skip navigation
Odd Man Out

Odd Man Out(1947)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Odd Man Out - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Great Film-making

    • CaroltheKing
    • 5/16/13

    So many wonderful actors,sad pic,but well-made.Johnny,who should've taken good advice and stayed home,gets involved in robbery,involuntarily shoots teller who pursued him,gets shot by unintended victim,falls off getaway car and has to make do for himself while comrades try to find him.Meanwhile, many people he meets offer help,or try to cash in on the reward.Nothing to disappoint here,many great Abbey Theatre actors here,loved "Shel",so sad he died shortly after this pic.

  • Oddly Enjoyed

    • Oddly Good Show
    • 4/15/12

    Great Carol Reed film.Loved James Mason.Can't wait to see it again

  • ODD MAN OUT

    • L.B.C.
    • 3/6/10

    This is one of my favorites.

  • dynamite noir

    • w
    • 9/26/09

    All I can say is this is a must see noir movie. I see it is often likened to 'The Third Man'. This movie pulled me in from start to finish. It was more compact then the the third man, yet more intense. It's like comparing black powder to nitro-glycerine. The latter being our movie.

  • Carol Reed's masterpiece?

    • Bill Shelly
    • 3/14/08

    Johnny McQueen,(Mason) is the leader of an I.R.A. faction who arranges a hold-up to raise funds for "the organization". There are some doubts, however, as to whether or not he is up to the job; having just gotten out of prison. When things go terribly wrong he is forced to make his way alone. Don't let the political undertones scare you away, since this is really a great character study. The first in Reed's wonderful trilogy (The Fallen Idol and The Third Man followed) showing Europe's fear and mistrust shortly after World War II. Terrific cinematography, believable characters, and great direction, make this, I think, an essential.

  • One of the finest films of the 1940s

    • William Linsley
    • 2/12/08

    This will always be one of my favorite films, because of its beautiful and dramatic story, fine cinematography, direction and script, and rare performances by James Mason and the supporting cast, including Robert Newton, Cyril Cusack and others. The dramatic ending is one of the best in film.

  • Great Photography

    • Mike
    • 12/27/07

    Looks great, I thought it looked like an Orson Welles directed movie. The lighting and camera movement held my interest through out the show. Hope you make it available on DVD. A great undiscoved movie that I had never seen or heard of.

  • One of the many classics overlooked.

    • Angie
    • 11/29/07

    This film is one of my absolute favorite movies. It's so beautiful to watch... the cinematography is wonderful, the acting is wonderful. It is just a fantastic film. I have actually written a bigger article on this film in the April-June 2007 issue of the online film magazine Reel Philadephia www.reelphiladelphia.com. (click on the Reel Philadelphia link on the menu page)If you aren't convinced yet, read the article, it might change your mind. :)

  • TERRIFIC!

    • Andrew
    • 7/12/07

    I unfortunately was only able to catch an hour of this movie, but it was brilliant and very suspenseful! One of the best Noir films I've seen, and it's not even available on DVD!!!

  • Overlooked film making a comeback

    • Ann Albin
    • 5/28/07

    This film appears to be gaining momentum in it's importance to cinema history. It's a grim tale, beautifully told. The cinematography is wonderful and the film's digital restoration is superb. This movie was overshadowed by "The Third Man" but I like it just as well. They are very different films.

  • Odd Man Out

    • Mike
    • 4/24/07

    Among Reed's best.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.