skip navigation
Night and Day

Night and Day(1946)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Night and Day Fanciful biography of... MORE > $14.99 Regularly $19.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Have enjoyed it and seen it many times.

    • roblee
    • 6/29/14

    When I see in my TCM monthly guide that this movie is going to show, I always circle it in to watch. As a previous reviewer said - BEGIN THE BEGUINE was fantastic. It is so enjoyable to hear and watch music and dance numbers like that. I have several different arrangements of this song with some provocative rhythm backing it up. One of my all time favorite songs. To me, a great movie to watch.

  • BRAVO CARLOS!

    • DianeK
    • 1/22/13

    Carlos Julio Ramirez is the primo baritone! No one could have sung "Begin the Beguine" in the movie "Night and Day" (1946) like he did. Such a beautiful musical-dance number extravaganza - and he made it happen with the feeling he put into that song. I've been a fan for years - and will continue to champion this performance - as well as other tunes like "Besseme Mucho" and Granada. I wish there were so many more - but there is only a limited amount available of his career. He was also a classical singer along with the Spanish songs he routinely sang. He should have been show-cased more in Hollywood movies. I appreciate many types of music so I recognize his talent - and he shows a very likeable charm in his movies that comes right through the screen. I've been a fan for a long time - and if everyone has a signature performance - "Begin the Beguine" belongs to only him! Bravo Carlos!

  • Nght and Day (1946)

    • Diane Kocik
    • 1/5/13

    THE BEST! 10 STARS! Beautifully made, lovely costumes, music, acting and storyline. They knew how to make movies back then - very entertaining! The number "Begin the Beguine" is superb!

  • Nght and Day (1946)

    • Diane K
    • 1/5/13

    THE BEST! 10 STARS! Beautifully made, lovely costumes, music, acting and storyline. They knew how to make movies back then - very entertaining! The number "Begin the Beguine" is superb!

  • Umas das melhores atuações de Cary

    • Sonia
    • 11/7/10

    um filme supreendente e uma das melhores atuaes de Cary Grant com a excepcional direo de Michael Curtiz. Um filme de primeira qualidade para conhecer mais sobre Cole Porter.

  • Night and Day

    • Ray Marlitz
    • 7/23/10

    Cole Porter's Life Story - Hollywoodized

  • Portrait of a Legendary Composer.

    • Frank Harris Horn
    • 6/16/10

    Cary Grant gives one of the most briliant performances of his illustrious career in his first color motion picture as he portrays Cole Porter in this fanciful 1946 musical fictionalized biography surrounding Porter's career as a songwriter. Alexis Smith also stars as his beautiful wife, Linda along with Monty Woolley, who knew Porter back at Yale University. Featuring such Porter songs including "Night and Day", "You're the Top", "I've Got You Under My Skin", "Begin the Beguine", and "My Heart Belongs to Daddy". Co-starring Ginny Simms, Jane Wyman, Eve Arden, Alan Hale, Mary Martin, Carlos Ramirez, Tom D'Andrea, Donald Woods, Victor Francen, Dorothy Malone, Sig Rumann, Richard Erdman & Skelton Knaggs.

  • Night and Day (1946)

    • James Higgins
    • 12/11/09

    Highly fictionalized biography of Cole Porter, with the curious miscasting of Cary Grant in the lead. Alexis Smith is fine as his love interest. It obviously ignores the fact Porter was gay. The recent film De Lovely is also a biography of Porter, it is more accurate and does explore the gay aspect, but Night and Day is still more entertaining.

  • A celebration of Porter's music.

    • lastliberal
    • 2/5/08

    Those looking for a biopic of Cole Porter would be better served elsewhere. This is the 1946 version of his life and it leaves out a lot of truth and stylizes the rest. The ending of the film gives those in the know a clue. When his wife (Alexis Smith) runs into his arms all excited, the camera shows that he isn't really as glad to see her as she is to see him. Maybe, that is because she left him, not for being a workaholic and ignoring her, as the movie suggests, but because his homosexuality was becoming more open in Hollywood.But, despite the glossy image of Porter, it was still a worthwhile film and it did get an Oscar nomination for the music, which should be no surprise to anyone. Porter's music is some of the best written and performed in the country and there are almost twenty of his songs featured in the film, some sung by Jane Wyman, the only Oscar winner that was the wife of a future president.Cary Grant is magnificent as Cole Porter. He makes the film worth viewing for his presence alone.

  • Night and Day

    • anda bales
    • 2/4/08

    You Are the one!The music in this movie just breaks my heart,it's so beautiful.I'm surprised there is no bio on Ginny Sims.Wasn't she a well known singer at the time the movie was made?And that amazing tap dancer!Wasn't she great?And Begin the Beguine.Thank heaven for TCM.And I agree with you Jack,music has changed,but aren't we lucky to have these as "old standards"now?

  • "When music meant something to the heart"

    • Jack Phillippe
    • 2/18/07

    I am seventy years of age and music has changed over the years that now, it resembles noise with a rhythm accompaniment. This film is an example of music written from the heart.

  • The greatest.

    • Suzy
    • 1/4/07

    I just finished watching "Night and Day".This movie has it all, the glamour of the 40's, the popular Cole Porter tunes, and beautiful actresses singing them, in their lovely costumes. I will definitely be acquiring this for my collection.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.