & Lupino. A quick-paced thriller with two strong leads. I give it a 3.5/5.

  • A Noir / Romance?

    • Peter Parker
    • 5/4/11

    Worth seeing by all noir fans. Great title sequence, along with Bernard Herrmann's score, really sets the mood. Robert Ryan is a proto-Dirty Harry, who can't stop beating up suspects - even after the requisite chewing out by the boss. Ridiculous romance in the second half is saved by Ida Lupino's performance. Watch for the young woman in the bar early in the film. Her brief scene giving Ryan the once-over had me running to Google to find out who she was. (Nita Talbot)

  • 1 of the 10 Best Film Noirs

    • Rick Doble
    • 4/21/11

    I have seen this movie three times and each time it gets better. The transformation of loner Robert Ryan from a man who is out of control to one who must be in control is subtle and heart wrenching. A tough city cop known for beating the truth out of suspects, he finds that when sent to the country he must soothe and counsel Ward Bond whose anger, violence and thirst for revenge now mirrors Ryan's self as a city cop. This structure of city/country, of snow in fields vs city alleys, of light and dark, of Ryan getting to know a softer side of himself that he did not know existed and that he resists -- breaks all the standard Noir plot lines. This film also has one of the best movie scores (by Bernard Herrmann) ever written that blends perfectly with the images and never overpowers them. Ida Lupino is also superb, but this is primarily Ryan's story. This movie even has a happy ending -- which director Nicholas Ray did not like because he did not trust happy endings, but is in character and makes sense within the frame of the film. Ryan goes through several transformations, none of them easy or simplistic, and the pain he feels at the end is matched by the understanding he has finally acquired. Ray once said something like, I am the best director who never made a totally successful film. Well he was wrong. This one works from start to finish.

  • Classico noir

    • Sonia
    • 11/13/10

    Um classico noir de primeira qualidade dirigido por Nicholas Ray e com a bela Ida Lupino no elenco. Um excelente filme do gnero.

  • An underrated masterpiece

    • robert kawasaki
    • 2/11/10

    One of the most underrated films is an existential masterpiece from director Nicholas Ray. Some people often point out that film is made of awkward two parts, the city part and the country part. They claim these parts do not quite brend, and having two structures, do not help this film to be an existential film noir. Well, I must strongly disagree. Actually, the story must carry on within the contrast of two parts, and that is primary intention of Nick Ray. Its a film of redemption and the main character, beautifully played by Robert Ryan, struggle through the dark city and the bright country side to realize his true self. The environmental change is the key to the film and it is quite philosophically and sophisticatedly done here indeed. A superb noir thriller with a difference. -Time OutAlthough Ray was unhappy with the film, it represent one his best. -Encyclopedia of Film NoirOn Dangerous Ground was an esoteric masterpiece, which Nicholas Ray and screenwriter A.I.Bezzerides adapted from the British novel Mad with Much Heart by Gerald Butler. -Franklin Jarlett, Robert Ryan:A Biography and Critical FilmographyBut enough of political or metaphorical readings - this is one great movie. -Geoff Andrew, The Films of Nicholas RayOne of the loveliest of Nick Ray's movies. -Chicago ReaderPerched between late-'40s noir and mid-'50s crime drama, this is one of the great, forgotten works of the genre. -Slant Magazine

  • Great musical score

    • lcs
    • 11/10/09

    Probably Bernard Herrmann's most overlooked musical score, and way too good to be used in this movie. It contains themes used to great effect in later Hitchcock films and the Twilight Zone. Our best film composer.

  • music

    • joe mandel
    • 11/10/09

    anyone else notice that the musical score is pretty close to that of North By Northwest? No wonder, it is the same composer.

  • Wonderful Movie

    • Caitlin
    • 10/30/08

    I couldn't sleep one night and got the wonderful chance to watch this film and LOVED it. It has a great plot with a romantic twist and kept my attention the whole time. I would recommend watching it.

  • Film location

    • PJ
    • 9/17/08

    The rural mountain town "up north" where the action takes place was actually in Grand County, Colorado, and encompasses the towns of Fraser, Tabernash and Granby. When Robert Ryan comes to a stop in his drive from the city he is at the base of Berthoud Pass just west of Berthoud Falls. He proceeds to drive up and over Berthoud Pass and through the towns of Winter Park (then called Hideway Village), Fraser, Tabernash and Granby. In one scene when Ryan's Character is searching for the killer you can see the barracks of the WWII prison camp for captured German soldiers in the town of Fraser.The car chase in the blizzard was filmed on highway 40 at Rabbit Ears Pass just east of Steamboat Springs, and is still a treacherous road in a snow storm. The mountain where Ward Bond chases the kid to his death was known as "Granny's Nipple" back in the day but now bears the more politically correct name of Whitely Peak.

  • On Dangerous Ground

    • billiemarie
    • 7/19/06

    Well I for one am getting a huge kick out of this movie. But I always have liked Robert Ryan. Who was that blonde! This is very entertaining.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.