skip navigation
Monsieur Verdoux

Monsieur Verdoux(1947)

  • Thursday, August 14 @ 02:00 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Monsieur Verdoux A man woos and murders rich... MORE > $29.95 Regularly $29.95 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Genius

    • Dave
    • 7/27/13

    Chaplin is pure genius and even as this movie was a talky, he could have simply made this a silent and it would still have been a great classic. His sentiments are genuine and his ability to tug at the hearts strings of the viewer is truly evident with the scene at the dinner table just before he's gives himself up to the police. What an incredibletalent and a gentlemen........one of a kind and a unique talent that is truly missed.

  • Loved The Real Family

    • Lovedhisfamily
    • 7/27/13

    Well-done,classic Chaplin.

  • Comedy-Drama movie starring Chaplin

    • Maureen v.v.
    • 7/27/13

    A typical Charlie Chaplin movie. Mostly drama with a little comedy. Fantastic comedy timing especially near the end of the movie when they were trying to catch him. The ending could have been cut 5 minutes. He starts lecturing about weapons of destruction and killing. The lecturing should have been deleted.

  • LOVE IT

    • cynthia
    • 6/30/11

    This movie is so unique, and so funny. I've only seen it one time approximately 7 years ago. I definitely think it it's totally under-rated! And I'd really appreciate if TCM would play this movie soon. :)

  • Monsieur Verdoux (1947)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 7/21/09

    Everything Charles Chaplin has a hand in has some sort of brilliance to it. He is so clever and such a visionary. This is a great film, subtly very funny. The acting is fantastic, and Martha Raye gives one of her finest performances. The writing is incredible, the sets are perfect. A great classic that has not gotten the recognition it deserves.

  • Monsieur Verdoux

    • Donna Wagner
    • 1/8/09

    I am not a Charlie Chaplan fan but Monsieur Verdoux is excellent!

  • Monsieur Verdoux

    • Anngee
    • 8/3/08

    Perhaps I am one of few people that is not a fan of Charlie Chaplin. I saw Monsieur Verdoux (8/2) and thought it quite amusing! Also fun to see Martha Raye and a young William Frawley of I Love Lucy.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.