skip navigation
My Sister Eileen

My Sister Eileen(1942)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

My Sister Eileen Two sisters - one smart, one... MORE > $14.99 Regularly $14.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • my sister eileen

    • kevin sellers
    • 10/10/14

    Give it a solid C. The Bob Fosse dance numbers are great, but otherwise kind of a snore. Particularly annoying is the sanitized treatment of Greenwich Village in the 1950s. I realize that mainstream Hollywood films at that time could not deal honestly with freewheeling sex and drugs, particularly in in a musical format, but hell guys (meaning Richard Quine and Blake Edwards) how about some mild salaciousness at the very least? I mean, we're not that far removed from The Apartment, for cryin out loud. Oh, and Jack Lemmon can't sing.

  • 1942 comedy

    • Somchai
    • 2/16/14

    I was familiar with the 1955 version, but I never knew there was an original, or staged performances! TCM is the only channel I watch. No commercials or crap broadcasts. it is a very funny film, if the viewer possess the ability to understand 1942 society. I laughed the loudest at the very end when I witnessed one of the greatest cameos ever! if you have not seen this film, broaden yourself, and wait for it at the end.

  • Always entertaining

    • Gibbs
    • 2/14/14

    With New York City as the backdrop this film is very funny. New York apartment living has its moments and this film expands upon those moments. Only sheltered people unfamiliar with New York City would dislike this film. Some of the film's experiences still exist today.

  • Piece of absolute junk.

    • steve
    • 2/11/14

    Terribly film. To say that it does not hold up well is being kind.

  • Tries too hard

    • DanWJr
    • 2/3/13

    I agree with a couple of the reviews below: this is a tired, obnoxious and grating "comedy." The myriad of characters are so annoying you want to slap them, and the plot is a jigsaw jumble. But don't believe reviews ... see it for yourself and make your own judgement call. Everyone has their own concept of what is funny and what isn't. For me, this definiately isn't.

  • Good fun

    • Gibbs
    • 11/14/12

    Fun to watch. Enjoy the laughs. Only a dull person would find this annoying.

  • My Sister Eileen (1942)

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 9/26/12

    Unfunny, annoying, and very depressing. *

  • In bed laughing

    • Marston Davis
    • 5/25/11

    When I woke up I turned on the TV to TCM. My Sister Eileen was just starting. As a fan of Rosalind Russell I just had to watch. I'm glad I did.I must have laughed out loud 5 or 6 times. The cast of this movie fit together perfectly. There isn't a weak one among them.Watch this movie in the morning and you'll have a smile on your face for the rest of the day.

  • So much better than the new one, and so funny!!

    • Nancy
    • 5/7/09

    Yeah my sister eileen is so hilarious!! it's so much better than the new one. the 1942 one is the best of them all. why can't the people who sell old movies just get it through their heads that the 1942 one is the better one. oh well. someday i hope that they do sell it. 11 year old girl wrote this and that's me!

  • Plot? Anyone seen where it went?

    • Joe Caesar
    • 2/4/09

    You know the storyline from other reviews - two sisters move to a basement in New York and then almost everyone in existence call on them with hilarious consequences.Not really, it's very wearing, and there's so little progression that many of the scenes could be in a different sequence without it mattering.

  • My Sister Eileen

    • Victoria
    • 2/3/09

    This role was made for Rosalind Russell and the rest of the cast is wonderful, so much better than the 1955 remake with music and it comes close to the "Wonderful Town" broadway musical version that also starred Rosalind Russell. She is so fantastic!

  • My Sister Eileen (1942)

    • Jay
    • 1/19/09

    Very enjoyably comedy, Rosalind Russell is terrific in a role ideal for her. George Tobias is a musing in a supporting role. Well written. Janet Blair is weak and not up to the rest of the cast.

  • Great Entertainment

    • Kathy
    • 12/1/08

    The 1942 version is much better than the re-make in 1955

  • Funny

    • Patti
    • 10/20/08

    This movie is a classic. I love funny upbeat old movies and to be continually entertained is the best! I would love to buy it and watch it over and over....

  • My sister Eileen

    • jaqueline
    • 10/4/08

    I did watch this movie when I was very young and I do agree it should be avaiable so we could review it. If someone can help me with some information to afford it, I 'd be very glad and thankful.

  • want to see again

    • Linda
    • 8/17/08

    I loved this movie even more then the 1955 version. Rosalind Russel was great. My oldest granddaughter loves old musicals and does not have TCM channel so watches them all on DVD. I think she would love this movie and would love to share it with her..

  • A Great Movie

    • Marie
    • 1/26/08

    I saw this movie when I was just a kid. I can say positivly that it influenced my aspirations to become an actress. The writing and caracter development is something lacking in todays films. This movie has a wonderful cast and made me laugh even as a child. Its a must see if you appreciate the classics and I have no idea why it has not been on ??? Come on folks....lets get a look at this great piece of work soon ???

  • Great Film!

    • Sara
    • 10/10/07

    This was a funny light movie. Rosalind Russell & Janet Blair were perfectly cast for this film. There are some really funny scenes!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.