skip navigation
The Miracle Woman

The Miracle Woman(1931)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Miracle Woman A phony faith healer fights... MORE > $17.95 Regularly $20.95 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Essential Capra and Stanwyck

    • shoshone
    • 9/24/17

    I haven't seen so much from Capra, but this film confirms the few impressions he gave me so far: I do like him a lot.Second to noone in comedy, he has also a unique ability in preaching good sentiments without being excessively moralistic. If I had to chose a director that best represented the era I'd choose him without thinking twice: he was to american cinema what Mark Twain was to american literature.The themes and settings are the ones I grew to love so much that alone make for a worthy view. In addition, Capra directs a felt love story, made unique by beautiful moments, between two tormented souls that find peace together. If that wasn't enough, he crafts on an astonishing Barbara Stanwyck the role that will fit her best again in her career.

  • Home Girl from Flatbush

    • Maria Ramos
    • 8/14/17

    Love Barbara Stanwyck! I'm writing from her neighborhood in Brooklyn. And live one block away from her High school Erasmus! She is great in the Miracle Woman. You can't stop watching the range of emotions she displays in her lovely face. She is remarkable. I understand when she said she doesn't like playing "mansy pansy" females, because I too grew up in foster homes. She is my hero. Inspite of her struggling childhood, she was resilient and gave to the world a wonderful body of work.

  • paired with HL Mencken and Sinclair Lewis

    • william
    • 10/25/12

    Thanks to TCM I was introduced to this wonderful Stanwyck performance. She gives Jean Simmons in Elmer Gantry real competition.Movie is enhanced by reading HL Mencken's assessment of the real Aimee. Sad to realize the show still goes on the christian televangelist stations today. I reccommend this film.

  • Great Movie!

    • muriel
    • 5/10/12

    I am a big fan of both Stanwyck and Manners and this is one of my favourite films for both. Their romance is very sweet and the shenanigans of the rest of the hucksters is brilliant. Very interesting film!

  • Stanwyck at her fiery best

    • Jarrod McDonald
    • 2/18/11

    This is a perfect example of Stanwyck bringing the house down, literally. If you ever hear anyone say this actress lacked range, hand them a copy of this film. It proves that she could do it all: she's tough, she's vulnerable, she's shady, she's good...she's simply marvelous.

  • The Miracle Woman (1931)

    • James Higgins
    • 2/9/10

    Barbara Stanwyck gives a powerful performance in the title role. Frank Capra does a fine job directing. It's a good story, with a great pace and characters that are very well developed.

  • Stanwyck's powerhouse performance

    • Jude_Pierre
    • 5/19/09

    I wasn't going to watch this film because of the 'faith healer' theme. But I didn't turn it off and listened from another room. Stanwyck's vocalization of the script alone drew me into this film. I couldn't help but drop everything and watch her. I own three shelves of Stanwyck's films, movies & appearances. Of them all, her performance in this film is a powerhouse one. Although I vote for the release of these DVDs, owning the originally released VHS' is my preference. These VHS' have already lasted up to 80 years. Whereas a DVD will break up into graphic blocks after two or three uses. Once the original VHS releases are OOP, and nowhere to be found, that's it, there's gone.

  • More Capra on DVD?

    • Iowahawkeye
    • 2/20/08

    Is there any chance these early Capra films will make it to dvd? I personally am DYING to have all 30s & 40's films of Stanwyck's on dvd. She's just the tops for me.

  • STANWYCK and CAPRA SHINE!

    • Steve
    • 3/20/07

    The story, direction and acting make this a must see for all Barbara Stanwyck and Frank Capra fans. Babs is beautiful and vibrant under Capra's insightful direction and a snappy script. THIS MOVIE SCREAMS TO BE ON DVD!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.