skip navigation
Night of the Living Dead

Night of the Living Dead(1968)

  • Friday, October 31 @ 08:00 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down
Contribute

FOR Night of the Living Dead (1968) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Night of the Living Dead A space probe unleashes... MORE > $3.99 Regularly $3.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • The Best Zombie Movie

    • Christine
    • 3/29/14

    The grand-daddy of the current zombie genre and still the best, and still really scary, even after all these years. I watch it every time I see it scheduled. I love Romero's movies but this one is the icing on a very fine cake. Yes, it's low budget and black and white, but that just adds to the atmosphere. Not to be missed.

  • Night of the Living Dead

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 10/4/12

    One critic described this groundbreaking horror film as "The best film made in Pittsburg." A group of survivors try to survive an army of zombies, hungry for flesh. Jones is effective as the African-American lead, whose calm rationality prevails over the impulsive family man. Shot in gritty B/W, documentary-style, director Romero skillfully combines terror with insightful social commentary, exploring the issues of the day from racism & the fear if the mob. The now less-than-gory effects are a pathetic complaint against an overall magnificent film which reinvented the horror genre. I give it a 5/5.

  • Mother of all zombie movies

    • Scott
    • 10/31/11

    As far as I know this was the first and I think definitely was the best of the zombie genre. The fact that its in black & white only adds to the funky, B movie feel. Great movie, best if watched with a group of people.

  • Seen this over 20 times, STILL scares me silly!!!

    • Mysty Saint Martin
    • 9/23/11

    George Romero was a genius! This was made in 1969, when color movies were plentiful, but he went with black-and-white, and how did that pay off! The b&w effect just adds to the horror he was aiming for! This movie STILL scares me silly! Hacker/slasher flicks really leave nothing to the imagination, as to where this gem of a movie ONLY really shows one scene (tame compared to todays' movies!) where the undead are 'devouring' their victims. This has been, and will be a timeless classic for many, many more years to come!

  • The best bad movie ever?

    • Michael Passe
    • 8/1/11

    Zombies are all the rage these days, even outside of Capital Hill. But despite all the remakes and big-budget sequels and Italian gore-fests, this glorified student film remains vastly superior to all of them, including George Romero's own best efforts. That's an amazing thing to say about an independent cheapie that often seems like a home movie. But it's an undeniably terrifying film that gets under the skin and stays there. Why does "Night" work so well, despite its myriad flaws: lighting that is amateurish at best; a script full of holes that is downright silly at times ("can't you see what's going on out there? This is no Sunday school picnic!"); an score that's very effective but not original (see "The Hideous Sun Demon"), and acting that ranges from decent to wooden, especially Judith O'Dea's somnambulant turn as Barbara? It works because it has the energy and vitality of film-makers trying something new, including the casting of a black man (the late Duane Jones) as the hero, which Romero knew at the time was revolutionary. There's a sense of cutting-edge, pushing-the-boundaries freshness that makes "Night" rise above its low-rent production values. The idea of the film - a dysfunctional group of mismatched people are thrown together in a crisis, which they can only solve if they can get over their own bickering and power struggles and work together - has become such a classic cliche that we hardly realize it was a pretty new idea here. The half-baked lighting just adds to the nightmare mood of the film, and the low-budget FX are more than made up for by the oodles of atmosphere and mounting tension. The last 15 minutes are still as terrifying as anything that has come out since, considering the final attack of the zombies isn't really as graphic as its reputation (much of the gore is implied, or shown in shadow or silhouette). A virtual clinic on how to make a low-budget film that works.

  • Never could watch all of it! Too Scared Still!

    • Amy Mulzet
    • 12/15/10

    I'm from Evans City, PA and I was 7 years old when they first showed Night of the Living Dead in 1968 in the Evans Theater on Main Street. My Dad took my friend and I. I got so terrified that he had to carry me out of the theater. Before that, my Dad even pointed out the locals who were zombies that we knew, but I was still terrified. I ended up spending 6 weeks at my Grandma's because she allowed me to sleep in her bed with her. To this day, I just cannot watch the entire movie. To me, it is absolutely the best horror film.By the way, I walk my dogs all the time at the Evans City Cemetary and I occasionally look over my shoulder...just in case.

  • NIGHT OF THE LIVING DEAD

    • LAURA
    • 12/15/10

    When I was growing up, it seems everytime my friends and I slept over each others houses, this movie was on. To this day I can barely watch this movie without putting my hands over my eyes.

  • Night of the Living Dead

    • Northern Knight
    • 12/15/10

    Great film. Interesting how the black man has to die, after surviving the undead, he can't escape the living.

  • THE BLACK ACTOR

    • william gauslow
    • 12/3/10

    Sort of sad, the only person in this movie who knows how to conduct themselves in a crisis is a black guy. Then he get mistakenly killed by white people in the end.

  • the best scary movie

    • kris99
    • 9/29/10

    I FIRST SAW THIS FILM IN 1968,WHEN IT CAME OUT,I WAS LIVING IN NEWJERSEY,SAW IT AT A DRIVE-IN,TALK ABOUT SCARED,TO THIS DAY,WHENEVER I WATCH IT,I'VE TOLEAVE THE LIGHT ON!! SO REALISTIC.ONE OF THE GREAT HORROR MOVIES.

  • Simply Frightening

    • Tanya
    • 3/23/09

    What makes this movie so effective is that it isn't over elaborate... I'm sorry if it wasn't choreographed by Yuen Wo Peng and had a $100 million budget

  • They're Coming to Get You Barbara!

    • Dean
    • 3/23/09

    Truely one of the most terrifying films ever made!

  • One of My Favorite Horror Movies

    • Rickula
    • 3/23/09

    If it wasn't for this movie 75% of all modern horror movies wouldn't exist

  • AKA: Movini's Venum

    • Irene
    • 5/31/08

    I recall this title was also know as Movini's Venum when I worked at MGM Lab.

  • WHAT A HORROR FILM SHOULD BE!

    • JC
    • 12/2/07

    This is a great movie that should NOT be missed. Though it's low budget makes it a little corny, the realism of zombies invading scares you. DO NOT WATCH ALONE! If you do, you could not go out into the dark alone.

  • THE KING OF HORROR FILMS

    • GRAY
    • 3/23/07

    IT IS THE HORROR FILM TO BEAT ALL HORROR FILMS.I REMEMBER SEEING IT WHEN I WAS A KID.I SLEPT WITH THE LIGHTS ON FOR A WEEK.GREAT DIRECTION AND THE REAL LOOK OF TERROR ON THE ACTORS FACES MAKES THIS A CLASSIC THAT WILL NEVER LOSE ITS FOLLOWING.

  • Seminal horror film pulls out all stops.

    • david lincoln brooks
    • 10/25/06

    This is one of my favorite horror films. True, it suffers from continuity weaknesses, a lousy music score, and differences in acting styles, but there is something assaultive and truly frightening about this movie. The mood is downbeat, and offers the audience little hope for good to triumph. The stark, grainy B&W of the film may be half its horror; it was for me, anyway, as there are plenty of farmhouses in my native Texas which have this same rural starkness.... This film is scary because the horror is "played for keeps", as dramatists and actors say; no camp or comic relief lightens the mood.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.