skip navigation
No Man of Her Own

No Man of Her Own(1950)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

No Man of Her... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Now on DVD from Olive Films (3/27/2012)

    • Glenn
    • 3/14/12

    Fine film noir, finally available on DVD.

  • Great Film Noir

    • Cindy
    • 11/4/11

    Wonderful movie filled with all the qualities of romance and suspenseful film noir. I use to have a videotaped copy (that I recorded from television). But it died several years ago. This is one of the three movies that I'm in constant search of. (The others being "The Farmer's Daughter" and "One Foot in Heaven." Please release these movies to DVD soon!!

  • No man of her own

    • Nancy
    • 4/25/11

    PLEASE release this movie on DVD. It is one of my top 5 classic movies, and absolutely my favorite Stanwyck movie. I have tried to order it from a video store and they sent the Carole Lombard movie by the same name. My VHS taping wore out years ago, and I have been hopelessly addicted to it since the first time I saw it. Why was it never released for home??

  • no man of her own

    • att l
    • 12/31/10

    THIS MOVIE IS GREAT, I LOVE B.STANWYCK & TO GET THIS ON DVD WILL BE A GODSEND. PLEASE PUT IT ON DVD I HAVE BEEN LOOKING & PRAYING FOR YEARS. THX & GOD BLESS

  • No Man of Her Own

    • Linda
    • 11/24/10

    Every time I see a Barbara Stanwyck movie on TCM I get hooked! As I was scrolling a long list of movies on DVD I noticed a title for Naked Yoga - why is naked yoga on DVD but NOT many Barbara Stanwyck movies??? Has the world gone mad?

  • No Man of Her Own

    • Rhonda S.
    • 6/19/10

    Stanwyck is amazing as a bad girl. However, no one but her could do "sorta bad" girl gone "sorta good" and make you root for her the entire time.

  • No Man of Her Own

    • Rhonda
    • 4/26/10

    This is the best movie,Please release it on dvd I have been looking for it for years.

  • no man of her own

    • lynja722
    • 4/10/10

    love this movie please convert to dvd i have been trying to find this movie for years.

  • No Man of her Own

    • Rachel white
    • 1/18/10

    I first saw this movie when I was 14 years old and I fell in love with at the same time started watching TCM daily. My friends thought I was strange because I was always telling them about these old movies on TCM. I have been looking for this movie since I was 14 years old, I am now 34 and I am still looking for this movie you have to release this one on DVD. Please. I taped this movie long ago and the tape broke so you have to put it on DVD.

  • PLEASE CONVERT TO DVD

    • D THOMAS
    • 12/6/09

    ONE OF STANWYCK'S BEST

  • Wonderful Movie

    • Jean
    • 5/14/09

    I saw this movie in the 70's. I have been searching for it ever since. I can not believe it is not on DVD. How can I purchase this movie or will you ever show it again.Jean Green

  • A terrific film

    • Patricia
    • 4/14/09

    This is a wonderful film that doesn't seem to get aired and is not available on DVD (and should be). Stanwyck is (as always)terrific. She makes this character believable, and takes what (with a lesser actress) would just be a weeper.

  • Love this film

    • Elaine
    • 3/6/09

    I saw this movie years ago on TV and it has stayed with me. It's based on a Cornell Woolrich story. As many of you know, his stories were used for lots of films (Rear Window comes to mind). You gotta love a guy who comes up with titles such as: I Married A Dead Man (which was retitled to No Man of Her Own), The Bride Wore Black, The Night Has A Thousand Eyes, etc. He was a great writer, who I read sadly died in a hotel room in 1965. In the 50's & 60's his movies were shown on TV and he enjoyed watching them. Here's to you Cornell. We enjoy them also.

  • Love to purchase this movie

    • Rebecca Jellison
    • 12/31/08

    I loved this movie when I saw years ago, I would love to see this movie offered for purchase and on TCM. Please offer this movie to viewers. Thanks !

  • This is one of my very favorite films!

    • Grace
    • 10/16/08

    Since I am unable to buy a DVD of this movie as it is not available, I am begging you to please play it on TCM commercial free. Stanwyck and Lund are simply great in this film. I first saw it in my American Films course in college and have tried to find/purchase it ever since. The story is timeless, and what with the number of teen pregnancies today it is still somewhat relevant. The remake with Shirley MacLaine & Ricki Lake is very good but can't hold a candle to the 1950 B&W. Thank you for your consideration of my request.

  • No Man of Her Own...Barbara Stanwyck

    • Lori
    • 10/13/08

    I will have to add to this comment section to BEG TCM to play this movie! Please! It's a great film and should be played more often!

  • LOVE this movie!

    • Patty/Milwaukee
    • 10/4/08

    Terrific film noir. Stanwyck is fantastic in this film. This is a classic film! Please, please, PLEASE TCM...play it again!!!!

  • My Favorite Barbara Stanwyck movie.

    • KMV
    • 10/2/08

    RE: No Man of Her OwnAfter reading the other user reviews, I feel the need to comment on this movie/subject. After watching this movie on TCM a few years ago during a Barbara Stanwyck birthday 'marathon', I too fell in love with her. I had always been a fan of hers but this movie really cemented my love of her work. I have not seen the movie again on any TV or cable station and it can not be purchased anywhere. Not even thru MoviesUnlimited, although I know it was once listed in their database. Does anyone know why this is? I really miss that movie. Please TCM, show this movie soon!

  • No man of her Own!

    • zeecee
    • 8/7/08

    I started watching this movie over 40 years ago, when I was a teen. My mom had me run an errand that pulled me away from the story just about the time Barbara arrived at the home of the inlaws and the drama was so intense, I almost fainted when I had to leave my chair to run the errand. I was never able to see the rest of the movie, but for years I wondered what had happened in the story. In 2001, I was discussing old films with a coworker and told them my story about wanting to see the movie because the drama was so intense. Her husband was a movie buff and after a phone call to him they identified the title of the movie. I watch TCM channel and want to see this movie on TCM so I can see it again. Please, Please, Please, Barbara Stanwyck was a powerful actress just in the first 15-20 minutes that I saw. I want to see the entire movie. Thanks for hearing my request.

  • Doesn't get the respect it deserves!

    • Margaret
    • 7/29/08

    I happend to catch this flick years ago on AMC and instantly became a Barbara Stanwyck fan. For years I have tried to find it on ANY format--now I know why I can't. What a shame because would love to add this to my collection of classic films! And if you have never seen her in "Stella Dallas" you do not know what you are missing! What a tearjerker! Barbara rates up there with Bette Davis and Joan Crawford, but doesn't I don't she has even been given the respect as an actress that she deserved!

  • Great movie!

    • tina
    • 6/28/08

    This movie is one of the greats for Barbara Stanwyck -- Unfortunately, no one has ever heard of it as it's never shown or been released ... A terrible remake was made of this film in the 90's entitled "Mrs. Winterbourne" -- If you could ever catch this original with Stanwyck, you won't be sorry .. It's one of her best, and up there with "Stella Dallas".

  • Forgotten Classic Noir Flick

    • Leonard Thomason
    • 2/1/08

    Sadly, No Man of Her Own starring Barbara Stanwyck has two things against it.One, it has the same identical title as an unrelated film starring Carole Lombard & Clark Gable.Two,the film is mistaken as a Soap Opera rather than a Classic Film Noir.Something has got to be done by any means necessary!Where are you Orson Welles, Roddy McDowell & Ted Turner!

  • One of the best

    • Danielle Stowers
    • 1/13/08

    Barbara Stanwyck did an exceptional job in this movie, I'm very surprised its not available for purchase or listed on TCM's viewing schedule. All I can say is hopefully in the near future this can be rectified.

  • A great film

    • Sid Davis
    • 8/11/07

    I'm not quite sure why, when I see what else is rereleased on DVD, why "No Man of Her Own" isn't. It's worth the whole thing to see Patrice's face when her boyfriend returns. Classic.

  • Exceptional movie.

    • Donna Fabean
    • 8/5/07

    I saw this movie several years ago and constantly look for it on TCM. Very moving and Barbara Stanwyck is wonderful.Please play tis movie again.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.