skip navigation
Sylvia Scarlett

Sylvia Scarlett(1936)

  • Tuesday, December 23 @ 07:00 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Sylvia Scarlett - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Mr./Mrs. Hepburn

    • Cheryl
    • 2/4/14

    Very first pairing of Cary Grant & Kate Hepburn. Altho the movie was given a bad rap, it still stands out as a great performance by Miss Hepburn as well as a breakout performance for Cary Grant. Not up to par with their other movies, but non the less its a movie not to be missed by any fan of Kate the Great.

  • ........thanks

    • YoYoYad
    • 2/19/12

    ....wonderful...

  • Correction

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 12/18/11

    I have to make an amendment to my previous review. I realized I was incorrect in pointing out that Cukor didn't want to work with Hepburn after "Holiday." This isn't true, as he obviously made "Philadelphia Story" with her two years later. It turns out I misheard Robert Osborne in his intro -- he was talking about the producer, Riskin, not Cukor, who didn't want Hepburn in any of "his" films because they didn't make as much money. Cukor was, in fact, very kind to his actors. So, my apologies to George Cukor and to his fans. And "Holiday" remains my favorite of both his and Hepburn's films. :)

  • Sylvia in Wonderland

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 12/18/11

    While I suppose this movie should be given its props for being an ahead-of-its-time gender bender, the plot is so meandering, and the performances so over the top, that the film comes across as too surreal and flamboyant for its own good. Cukor definitely went down the rabbit hole with this one. This is the kind of movie that is best watched in the wee hours, when one should be sleeping, because a half-awake state is the only condition in which one can put up with such incoherent nonsense for its entirety. There is a funny bit with drawing a moustache on "Sylvester" and comparing it to Ronald Colman's (Cukor directs Colman in "Prisoner of Zenda" and "A Double Life"). Hepburn is the only actress who could have done such a role, but in taking the role I don't think she did her career any good. Cukor was famous for blaming Hepburn for his movies flopping, but to be fair - for this particular film anyway - the script and his own directing were equally to blame. He should have been thankful that she was in "Holiday" rather than refuse to hire her ever again. What--did he stop doing movies like "Sylvia Scarlett" for "art's" sake, and suddenly care all about making moneymakers? "Holiday" didn't deserve to bomb but "Sylvia Scarlett" did.

  • Maravilhoso

    • Sonia
    • 12/13/10

    Este filme um clssico que une Katharine Hepburn e Cary Grant juntos. A maquiagem e o figurino que Katharine usou neste filme foi essencial para convencer o telespectador o seu disfare. to bem feito para os anos 30. Fantstico. Um filme que eu daria 10 estrelas.

  • Free and fun!

    • Jarrod McDonald
    • 9/1/08

    This is a GREAT film. I don't think I've ever seen anything like it. Some people want to lump it into the category of queer filmmaking, and it is usually given an obligatory June showing when Pride festivals occur. Of course, there is its gender-bending theme and its tinge of sapphic love (Kate shares two kisses with other women), but it really is much more...the film has a unique identity, full of spirit and fun. That in and of itself makes it worthwhile. Did Cukor and his cast make any money for the studio with this picture? No...it's as if they were unconcerned with financial considerations and just let their work run the gamut and roam free and wild. I think that makes it a selfless work of art...it is not trying to hoodwink us into being a customer...it is just being itself and letting us follow along for the ride. If you want to get analytical about it, Hepburn's role is definitely a character study in transgender states of mind. Sylvia/Sylvester is dealing with some identity issues and anguishes about it, but it stays light and not too gloomy. Kate should've made more daring films like this one. She plays a lot tougher, more masculine role in Adam's Rib...here, she's just the right combination of masculine-feminine.

  • Bad Timing for Sylvia Scarlett

    • Treewebb
    • 8/18/08

    I have many Kate Hepburn movies. I have always wanted to see "Sylvia Scarlett". Now I get the chance..but in the wee hours of the AM. How about a better schedule time in the future? Treewebb

  • I COULDN'T AGREE MORE ABOUT SYLVIA SCARLETT...

    • lid
    • 1/18/07

    Not only is this not on DVD for personal viewing, but the scant times it's been shown on TCM they are at very inconvenient hours. Please play it more often so that we can all finally experience this wonderful movie, with a sterling cast! Thank you...

  • Calling "Sylvia Scarlett".....

    • Kimberley
    • 8/11/06

    I encourage TCM to put "Sylvia Scarlett" into higher rotation or at least in a more enviable time slot. The film is so charming - the banter between Katharine, Cary and Edmund is not to be missed. And for fans of the magnetism of Katharine and Cary onscreen, this is worth seeing - just getting their sea legs, so to speak.Not an acting juggernaut or anything, but the playful quality and antics involved make it a hoot to watch. I've only seen this film once and weould certainly like to discover/uncover more of its charms!

  • C'mon TCM! Play this movie (and not at 6 am)

    • Nicholas DiSabatino
    • 5/6/06

    I've never seen this great cult classic film of Katharine Hepburn and Cary Grant. I've heard such great things about it and whenever you guys schedule it, it's shown at like 6 AM!!! The studios need to release this and the rest of Hepburn's lesser known RKO films (The Little Minister, Quality Street, A Woman Rebels, Break of Hearts, Morning Glory, Christopher Strong, A Bill of Divorcement, Mary of Scotland) on DVD!!!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.