skip navigation
24 Hour Alert

24 Hour Alert(1955)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

24 Hour Alert - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • fantastic film as usual

    • Connie Raadt
    • 11/5/13

    My husband and I served in the Air Force for over 20 years this film by Jack Webb just hit home. His first base was March AFB, CA in 1977 where he worked B-52s kindly referred to now as "The Old Man", we married in March 1978 and he joined me at Cannon AFB,NM where we both worked F111Ds and our life long love affair with fighter aircraft began. The C130 is also shown in this film which we also worked on while stationed at different base and flew in and now Cannon has C130s. Please show this wonderful film again and if possible release it on video. Thank you for all your wonderful films that we enjoy everyday.

  • Where can I buy this awesome short film??

    • Chuck
    • 3/17/13

    Does anyone know where I can buy this awesome movie? I have been lucky enough to catch it twice on Tcm by accident, but I would love to have it on DVD to share with my friends.

  • My Time

    • Frank Maio
    • 2/3/13

    While watching TCM this past week, I came across this video on your channel. It was a sudden deja vu as it was my time having joined the Air Force in August 1955. It is a wonderful documentary that should be released so that us old AF types tha lived and worked during the Cold War and early days of Vietnam can show their grand kids what they did. It is a vivid reminder and very well done Jack Webb type of document. I would beg that all those in power would release "Strategic Air Command" with Jimmy Stewart and 24 Hour Alert as they are my history. I would love to have these two in my library.

  • 24 Hour Alert.....

    • Mike
    • 1/31/13

    I caught this short on by accident and was glad I did.... Some awesome footage of 1950's USAF aircraft and pilots. I cant believe I had never seen or heard of it before. It even got me back into collecting 1950's and 60's Air force militaria again. I really wish I had a copy of this short. Wish the would release it on DVD or online. It is a must see if you are into the classic age of early jet war birds.....

  • 24 Hour Alert

    • Dennis Raikakos
    • 1/24/13

    Just saw this movie. Brought back so many memories. Showed a C-11 instrument trainer, the same type I worked on. Showed great shots of the B-47. They were at Plattsburgh AFB when I got there, along with the KC-97's. Want to get a copy of this movie. Just fantastic.

  • The Fabulous Aluminum '50's

    • Tom
    • 5/7/12

    Yesterday I flipped channels to TCM and caught the last 25 minutes and just loved it. Besides agreeing with everything the other two reviewers said I have to add that those shiny aluminum skinned aircraft are just beautiful, reminds me of the many hours I spent as a kid assembling model kits of those very planes wishing I could attain that shiny metallic finish. It was a period in time where jet aircraft were sports cars rattling the windows in my parents home. Any time I can watch or buy a DVD of a 50's movie where the Air Force provides promotional footage I grab it. Bombers B-52 (1957), Strategic Air Command (1955), On the Threshold of Space (1956), X-15 (1961) and even the Sci-Fi flick This Island Earth (1955) are representative of the dozens of vintage Air Force oriented movies from that time. I acquired a 16MM LTBX film of On the Threshold of Space about the early high-altitude balloon tests and in wide screen it fits perfectly into TCM's commitment to airing movies in the original format hint....hint. Set your Tivo or DVR search engines for "24 Hour Alert" and you will be glad you did.

  • 24 Hour Alert

    • Charles Dodrill
    • 2/20/12

    I completely agree with everything Bob said. I would love to have this film on DVD just for the footage of the older aircraft. You can only see them now in a museum or on a pole.

  • RE: 24-Hour Alert starring Jack Webb (1955)

    • Bob Gilbert
    • 1/23/12

    Awesome footage, the best from the 1950s US Air Force inventory. Would pay any price to have this on a DVD, within reason, of course.It's perfect, the convertible Jack Webb drove down the flight light, the opening scene of an F-86D meeting up with a B-47 Stratojet, the airshow sequence featuring rare aircraft now only seen in museums - if you're fortunate to get to the right museum...this video is a must have, sincerely.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.