skip navigation
Murder, My Sweet

Murder, My Sweet(1944)

  • Monday, August 25 @ 09:15 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Thursday, October 9 @ 01:30 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Murder, My Sweet Detective Philip... MORE > $49.98 Regularly $49.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Great noir film

    • Jack
    • 5/10/14

    Dick Powell is excellent in this movie. I had only seen him before in pillow-talk roles. He really hit a homerun with this performance. The noir movies are all goodin general and well-worth watching.

  • Murder, my Sweet

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 9/4/12

    The most faithful adaptation of a Chandler novel. Powell proves he can do more than sing & dance as the first great personification of Marlowe, Trevor is superb as the femme fatal. Intriguing story & details from shadows to rain are brought to life by Dmytryck's direction. In short, this film encompasses all that viewers love about the film noir genre. I give it a 4.5/5.

  • Great Film!

    • THarold
    • 12/23/11

    Another great film noir from the RKO vault. Dick Powell is SO good as Marlowe, and Claire Trevor and the supporting cast are also superb. Anne Shirley's last picture, which is a shame, but she went out with a bang- An excellent performance in a major role.

  • Watch Esther Howard...she's great!

    • Mikey Lacy
    • 9/23/09

    This film is a classic, no doubt. I find it enjoyable being able to view the great character actress Esther Howard. She made a great career out of being queen of the ugly drunks. She is worth a look in all of her films. Another Hope Emerson!

  • You will enjoy it!

    • Wichitan!
    • 8/9/09

    This is a nicely restored and entertaining detective story. The acting is great. Dick Powell fits well as Philip Marlowe. The rather "fuzzy" ending could have been done differently. All-in-all, you enjoy this film.

  • An alternative "Marlowe"

    • joannlovesjags
    • 4/7/08

    I liked Bogie and Powell as Philip Marlowe, but if I were casting director then, my only choice for the part would have been Robert Mitchum...he was alwayshow I visualized Philip Marlowe.

  • I beg to differ.

    • George H.
    • 3/8/07

    Many people claim this is an excellent film noir with top notch performances. Well I a beg to differ on that subject. The film itself is rather good, but I personally do not care for Powell's performance. His Marlowe was unconvincing and did not seem to fit the image of the Marlowe I had generated in my mind on reading the book. The Big Sleep with Humphrey Bogart is probably the best interpretation of a Chandler novel out there. But when I really think of Philip Marlowe I think of Gerald Mohr in the truly amazing radio series The Adventures of Philip Marlowe. I highly reccommend listening to the series. There are many websites that feature free downloads of the shows, such as otrfan.com

  • Vintage Chandler

    • Mike
    • 7/11/06

    The window of opportunity seems to have closed for notable screen renditions of Chandler - leaving a limited catalogue of classics. Bogart is Phillip Marlowe, but Powell brings a valuable interpretation. The performances here by Trevor and Kruger are definitive.

  • perfect noir

    • JMD
    • 7/9/06

    This is the height of film noir as far as I am concerned. It has everything including a brilliant first hard boiled performance of dick powell, and a consistently good performance by claire trevor. Dark lighting, a good plot that does not yield the truth untl the end, and a terrific nightmare sequence worthy of Salvatore Dali. Above all else is Powell's acting, tough and real. After this film he was no longer seen as the hollywood song and dance guy.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.