skip navigation
A Night to Remember

A Night to Remember(1958)

  • Tuesday, December 16 @ 10:15 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

A Night to Remember The crew and passengers of the... MORE > $29.95 Regularly $29.95 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • A Night To Remember

    • Eric A
    • 3/13/14

    **** Superior telling of the Titanic's sinking, highlighted by black and white photography, and a solid British cast.

  • Great

    • Larry Lyons
    • 11/11/12

    Fine, classic film making, with a really good cast. Worth the watching. BTW, did I see Sean Connery as an extra?

  • The definitive Titanic Film

    • denscul
    • 11/11/12

    US viewers may not recognize the British actors, but they were "A" quality in the UK at the time, and so was the d rest of the special effects, the Directing and Production. Being black and white only adds to the stark reality of thdisaster. The black sea, and the incredible whiteness of the ice berg. Reminds me of The Great White Wale, Moby Dick. Both forces of nature which sink the ships, flimsey compared to nature.Despite several other efforts, including the latest version, with all the advantages of computers. None of these films dramatically touches the actual facts with a well researched, yet dramatically rewarding of your time. Its like watching a documentary, without realizing that it is. Very few films can match the truth, with an excellent story.

  • Chilling account

    • RedRain
    • 9/1/12

    This is THE quintessential telling of the Titanic story, devoid of all the romance and high-tech CGI, etc., we experience in Cameron's version. The writer of the book, Walter Lord, was the first to write an expansive account of that night and he wrote it factually having interviewed countless Titanic passengers, and this film was taken from Lord's account. This film is known as the most accurate account of the sinking of the Titanic and, for that reason alone, it is well worth viewing. The British do this type of docudrama very well indeed and this film is proof of that. The performances by Kenneth Moore as the Second Officer and Lawrence Naismith as the Captain are extraordinary. Naismith accurately portrays the Captain as unconcerned and aloof, not believing until the end that the ship could actually go down. Moore is the complete opposite, trying to ready everyone for the sinking and yet maintaining his position as Second Officer, not Captain. At the end, each time I hear "Nearer My God to Thee" being sung as the passengers still on the ship know their fate, I am reminded that 1500 souls perished that awful night and I am left with such a profound sense of sorrow. Please see this film to learn how and why the Titanic went down, as well as how the crew and the passengers reacted. It is SO worth watching!

  • A Night to Remember

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 4/21/12

    The best 'Titanic' film before James Cameron's 1997 blockbuster. All characters & scenarios are superbly adapted from Lord's book into the screen, each giving subtle & powerful performances. The film magnificently recreates the painfull details & emotions of the disaster on the night it sank. A mighty film of tremendous emotion. I give it a 4.5/5.

  • Amazing movie

    • godzilla97
    • 4/15/12

    This was such a good movie. I felt totally engaged right from the beginning. Unlike certain other Titanic movies I could name, this film was actually about the tragedy and not about the special effects. The scene with the elderly man trying to comfort the little boy as the ship went down really got to me. And it takes a lot to get to me. This is a movie with heart; well crafted, well presented and very well acted.

  • THIS MOVIE MADE IN 1958, MINUS 1912 EQUALS 46

    • william gauslow
    • 4/14/12

    It took Hollywood 46 years to make this movie. I am writing this 100 years, and within minutes of this incident and still have tears for the people of this ship.

  • Better Than

    • Peter Scocca
    • 3/22/12

    I had read the book of the same name before seeing this movie for the first time. Although the recent soap opera version did have a stunning re-creation of the great ship, the rest of it was a waste of film. 'A Night to Remember' is a great film based on the historically accurate and extensively researched book. Both the movie and the book are well worth the time to enjoy.

  • A NIGHT TO REMEMBER

    • mike clarke
    • 8/30/09

    WHILE THE LATEST FILM ON THE TITANIC TRAGEDY WAS IMPRESSIVE TECHNICALLY, IT FAILED TO MATCH THE FEEL AND ATMOSPHERE OF THE 1958 FILM. I FEEL THE DeCAPRIO, WINSLET VERSION SPENT TOO MUCH TIME ON THE ROMANCE BETWEEN THE TWO LEADING ACTORS. THIS WAS OBVIOUSLY TO ATTRACT THE FEMALE CINEMAGOERS.VERY LITTLE WAS MADE OF THE PART PLAYED BY THE CALIFORNIAN AND THE CARPATHIA, BOTH IN THEIR DIFFERENT WAYS WERE MAJOR CONTRIBUTORS TO THE DRAMA. THAT BEING SAID, TO SEE THE LATEST FILM IN A CINEMA WITH ALL THE STEREO EFFECTS WAS QUITE AN EXPERIENCE.

  • Best movie about the Titanic

    • Neil Castellon
    • 9/20/08

    The most recent Titanic was technically a better film; ie. the sets were historically accurate, the special effects were better,and more was known about the final minutesof the tragedy. However, for the raw feel of what it must have been like that terrible night,and the added story of the California and the Carpathia, this films tells the story much better. The British cast and the B&W film, doesn't hurt it either. You get many more sides of the story, not only first class, but crew, steerage, and the rescue attempt. A superior Film, not to be missed by any Titanic enthusiast.

  • Scariest movie I ever saw

    • Will
    • 5/29/08

    I saw this movie when it came out in the theatre when I was 12 - I'll never forget it. The acting and staging, thinking about it now, made it so real - plus the fact that I knew it had really happened - that it made a lasting impact on me: a profound sadness that it could have happened, but also an appreciation for the heroism and sacrifice of so many - and the callousness and selfishness that can also accompany such a terrible event. It's a true classic in all senses of the word.

  • A REAL CLASSIC!

    • John Smith
    • 5/27/08

    The first time that I saw this film was in 1965 when I was ten years old. I was the kid who laughed at the scariest films. Dracula, The Wolfman, Frankenstein or anything with bats, wolves and ghouls left me cold. My friends thought that I was soulless and couldn't understand my brushing off the scary parts while still enjoying the films for entertainment value. That all changed with A Night to Remember. Even today, it gives me chills and a real feeling of helplessness. The scene at the end, with the little boy looking in vain for his mother and guarded by an elderly man who fully understands their fate, had me crying, maybe because the little boy resembled me to a point. This is a film that deserves to be called a classic. Its reportage story line gives it a gritty realism tha I have seldom seen in other films. Everything is understated, giving the final minutes of the disaster a horrid, larger-than-life feel. Forty-three years after seeing it for the first time, I regard this film to be on of the best that I have ever seen.

  • Introduction to the Titanic

    • Kathy
    • 4/10/08

    I remember watching this movie as a 12 year old on our black and white set. Th story and acting were so real I could have sworn I saw the color of the water.I'll never ever forget the first time I saw this, ever. All of the acting is supurb and puts you in the place and time of the event. No fancy frills, no fancy love stories here. Just honest human emotions in the middle of a horrific event in history.I can remember this watching this so vividily that I still get goosebumps when the ship goes down and the women are watching it from their life rafts. I cried when the ship started to sink and people slid down the decks. I said a prayer at the end, even though I innocently thought this honestly didn't happen and it was just a terrific movie.Now in my 50's I can't imagine why someone would want to romanticize an event like this distorting history so much that you don't know the truth from fiction. That's NOT the case in this verison of the movie,what you see happened and the actors take you right on board as it occurs. Supurb acting! One of the classics that shouldn't be missed in my book!

  • Always better in black & white

    • Annie Derrick
    • 11/18/07

    This version of the sinking of the HRM Titanic is so much more accurate than the James Cameron version. I don't understand wanting to romanticize one of the worst maritime disasters of all time.I would rather enjoy the true story, the historical version have you, and I will take black and white over color any day.Annie

  • No Big Stars=4 Stars

    • pat welch
    • 4/2/06

    Just outstanding cinema!

  • This never gets old

    • Eric
    • 3/25/06

    Well, this is a WAY better film than Titanic, because it's true. There was never a "rose" and "jack dawson". But in this they tell it very accurately

  • THE best

    • Patti Fletcher
    • 3/17/06

    I never fail to be moved by seeing this version of the sinking of the Titanic. In my view, there is no other movie depicting this tragic event that so vividly & movingly portrays the true events of that terrible night. Every person...every scene...everything is dead on.

  • Great Movvie!

    • Dru Keith
    • 2/13/06

    This movie is based on the true events of the sinking of the Titanic. It shows the emotion and the tragedy of the event while exposing the good in people. I recommend this movie to all. It may be old but not outdated.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.