skip navigation
Of Mice and Men

Of Mice and Men(1939)

  • Monday, February 23 @ 12:15 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down
share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Of Mice and Men A drifter and his slow-witted... MORE > $9.98 Regularly $9.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Of Mice And Men

    • Dana 58
    • 5/19/14

    Almost perfect drama about the relationship of two men, one George a rather smart man (Burgess Meredith) and the great Lon Chaney as the dumb but lovable Lennie, both go from job to job, only to find real trouble at their last place the two lived and work at. Beautifully done.

  • OF MICE AND MEN

    • WILL
    • 5/18/14

    I THINK THIS WAS LON CHANEY JR. REAL MASTER PIECE. ALTHOUGH THE WOLFMAN WAS GREAT, IT COULD HAVE BEEN EVEN BETTER HAD IT NOT BEEN FOR THE HAYES OFFICE RESTRICTIONS AT THE TIME. OF MICE AND MEN REACHES BACK, TO LON CHANEY SR. IM SURE HE WOULD HAVE BEEN VERY PROUD OF HIS SON.

  • "Of Mice and Men," 1939

    • Juls Starr
    • 11/24/13

    I saw this post-code movie last night on TCM. Surely groundbreaking for 1939, its themes still resonate today: the plight of women, blacks, and polarization of the social classes. The costumes and sets are rich resources of authentic "Wild Western" themes. That a dog is shot (euthanized), in the film means this film could never be made in today's climate of weakness and bowing to every conceivable political whim.

  • Of Mice and Men

    • Bud Baxter
    • 11/24/13

    John Steinbeck's genius beautifully adapted for the big screen. Perfect casting, Betty Field is flawless as Curly's lonely, emotionaly abused wife. Superior to the maudlin version of Steinbeck's, The Grapes of Wrath and the chopped us, made up, East of Eden.

  • Of Mice and Men (1939)

    • Mark Sutch
    • 4/14/11

    ****1/2

  • A Genuine Steinbeck Masterpiece.

    • Frank Harris Horn
    • 9/19/10

    Before making it big as a horror film star, Lon Chaney, Jr. gives one of his most brilliant performances of his career in the role of the feeble-minded hulk, Lennie in Lewis Milestone's masterfully directed screen adaptation of John Steinbeck's best-seller. Burgess Meredith also stars as George Milton, a migrant worker, of whom, both and he and Lennie (Chaney) find work on a ranch, but their dreams of starting a new life are shattered, when Lennie strangles the ranch foreman's wife, and a mob sets out to kill the mentally-incompetent hulk. The film's action begins before the main title credits--an arty innovation for 1939. Music provided by Aaron Copland. With Charles Bickford, Betty Field, Bob Steele, Noah Beery, Jr., Helen Lynd, Howard Mitchell, Barbara Pepper, John Beach, Oscar O'Shea, Granville Bates, Leigh Whipper, Leona Roberts & Roman Bohnen. Remade in 1992.

  • Excellent Movie!

    • 2daughters2luv
    • 10/12/09

    My 15 year old daughter watched this movie and really enjoyed it. Currently, her English class is reading the book and she was on chapter one of the book. This movie gave her a wonderful insight and she typed up a movie review for extra credit.

  • It's great

    • wolf
    • 9/19/09

    This is the best version in my own opion

  • I enjoy this classic.

    • Joe Jackson
    • 7/25/09

    My son and I use to watch this when he was young.

  • A Definite Must-See

    • Martha De Leon
    • 7/23/09

    What a great film!

  • This is a great movie

    • Keaughn
    • 7/23/09

    I saw this when i was a teenager

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.