skip navigation
Odd Man Out

Odd Man Out(1947)

  • Monday, January 23 @ 12:00 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Odd Man Out A wounded IRA man faces... MORE > $18.95 Regularly $29.95 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • AND...

    • el debbo
    • 1/24/16

    Postscript to my review. I was looking at the Police Inspector (the relentless one, who said Kathleen was "dangerous") and recognized him from another movie. 6 years later he played Inspector Starkey, supposedly a Canadian, in the Cotton/ Monroe film "Niagara". I think the fellow who worked for him in that film was Maureen O'Sullivan's brother. FYI.

  • I vote for James Mason as King!

    • el debbo
    • 1/24/16

    About a week ago, I watched him in his own favorite film, "A Touch of Larceny". What a shock and distinct pleasure to see him effortlessly portray an IRA leader in this wonderful, poignant movie, "Odd Man Out". And though she made very few movies, I think Kathleen Ryan was splendid in her role as his love, his unknown soulmate. It was SO tense I had to stop and break a couple of times...I had no idea the IRA had so many enemies amongst their own kith and kin. The cinematography is stunning, especially of the dark city full of pedestrians in a downpour, or later in the soft snow, moving past ancient stone buildings, stepping into ornate pubs...the architecture of that era was beyond belief. And the unforgettable pictures left in my mind of Johnny McQueen resting in a barrow, by a stone angel, as the snow begins. Of the hobo-like waifs who live in a rotting baroque mansion, the picture I have of their rooms. The image of Kathleen with the snow in her hair, leaning on the iron fence, down by the wharves. 5 glittering stars for this gem.

  • One of the best, ever!

    • Susanne N Cavendish
    • 3/23/15

    The Irish have always shown passion for their country, feverishly religious, the sustaining force, of life. Kathleen Ryan was my favorite character, for it seemed that without her gift of love, Johnny might never have sustained himself. Though, like most men, he focused on the external aspects of the fight, hers, always seemed to be focused on life-giving aspects, even to the end, life that had to end. I rank it with Dr Zhivago, for what love can mean in its many ways, staying behind, for love of country, giving up life for the same reason, something greater than oneself!

  • Odd Man Out

    • Goetan
    • 3/20/15

    An expressionistic film noir from Britain. Mason is an injured IRA gunman who is confronted with who he is by the apathy, charity and advice of others. The story's tense moments are interrupted by pretentious psychological aspects, I think that to some it's a necessary break from the drama, it also stops the film. Entertaining, thrilling, but at times a little lifeless. I give it a 4/5.

  • Great Film

    • Denham Fields
    • 3/18/15

    Carol Reed's direction is once again, marvelous. A cast of very solid English and Irish actors against a powerful landscape of a dark city. The subtle touches of Reeds direction are really worth paying attention to. How the actors move and gesture, embellishing their character and intent. James Mason is excellent and let us not forget the wonderful Robert Newton, perfectly cast as a manic, sometimes delirious painter.

  • Terminal Effort for An otherwise noble cause

    • Liz Gunther
    • 3/17/15

    Always hopeful the protagonist would eventually meet up with another true comrade who would also save his physical self, the viewing was a bit frustrating and tedious. Did enjoy the B/W scenes during the course of the film. Reminded me of high intensity Daryl Zanick.

  • Great Film-making

    • CaroltheKing
    • 5/16/13

    So many wonderful actors,sad pic,but well-made.Johnny,who should've taken good advice and stayed home,gets involved in robbery,involuntarily shoots teller who pursued him,gets shot by unintended victim,falls off getaway car and has to make do for himself while comrades try to find him.Meanwhile, many people he meets offer help,or try to cash in on the reward.Nothing to disappoint here,many great Abbey Theatre actors here,loved "Shel",so sad he died shortly after this pic.

  • Oddly Enjoyed

    • Oddly Good Show
    • 4/15/12

    Great Carol Reed film.Loved James Mason.Can't wait to see it again

  • ODD MAN OUT

    • L.B.C.
    • 3/6/10

    This is one of my favorites.

  • dynamite noir

    • w
    • 9/26/09

    All I can say is this is a must see noir movie. I see it is often likened to 'The Third Man'. This movie pulled me in from start to finish. It was more compact then the the third man, yet more intense. It's like comparing black powder to nitro-glycerine. The latter being our movie.

  • Carol Reed's masterpiece?

    • Bill Shelly
    • 3/14/08

    Johnny McQueen,(Mason) is the leader of an I.R.A. faction who arranges a hold-up to raise funds for "the organization". There are some doubts, however, as to whether or not he is up to the job; having just gotten out of prison. When things go terribly wrong he is forced to make his way alone. Don't let the political undertones scare you away, since this is really a great character study. The first in Reed's wonderful trilogy (The Fallen Idol and The Third Man followed) showing Europe's fear and mistrust shortly after World War II. Terrific cinematography, believable characters, and great direction, make this, I think, an essential.

  • One of the finest films of the 1940s

    • William Linsley
    • 2/12/08

    This will always be one of my favorite films, because of its beautiful and dramatic story, fine cinematography, direction and script, and rare performances by James Mason and the supporting cast, including Robert Newton, Cyril Cusack and others. The dramatic ending is one of the best in film.

  • Great Photography

    • Mike
    • 12/27/07

    Looks great, I thought it looked like an Orson Welles directed movie. The lighting and camera movement held my interest through out the show. Hope you make it available on DVD. A great undiscoved movie that I had never seen or heard of.

  • One of the many classics overlooked.

    • Angie
    • 11/29/07

    This film is one of my absolute favorite movies. It's so beautiful to watch... the cinematography is wonderful, the acting is wonderful. It is just a fantastic film. I have actually written a bigger article on this film in the April-June 2007 issue of the online film magazine Reel Philadephia www.reelphiladelphia.com. (click on the Reel Philadelphia link on the menu page)If you aren't convinced yet, read the article, it might change your mind. :)

  • TERRIFIC!

    • Andrew
    • 7/12/07

    I unfortunately was only able to catch an hour of this movie, but it was brilliant and very suspenseful! One of the best Noir films I've seen, and it's not even available on DVD!!!

  • Overlooked film making a comeback

    • Ann Albin
    • 5/28/07

    This film appears to be gaining momentum in it's importance to cinema history. It's a grim tale, beautifully told. The cinematography is wonderful and the film's digital restoration is superb. This movie was overshadowed by "The Third Man" but I like it just as well. They are very different films.

  • Odd Man Out

    • Mike
    • 4/24/07

    Among Reed's best.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.