skip navigation
My Dog, Buddy

My Dog, Buddy(1960)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

My Dog, Buddy - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Knew Travis

    • Wayne Brashear
    • 2/3/14

    I was 9 years old and actually went to school with Travis at Anson Jones Elementary.I remember going to see the movie just blocks away from where we went to school and I can't believe I just happened to think about it.If my memory serves me correctly, Travis also had a part in the original movie Alamo with John Wayne.What a surprise it would be to see him again.Thanks,Wayne

  • Sidney Bloomberg's Contact Information

    • Richard Euler
    • 9/14/13

    Everyone be advised, Sidney Bloomberg no longer has an email address. You will have to contact him by telephone at: (415) 931-3676 He is the only person I have found that can get this movie for you.

  • My dog buddy

    • Linda
    • 7/8/13

    I would have been around 9 when I saw this film - i am now 64and the theme haunts me to this day. The day I saw it at the pictures here in new Zealand all that time ago I rushed home afterwards and wrote my own version of it so that I would never forget it. I loved it so much. Like another of the reviewers said, I think it will make me incredibly sad to see it again but I would give my right arm for the chance. My memories are many fold - the way Buddy acts when he hears the siren of an ambulance. There is no holding him back - he has to go to his master. What a wonderful film and so inspiring. I will keep trying to obtain a copy of it till the day I die.

  • My Dog Buddy

    • Monte
    • 5/9/13

    I was about 9 when parts of this movie was filmed near Hutchins Texas.They filmed the car crash at the rail road near my home One of the scenes showed "Buddy" wandering by a school yard and children playing with him through the fence. These were my classmates at Hutchins Elementary school and I happened to be sick that day and wasn't there! How I wish I was when I saw this movie and saw them! I would love to get a dvd of it or at least TCM,please play it!!!

  • Old, old memory!

    • Chris
    • 4/20/13

    I saw this at the theatre the year it came out so I would have been 9. I still remember the car crashing violently and the boy suddenly being orphaned and temporarily speechless. He was so traumatized that it was heartbreaking to see him struggling to find some purpose in life. He shows an interest in the drawing of the dog and that is a key to breaking through to his psyche. I still remember two doctors talking about his breakthrough and one of them says, "Isn't that wonderful!" I assume one of the doctors was the outstanding character actor, Ken Curtis, since he is in the movie, but I didn't know who he was then. I remember the boy and the dog being eventuallly reunited and the boy suddenly is able to speak again. He says to someone, "This is my dog Buddy!" I'd love to see it again and I'm trying to obtain a copy through a source listed above.

  • My Dog Buddy

    • Linda
    • 3/10/13

    I remember seeing this movie as a child, though I don't know what age I was. I vaguely remember the accident scene, but pretty clearly remember the scene where they were trying to get the child to talk or even show some emotion about something and were showing him animal pictures. When they got to the picture of a dog, the child reacted, but the nurse had turned away to talk to someone and didn't see him. She then went on to the next picture and never did see the reaction to the dog.....is this the same movie? That scene has haunted me as well. I don't know if I could watch it again....too sad, although I guess it did have a happy ending. Kind of the way I feel about watching Old Yeller again... I'd definitely cry!

  • I Finally Obtained a Copy!!

    • W. Richard Euler
    • 9/27/12

    My Uncle played the character of Artist Fuller in this film and I have been searching for it for 12 years. The entire movie was filmed in Dallas and anyone that is familiar with the Dallas area can easily identify land marks from those days.I finally obtained a DVD from a 93 year old genius in San Francisco. For those of you seeking for a copy, contact Sidney P. Bloomberg at email: movies1935@hotmail.com Sidney has certainly made a lot of folks, in my family, very happy.Good luck with you endeavors and enjoy the movie.W. Richard Euler

  • Help

    • Norma
    • 9/21/12

    My Dad and brother were both in this movie. They are now both deceased. I would love my children and grandchildren to see this movie but I cannot find a copy. Please help. It was a great movie

  • Unforgettable!

    • Sue
    • 3/14/12

    I had just turned 5 when I saw this movie with my older cousin. I loved it, but got very emotional because it is such a tearjerker! I am in love with dogs and movies so it would be such a treat to see this again.

  • My Dog, Buddy - A lasting impression

    • David
    • 3/4/12

    I saw this movie when I was 8 years old. I have never forgotten it. We're talking 52 years here. The thing that strikes me most is reading other peoples memories of it. And yes, the movie haunts me as others have said. I call that a lasting impression. I can still hear the sirens wailing. Boy would I love to see this again. It made me cry.

  • I Have Tried Everything

    • Richard Euler
    • 1/24/12

    My Uncle Bob Euler played 'Arist Fuller' in this film and my dad took me to see it before I turned 8. I have tried everything to obtain a copy for our family to no avail. I sure would have liked to find a copy before Dad died.

  • Would LOVE to see this movie again

    • Wes Carter
    • 2/25/11

    I was 11 years old when I saw this movie at the Star theatre in Hereford, TX. I remember it being a very emotional movie and I came home and laid on my bed and cried.My mom came in and comforted me and said over and over, "It's only a movie, they're all o.k.". The other reason I really want to see it again is because it was filmed in Dallas and one of my cousins had been to the shoot and tried to get in as an extra.Oh how I wish I could see it again. TCM...would you PLEASE make this happen??? Please.

  • My Dog, Buddy

    • Lea
    • 1/19/11

    This movie is one of my all-time favorites. It has haunted me all my life.l It would be just the greatest thing in the world if I could see it again! I will never forget it...I can even remember the theme music. Please, please, please find this movie and release it to us!

  • My Dog Buddy

    • Charleen
    • 4/23/10

    My favorite chidhood movie! It wood mean the world to me to be able to buy a copy of this movie!

  • My Favorite Movie from childhood.

    • Mary
    • 9/27/09

    I also saw this movie as a child...I have never forgotten it. It was wonderful! I have searched for copies and would love to see it again.

  • my one and only acting role!

    • don greene
    • 7/24/09

    I was voluteered to put out the car fire, after which I was assigned to say what has become my grandchildens favorite line "bring the stretcher down here". Being a rookie on the dallas Fire Dept. I and another rookie were sent with a chief officer to the location on a fire engine to the shooting location. We did not have fire fighting gear with us, thought this was a still picture event. Even cut my little finger and had 3 stiches on my little right pinkie finger. Having just gotten off duty we got 25 bucks and a free lunch for our effort.There were 3 Dallas Fire Dept. members, two which are still alive. We would like to have some still shots for our museum if possible. Chief Owens, Doug Dickerson and myself Don Greene were the three Dallas Fire Department members envolved in the movie shoot.My 10 grandchildern would also like a tape of the movie, where could we get one.

  • Heartwarming Story

    • Kathi
    • 5/23/09

    Have thought about this movie many times, saw it when I was a child and never forgot it. Have been looking for it. Pls show on TMC.

  • Touching Dog Story

    • Paula
    • 6/24/06

    Wonderful Dog Story! Please show this film soon on TCM! Thank you.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.