skip navigation
The Mountain

The Mountain(1956)

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Mountain Brother mountain climbers... MORE > $24.95 Regularly $24.95 Buy Now blu-ray

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Spencer is a Mountain

    • Hank West
    • 10/19/12

    I cannot tell you how much I enjoyed seeing this film this past week as part of your Spencer Tracy salute. When I was a small chap, I remember seeing this on television, but I only remembered the part when the woman was found and the trip back down the mountain. Those scenes made an impression on me that has stayed. So to see the film now....well, I was not disappointed in seeing it now. The scenes of climbing the mountain still remain quite intense....and Spencer Tracy is definitely one of film's greatest mountains!!! Thank you so much for showing this film....meant alot....

  • the mountain

    • frank camp
    • 6/5/10

    i think this is one of spencer,s best movies . i also love wagner,s performance

  • Should be on DVD

    • Matt Papay
    • 4/14/09

    My dad told me about the movie he says I need to see it because the story shows good morals

  • Better then GREAT

    • Thom
    • 1/18/09

    I first saw this movie in 1956 and was impressed then. I wanted to go out and climb a mountain! More then that it was inspiring to the point of doing what is right, helping someone without asking, what is in it for me! This may sound mushy, but if this WORLD would get that attitude, it would a much better place to live!

  • The Mountain

    • sally
    • 6/15/08

    This is a good show and should be released to the public on DVD to enjoy.

  • I can't believe I found it!

    • Crystal
    • 1/7/08

    I saw this movie just once on t.v. and I thought it was amazing. I looked for it at the movie store but there was no record of it. No wonder. You never released it? That's crazy. Great movies like the Mountain should not be allowed to collect dust in some warehouse. It's disrespectful to everyone who contributed to it's making and to those who enjoyed it once and can never ejoy it again.

  • Something to share with your children.

    • Cassandra
    • 1/7/08

    My father told me about this movie. He used to watch it with his grandfather. I wanted to see it to. I looked for it everywhere and people told me it didn't even exist. Well, now I know that it does exist and that it could be shared with the public. I don't think it's right to hold something of such fond memory away from those who still remember it and enjoy it. By not releasing it to the public you are denying a younger generation from the same pleasures they only hear of from their parents and grandparents. Please bring it out and share it with us. We want to know, to see, and to enjoy it as well. If everything was left in the past and forgotten there would be no future.

  • A true classic.

    • scott
    • 1/1/08

    The Mountain,is, and always will be my best movie of that time period. A very inspirational, and beautifully done in content and scenery.

  • THE MOUNTAIN

    • sally
    • 11/8/07

    This should be released to the public on DVD to enjoy.

  • Do not attempt to remake this classic.

    • Steamer
    • 8/11/07

    The Mountain was made 7 years before I was born.I think I first saw this movie when I was little boy,about 36 years ago.It had a grip on me because the story is about character. It's about doing the right thing and going above and beyond what we think we're capable of doing.Spencer Tracy made me a an instant fan. Robert Wagner is a pro.This is another classic I need to share with my children and their children.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.