skip navigation
The Moon Is Blue

The Moon Is Blue(1953)

  • Tuesday, September 2 @ 11:15 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Moon Is Blue Two womanizers fall for a... MORE > $19.99 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Cloyingly quaint

    • Don Letta
    • 5/1/14

    How Ms.McNamara found any more work after this embarassing bit of over acting, will go down as one of Hollywood's many mysteries. It's difficult to believe The Legion of Decency put a pox on this film because they used the word "pregnant" in it. Had they dinged it because it was an insult to anyone's intelligence would have made a lot more sense. It is difficult to accept that at this period in our evolution, any discussion of sex was neatly wrapped up with a wink and a jab in the ribs. This film stands alone in representing one of the most dismal periods of human avoidance and artificiality.

  • Great Ensemble , Very Entertaining

    • Muriel
    • 10/28/13

    A great ensemble cast. Very entertaining and witty. David Niven may play an aging roue, but he does it in such a vigourous and charming way that one can understand a woman could surrender to his charms, be seduced and then dumped, and still think it was great experience.An all over fun play, highly recommended,

  • delightful innocense

    • dan valascho
    • 8/27/13

    a light hearted look at sexuality in the fifties. you need to watch it twice to catch the subtle humor and clever dialogue.

  • The Moon is Blue

    • rita scarcella
    • 3/1/13

    I really enjoyed this Movie! The inoccents of Patty and the two leading men getting caught up in true feelings!!! Would love to see again..

  • Sensational!

    • Alex
    • 2/28/13

    This movie is too cute. I was late to class because I just had to keep watching it. The dialogue is fast and the taxi scene with Maggie McNamara and William Holden makes the movie, especially with the cab driver. I would almost say there is not a dull moment in this movie. If you enjoy a cute romantic comedy this is the movie for you.

  • Charming...

    • RedRain
    • 2/28/13

    The biggest surprise of this film is the fact that Otto Preminger directed it! What a departure from his usual dramatic flare! This is a sweet and cute comedy with an outstanding cast. It's great for viewing on a cold and rainy afternoon and it will definitely lighten your mood. Kudos to Maggie McNamara for her portrayal as the cute virgin ditz in this film. What a shame she died at 49 as a suicide. Having been raised Catholic, I vividly remember this film being "Condemned" not only by the Catholic Church but it was banned in several states. Seeing it again now, I am at a loss as to WHY! There is no sex, no cursing, no violence. I just don't get it!

  • Sweet and enjoyable

    • P Hill
    • 8/10/11

    I saw this on tv this morning and was reminded how I liked it the first time I saw it, many years ago. The dialogue is sparky and fun, and the somewhat one-dimensional characters are still recognizable from real life, and likeable. It might be like a filmed stage play, but some films are like that, and that's okay.

  • It was pretty good.

    • Brittany, age 14
    • 2/3/11

    Well, I overall enjoyed the movie, but it wasn't great. An amusing storyline, although it isn't really the kind of movie you watch again and again. Not a whole lot of depth to the story, but the main character Patty was well thought and interesting at times.

  • The Moon is Blue

    • Gina Livingston
    • 9/17/10

    I lOVE LOVE LOVE THIS MOVIE! Niven and Holden are absolutely superb. Niven is at his Niven-ish best! And Maggie does a great job playing a professional virgin. I always feel good all over watching it and the witty banter is so clever and amusing. I have been waiting for several years for this movie to turn up again on TV! Why, TCM, oh why, don't you show it more often? Please, please please, do so!

  • The Moon Is Blue (1953)

    • James Higgins
    • 11/17/09

    I am not sure why there was such a fuss back in 1953 when this film was released. It was released without the Motion Picture Production Code approval, because words like "virgin" and "mistress" were used. Director Otto Preminger refused to have them taken out, thus a scandal. It's hard to believe!! The comedy is actually rather bland, it is saved by William Holden and David Niven's presence. I can't imagine how Maggie McNamara nabbed an Oscar nomination for this one.

  • Would like to see Moon is Blue -Nivens

    • chris
    • 5/2/09

    I enjoy this moving very much and I would like to see it as part of the upcoming movies.This would be great.

  • A delightful comedy

    • monica chang
    • 10/12/07

    This is a light-hearted and most entertaining comedy. The dialogs are just so humorous and witty. I've enjoyed watching it over and over again. It would be great to have it on hand and watch it at any time. Otto Preminger was such a great director. William Holden was so handsome. He is a natural for this role. David Niven, a witty person dilivered those witty line to perfection.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.