skip navigation
My Foolish Heart

My Foolish Heart(1950)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

My Foolish Heart - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • MY FOOLISH HEART

    • ITHADTOBEYOU
    • 5/21/14

    Such a romantic movie. Love the actors. Wish TCM would either play it or make a DVD. Although I would prefer to stream it rather than a DVD. Hollywood just dont make such romantic movies such as this any more. Please TCM play it again for us all. Thanks

  • My Foolish Heart

    • Margaret
    • 1/1/14

    I'd love to see this on TV. I had my first holiday romance as a 17 yr old - met at Prestatyn Holiday Camp, and he was called David and lived in Birmingham. I often wonder whether he remembers me as I remember him.

  • My Foolish Heart

    • Ron S.
    • 2/8/13

    The kind of romantic drama Hollywood has forgotten how to make. Beautiful cast, involving story, touching and appealing on all levels.

  • So Romantic

    • Yvonne King
    • 9/6/11

    I loved this film the stars Dana Andrews & Lovely Susan Hayward were perfect in the parts they played no embarrassing love scenes just Pure Romance. Ooh the good old days I am 82 now but remember it so well & the theme song is still one of my favourite songs.Yvonne King

  • my foolish heart

    • brendan kinsella
    • 9/4/11

    the movie my foolish heart is still my favourite film and i often still sing the song i think that movie was under rated by the so called know all;s

  • A Wonderful Romantic Movie

    • Shari
    • 1/18/11

    Thank you TCM for scheduling this movie. I think it is one of the most romantic movies with two superb actors, Dana Andrews and Susan Hayward. Robert Keith, who plays Eloise's father is a joy.There are serious issues in the movie, but the movie handles them well. One of my favorites.

  • Fabulous Susan Hayward!

    • Jo-Ena
    • 1/2/11

    As a young girl I was awed by Susan Hayward's performances. I've not seen this film in many years and have postedd requests to TCM many times. Someone IS reading these requests. Thanks TCM. New audiences to this film will root for Hayward and Dana Andrews. Those who are skeptical about romantic films will find themselves drawn into the characters and the ago-old story of a woman dealing with an out-of-wedlock pregnancy. The title song, "My Foolish Heart" has the same impact that "Laura" had for that film. TCM, please show more of Ms. Hayward's films. She deserves to be rediscovered. "Backstreet" is such a worthy find. I think audiences will compare Hayward to Bette Davis. Thank you again, TCM!

  • My Foolish Heart

    • gypsywind
    • 12/23/10

    This has been a favorite film of mine since the first time I saw it....way back in the 70's. It may seem dated, but there is something timeless and touching. "I could have been the girl in the brown and white dress. Anyone could have."

  • Talentosa Susan

    • Sonia
    • 10/28/10

    Este filme timo. A susan Hayward est fascinante, talentosa e linda neste filme.

  • My Foolish Heart

    • BrooklynGirl
    • 5/20/10

    2 tissue boxes are required

  • Generation morality gap

    • dennis sculimbrene
    • 5/14/10

    Thanks to someone making a tape of this film, I was able to enjoy an old film that otherwise is not available on DVD. It should be, but its dated morality makes this film hard to understand by most people born in the 60's. When I went to college, there were separate dorms. Today the sexes are on the same floors. Having a child out of wedlock, as my generation called Susan Hayward's condition, was a real problem with parents, let alone society. Aborton, so obvious a solution today, was probably not mentioned due to censorship codes of the time. The best thing for anyone wanting to see this terrific love story, is to request that it be played on TCM. Hayward's performance as a country girl from Boise, Idaho attending college in NYC is perfect. She meets a perfectly charming Dana Andrews, who plays a man who could be from any generation. He's looking for pretty girls for the same obvious reasons from any generation. What makes the story great is the way the romance developes. Hayward's character is swept off her feet, while Andrews is less willing to commit. Here is where the generational gap occurs. Sex without love is accepted. When this film was made, the idea of sex outside of mariage was not socially acceptable, however widely spread that it was in my generation. This circumstance gives the plot and love story its momentum. Andrews gradually comes to understand that he loves Hayward. This all happens during WWII, and Andrews is conveniently killed in an aircraft crash as he departs for combat.Hayward's character is left a problem-she is pregnant, and unmarried. To solve her 1945 problem, she gets a former beaux to marry her. What makes this flic great is the film begins with Hayward's appearance as a lush, terrible parent and unloving and decietful wife. But the flashback to when Hayward first meets Andrews and events leading up to the film's begining make this a great film.

  • Why is this not on home video???

    • Rita
    • 2/14/10

    I'll never understand the decision making process re releasing classic films on video, especially a gem like this. While it can be argued that both Hayward and Andrews were too old for the parts, they were such good actors that you soon forget the questionable casting. Back in the day when contract players HAD to do any role assigned to them, it made them work hard at their craft unlike today's pale cadre of so-called "stars."I wish TCM would show this more often.

  • my foolish heart

    • ellyn
    • 12/25/09

    A true tearjerker with superb cast!!! Susan Heyward and Dana Andrews in a sweet and poignant love story that leaves you heartbroken and crying. What a great movie!!! They just don't make them like this anymore. You MUST see!!!!!

  • Great Movie

    • Karen
    • 11/24/09

    I saw this movie many years ago when I was a teenager at a friend's home. Her mother was watching it and I watched and fell in love with Dana Andrews and Susan Heyward. I have only seen it once more as an adult and am saddened that it is not on DVD for purchase. This is the best love story, revenge and sacrifice movie I have ever seen. Susan Heyward was outstanding. Everything was perfect for the movie, the actors, the music, everything.

  • I loved this movie!!!

    • Lil Allie
    • 8/30/09

    I am still crying from the last time I saw this movie. What a love story. Please, please put this on DVD.

  • Ultimiate Sacrific-First Love Always

    • Cathy Gerardi
    • 1/21/09

    I saw this movie twice and still can not get it out of my head. The love between two people, the war, the friends and sacrifices each make and the loneliness of a woman's secret had my tears strimming down my face. I get an "ache" in my heart when I think of Susan and Dana. You must see this to experience the love and passion they shared. All of this comes to you in Black & White. One of the best love story ever!

  • This was one of my favorite mpovies

    • janet ravnell
    • 7/10/08

    I saw This very early on a rainy saturdaymorning ,in 1990 ,in new jersy,i have never forgotten this movie.i kept on hoping that i would see this one more time ,i would buy the Dvd ,and guard it with my life.

  • Best Movie

    • Rosalie Russello
    • 5/14/08

    I have been trying to see this movie for ages. It was one of her best.

  • the tenderest of unrequited love stories!

    • ellyn
    • 12/12/07

    Susan Hayward and Dana Andrews in one of my favorite movies of that generation!! It is a sweet and poignant love story of two people who fall in love, but life gets in the way. It touches your heart and is definitely a tearjerker!!! It has been many years since I have seen this movie, and I would love to see it again and again!!It would be so nice for others to discover this movie and its sweet story. They just don't make them like this anymore!

  • I AGREE WITH AUNT GLORIA

    • sylvia
    • 5/21/07

    PLEASE SHOW THIS MOVIE IT IS ONE OF THE BEST SUSAN HAYWARD MOVIES. THE MUSIC IS ESPECIALLY MOVING.I HAVE BEEN WAITING FOR TCM TO SHOW THIS MOVIE, AND PLEASE HAVE A SUSAN HAYWARD DAY OF MAYBE SEVERAL DAYS OF HER MOVIES THANK YOU SYLVIA VENTURA, CA

  • "My Foolish Heart"

    • Denise
    • 4/23/07

    My Aunt Gloria is waiting and waiting for TCM to show this movie - it is her favorite.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.