skip navigation
Miracle on 34th Street

Miracle on 34th Street(1947)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Miracle on 34th Street A department store Santa... MORE > $29.98 Regularly $29.98 Buy Now blu-ray

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Miracle on 34th St.

    • Dashiell B.
    • 12/13/12

    An always-amusing Christmas film. Gwenn won the Oscar for his performance as Kris Kringle, Wood is great as a little girl whose reluctant to believe in him & the debut film of Ritter. Oscar-winning story is funny & touching, but predictable in the romance between O'Hara & Payne. Great festive entertainment. I give it a 4/5.

  • The "34th Street Miracle" Lives

    • Julus Clark, Jr.
    • 12/10/12

    Every year I watch A Miracle on 34th Street, as I have since childhood. I've passed the tradition on to my son, (who is now in college) for a very important reason. Besides the beyond excellent acting, the lessons of Goodwill and beliving when it doesn't make sence is lost among too many of us during the Christmas Season. Movies like "A Miracle on 34th Street" remind us of a time when anything good was possible, and good won over evil. When my son comes home we will watch "Miracle" again, and be thankful Chris isn't crazy "like those men in Washington".

  • One of the best

    • Adam
    • 6/21/12

    One of the best holiday films ever... I got the dvd a few years ago and watch it every year at least once and even when it plays on tcm.

  • NYC in the 1940s

    • guy
    • 12/26/11

    I love this movie! I watch it every year and with the help of my DVR I was able to watch on Christmas morning. I especially like the scenes of New York City in the 1940s. You get the feel of what it was like around the holidays in those days. Thank you TCM.

    • George Matusek
    • 12/8/11

    On Dec. 6, 2011 TCM showed a documentary on Christmas movies which stated that the Legion of Decency gave this 1947 movie a "Condemned" rating because the Catholic Church had some sort of problem with the mother's unmarried status. I was a 10-year-old in a Catholic school at the time, and I am certain that this is NOT true --- the nuns who taught us would have mentioned it. The Legion of Decency frowned on movies that promoted acceptance of divorce, but I do not recall such disapproval amounting to serious condemnation, just sometimes a mid-level "B" rating ("morally objectionable in part"). In any case, according to the synopsis of this movie, the mother is not divorced --- she's a widow --- so the makers of the documentary did not do their homework. Wikipedia has a list of movies that received the "C" rating --- "Miracle on 34th Street" is NOT on that list (although it does not claim to be a complete list) ==> http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ List_of_films_condemned_by_the_Legion_of_Decency

  • miracle on 34th Street

    • Albert L Wahl
    • 12/7/11

    I have saw both the black and white and color one and they both follow the same cast and I think that the two verision are one of the grestest xmas show and should be show each xmas holiday but i really like th colore verision best. I saw a remake of on tmx and it was lousy

  • Miracle on 34th Street (1947)

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 12/3/11

    Cry "Bah Humbug" if you must, but it seems all too apparent that "Mr. Kringle" is truly a bald-faced liar (to children no less) and off his rocker, and the only reason he's saved at the end is because of the whim of a single postal worker. If not for that flukey bit of convenience "Kris" would have been strapped into a rubber sleigh faster than he could say "Jingle Bells." To say that this movie's theme is of anti-commercialism when it is essentially one big paid advertisement by Macy's Deptartment Store is the real Christmas miracle here. "Kris" even pressurizes a couple into buying a mortgage together so as not to shatter a kid's already tenuous belief in Santa Claus. In the obvious minority here, but my common sense told me not to buy into this film's artificial sense of sentimentality, so as "holiday movies" go, I'll stick with the far more personal and heartfelt "It's a Wonderful Life," which can be watched any time of the year.

  • Miracle On 34th Street

    • Richard Wilson
    • 11/24/11

    Quite possibly the most perfect movie ever made. I never miss it. Much better tyan It's A wonderful Life.

  • A wonderful, heartwarming moive from a by-gone age

    • Gerry
    • 11/22/11

    This is by-far one of my favorite movies of all time. Plus it has a great ending.When I was gowing up in New JErsey my family and I would go shopping in New York City during the holiday season. We loved shopping at Macy's and Gimbols during the 1950's. Tis movie brings me back to that era. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do. Plus great acting by young Natalie Wood. Enjoy forver!

  • Ed Gwen & Fox Bring a Miracle to the movies.

    • 2Kevin Butler
    • 11/4/11

    This is a wonderful movie that shows the foolishness of commercizingChristmas..but it also shows the consideration that man must extenedto others via a kindly but mysterious old fellow named"Kris Kringle" The script is charming,fanciful and beautiful..the music score isengaging..the best part of the film is the cast..including characteractor Ed Gwen..who's enchantinting portrayil of "Kris Kringle"earnedhim an oscar for best supporting actor.This film should always beseen ever holiday.

  • I believe in Santa Claus

    • Charles Blankenship
    • 10/15/11

    I am 42 years of age and Miracle on 34th Street is The Movie that i love to watch anytime of the year...I Start my thanksgiving day off the same way the Movie Starts by watching the Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade.My favorite part of the Movie is when Kris gets all the Letters declaring him to be Santa Claus...Like i said Earlier i am 42 years of age and i still do Believe in Santa..In this day and age we need something to Believe in and this movie does just that for me....This is one Movie that i will continue to watch not just during the holiday's but throughout the years to come.

  • My favorite Christmas movie !!

    • Jim Burns
    • 9/30/11

    Great movie for Christmastime!! The acting is great and unfortunately it shows how Christmas has become too commercial. However, it does show how we should exercise goodness to our fellow citizens at Christmas time. I also like when Kris Kringle puts it to that stuffshirt human resources man. Another part I like is when Fred Gailey, the attorney, rebuffs that stuffshirt human resources guy and goes to the press room in order to get publicity for the case. I could go on... but recommend that TCM fans watch this movie..you will really enjoy it !!

  • Miracle on 34th Street

    • Tom
    • 7/21/11

    ****

  • Miracle on 34th Street

    • Mobile
    • 2/13/11

    George Seaton put together a perfect cast for his superb screenplay and outstanding directing with flawless editing. This rendition along with A Christmas Carol with George C. Scott and the Muppet Family Christmas are great holiday fare.

  • My All Time Favorite Movie

    • Karen
    • 12/21/10

    I wasn't born yet, but Miracle has always been my favorite movie since I was young. I can watch it any time of the year. It brings out that wonderful feeling that there is a Santa!! Thanks to you TCM, your the best. It's the only channel I watch. I grew up in CA and my Dad worked for the studios while going to USC in the 40's. He was an extra, building sets. There are so many pictures I haven't seen and as Robert says, "It's an old movie but new since you have never seen it." I also have my husband hooked as he has never watched old movies and loves them. Please never have commercials!!!

  • Miracle on 34th Street (1947)

    • Rick
    • 12/19/10

    I've seen this movie every year since I was a kid and it always puts me in the Christmas spirit. Far better than any of the subsequent remakes, the original is the perfect holiday movie. The cast and everything about it is first rate.

  • Maravilhoso

    • Sonia
    • 12/4/10

    Um filme de Natal doce e excelente. Eu adoro este filme. um dos meus favoritos.

  • Miracle On 34th Street

    • Robert in TEXAS
    • 11/28/10

    I make it a point to watch Miracle On 34th Street every year at Christmas time. This movie puts me in a Christmas state of mind and helps me prepare for the Holiday Season every year since the late 60's. Every time I watch it I find something new to laugh about. Having been in the Retail business since the mid 70's I find the storyline makes me want to treat folks better, or as I would want to be treated if I were their customer. B & W Colorized are both enjoyable equally. Santa " I sleep with my beard out the cool air help my beard Grow" and the Bubblegum scene with little Natalie Woods is a favorite. Make this Movie an every year movie for you as well.

  • Cool

    • Lucy
    • 10/13/08

    I have seen the 1995 version of this and I want to see this one. The problem is that there is not any material to look at to see if I would care for it like a trailer or some pictures. Please try and put some sort of material up. I love this site and this channel and I shall allways cherish the movies and memories of the GOLDEN DAYS. Thanks for all that you do! You are the greatest!

  • DVD available now.

    • liz
    • 9/9/07

    There was a DVD released on 11/21/2006 by 20th Century Fox of this movie.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.