skip navigation
The Naked City

The Naked City(1948)

  • Sunday, February 15 @ 10:45 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Naked City A step-by-step look at a... MORE > $39.95 Regularly $39.95 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Barry Fitzgerald as Sgt Muldoon

    • Tim McCarthy
    • 4/10/14

    I have to say that after seeing numerous movies with Barry ( who I am I a huge fan of)I have to say that The Naked City is the movie that he he truly gives his greatest performance. He hits a home run with his dramatic roles, not-so-serious scenes, etc. In other movies, Mr Fitzgerald plays mostly a comedy role, but here we see, he truly see the finely trained actor that we all knew he was.

  • Naked Art

    • J
    • 4/7/14

    This film is CLASSIC. Ban anyone who suggest banning art. Taking away the ability to see these old films is a CRIME. unless theres REALLY an animal getting killed in the making of a film (which is few and far), then my suggestion to the person above is SIMPLE: TURN THE CHANNEL FOR A COUPLE HOURS

  • Totally unnecessary!

    • Alice
    • 11/26/13

    I love good crime stories, including film noir. However, cruelty to animals and killing of animals, especially, pets, is totally unacceptable and totally unnecessary in films. Frankly, when I know either of these actions are part of a film,I will not watch that film. Such is the case with, "Naked City". I generally read each of the reviews prior to deciding whether or not to watch a particular film. I am most grateful to the reviewer who made the comment about the uncalled for killing of the blind man's dog. I am asking you, TCM, to please not air films with abuse, cruelty, or killing of animals. I am a long-time, daily viewer of TCM, and would greatly appreciate your serious consideration in this matter. There so many old clean movies without excess, unnecessary violence, overt sex, foul language, cruelty and they are the films most of your faithful viewers love to watch. The true classic gems are the clean films with the great stories. Thank you so much for your kind attention.

  • A Film to Watch (Except for 30 Seconds)

    • GypsyPi3000
    • 5/8/13

    I really like this movie because it seems such a different way to tell a crime story. The way the investigation is played out step by step made me feel like I'm a part of the film. I also really like Taylor and the way his home life was part of the story. Again, this drew me into the film, and I even felt like I was his sister, so when he went off by himself into danger I was upset.. thinking no, no, wait for backup! The one part I didn't like was in the ending. When de Corsia shoots the blind man's dog I was hoping to see the dog up again having maybe only suffered a flesh wound. But no, the dog was lying there dead. I found this unnecessarily upsetting. It didn't add anything to the plot and instead of focusing as much on the real ending I found myself musing about what that blind man was going to have to go through without his dog. I felt his pain of losing his companion, his guide, his eyes! How he's going to have to get a new dog, and how it just won't be the same. Yes, that is the one flaw of the movie. Killing the dog took away from the ending instead of adding to it. It was a distraction that was not needed. This really is a great film. I enjoyed it all the way through, and it gets high marks from me, just don't go around killing animals for no good purpose. (See The Yearling and Old Yeller.)

  • The Naked City

    • Dashiell B.
    • 2/7/13

    With this now aged noir, director Dassin established himself as a formidable director of the genre. Sullavan is a Police Lieutenant in New York City solving the murder of a former model. Winner of Academy Awards for Cinematography & Editing, this is a great example of naturalism in film noir. The story was so gripping that the scenario was used in the video game "L.A. Noire," so anybody who has played the game might be interested to see how the film plays differently. I give it a 4/5.

  • Watched 1st half and hooked...

    • Tragic Figure
    • 7/10/12

    ...ended up recording it on my DV-R., Thank god for the unit since the last 50 minutes were terrific. Lt.Muldoon as the 1st Detective LT to steal the film. Terrific story and well told. Great film on B&W in NYC during the middle of the century at New York's apex. Unfortunately NYC is a hodgepodge of degenerates. Lucky for some, we'll always have film!!!

  • the best for last.

    • jon watts
    • 10/1/11

    this superb masterpiece by mark hellinger is in my opinion his very best work,the new york back-drop is outstanding,the acting first rate,love the naked city theme music,the shot at the top of the bridge when ted de-corsia meets his end,he looks out over the city and that music hits its spine tingling,jules dassin superb direction. understand hellinger died before it,s release,that,s a shame.four star crime-noir i,ll watch everytime.

  • The Pinnacle of New York City Stories

    • Deborah
    • 2/18/11

    This is Hellinger's gift to historians of mid-twentieth century NYC -a visual delight.

  • The Naked City 1948

    • Patricia Fornera
    • 12/13/10

    It was filmed the same year I was born and even that it is in black and white I liked it very much, well performed and interesting theme.

  • Excellent!

    • James Butler
    • 5/25/10

    The Naked City is a gritty portrayal of a murder investigation in the Big Apple. Wacthing the process unfold while depicting the life of everyday New Yorkers is a marvel to behold. New York is as much a star of the film as well. I've added it to my collection!

  • The Naked City

    • J. Miklitch
    • 1/16/09

    Fantastic crime film. I first saw it on public TV here in Detroit. The scenes with the murder victim's parents, especially in the morgue, are unforgettable.

  • Last of the Hellinger's films

    • Jack Phllippe
    • 7/13/08

    This was the type of film that had staying power. It also was the last, Mark Hellinger film---he suffered a Massive hear attack during it's filming.

  • The Naked City

    • Joyce
    • 4/22/08

    The most enjoyable crime story I've ever seen. So much depth. Barry Fitzgerald was terrific.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.