skip navigation
Mr. Hobbs Takes a Vacation

Mr. Hobbs Takes a Vacation(1962)

Contribute

FOR Mr. Hobbs Takes a Vacation (1962) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Mr. Hobbs Takes a Vacation A husband and wife spend a... MORE > $14.98 Regularly $14.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Mr. Hobbs Takes a Vacation (1962)

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 10/23/14

    Disasterously, chronically unfunny film with a nasty streak. Stewart must have taken the paycheck for this one and run.

  • Wit, fun, and great acting

    • Dee
    • 3/23/13

    Anything with Jimmy Stewart and Maureen O'Hara is bound to be a hit and this movie doesn't disappoint.The shower scene with Jimmy Stewart is HILARIOUS and very well done. The husband-wife dialogue between Stewart and O'Hara is genuine and, from the beginning, spot on. Definitely a movie for everyone!

  • Fond Memories of Mr. Hobbs Takes a Vacation

    • Cathy Brown
    • 1/6/13

    This movie was just plain fun. If only we could have all had a vacation like this one. I loved it then as a teenager and I still love it today as a grandmother. TCM please play it more often.

  • Boo Boo

    • John Tobar
    • 1/6/13

    James Stewart refers to the Albino teenager as a spook. I think.I know you try to show uncut but it depends on what you can find.

  • FOND MEMORIES

    • william gauslow
    • 1/6/13

    I must have seen this movie as a teenager, about 15 times. At the age of 59, watching it again for the 16th time. I'm beginning to understand why I've stayed single without family. How many times does Jimmy Stewart carry those suitcases ? The blond in bathing suits is my favorite part of the movie.

  • Good Old-fashioned Fun

    • Delving Eye
    • 1/6/13

    The most hilarious part is when James Stewart opens a card sent by Marie Wilson (who plays the wife of John MacGiver, Stewart's boss). The greeting inside, one word, makes me fall off the couch with laughter every time.

  • Good family film

    • Susan
    • 5/16/12

    I have seen this several times over the years. Enjoyed it every time. I was wondering where the house was located that was featured in the film? I also spot the painting of the sea captain from The Ghost and Mrs Muir in the entry way of the house.

  • A true "family" film.

    • DougieB
    • 3/13/12

    Although we begin the story from the narrative point of view of James Stewart as the father, this movie quickly becomes the story of the whole family. There's a strong element of social satire to the film as a whole, yet neither the parents nor the children are condescended to. Normally, we'd see well-meaning but obtuse parents trying to squelch the antics of their free-wheeling, fun-loving kids, or misguided kids who need to be shown common sense by the all-knowing parents. This movie allows for both perspectives, much as "The Parent Trap" did, and that's what makes it such a success. Though Fabian was obviously brought aboard to attract younger audience members, this movie actually humanizes him in a way that most of his film appearances didn't. Add some other wonderful supporting performances, like John McGyver, Marie Wilson and John Saxon, and you've got a winner. It's a classic of its kind and well worth discovering if you don't know it already.

  • Mr. Hobbs Takes a Vacation

    • Delia
    • 2/27/10

    I saw this movie a couple of times when i was a kid and absolutely loved it! i've always been nuts about Jimmy Stewart but this is my alltime favorite movie of his. My favorite part was how he dealt with his bratty grandson. TCM please show this one!!!

  • Great!

    • Karen
    • 7/31/07

    I watched this movie first before I ever knew how big of a star Jimmy Stewart was, but liked him immediately. I also loved Maureen O'Hara, (my purpose for watching the movie in the first place) This movie is funny and adorable.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.