skip navigation
The Miracle of the Bells

The Miracle of the Bells(1948)

Contribute

FOR The Miracle of the Bells (1948) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

The Miracle of... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Len Maltin doesn't know what he's talking about!

    • Lainie Ross
    • 12/3/14

    This is a very unusually beautiful movie, almost ethereal presence of Alida Valli, and perfect and moving performances by Sinatra and MacMurray. The movie stayed with us for days, the magical, spiritual aura was so unexpected, like finding a happy surprise in your Christmas stocking. I watched it twice. It's an offbeat, quirky movie, not predictable like the rest. It could have been a little shorter but no complaints.

  • Inspiring movie - on DVD!

    • Heidi
    • 10/4/14

    We stumbled onto this movie at Costco today and had to watch it. We were rewarded with a touching and inspiring film that we will watch again and again.

  • Such a beautiful movie

    • Dina G
    • 12/29/13

    This movie, as other reviewers have stated, used to be shown around Christmas for years. Then it disappeared from the TV screen. Fortunately for me, I had taped it on VHS, so I'm still able to watch it each Christmas. It really is a beautiful movie, well acted, and with a fine cast of characters. The simple, yet haunting song "Ever Homeward" by Jules Styne and Sammy Cahn, sung a capella by Frank Sinatra is, for me, one of the gems of this film. The story's message lingers on, long after the movie is over. Please, please, PLEASE -- won't someone release this treasure on DVD?

  • What a great movie

    • Tobra
    • 12/4/12

    Just saw this movie last weekend on Netflix. It was so good, that Valli is about the most beautiful woman who ever walked the Earth. It was a colorized version. The colorization seemed to get less distracting as the movie progressed, but seeing Frank Sinatra with green eyes was a bit unsettling. Fred MacMurray and Sinatra are better actors than I thought, Lee J Cobb is every bit as great as I thought he was.

  • Outstanding movie

    • Thomas Bunnow
    • 9/29/12

    My wife and I just watched this for the first time. I instantly looked to buy it on line as it is a fantastic gem of a find that deserves to be in any avid movie-buff's collection. What a shame to find it is not available...

  • need to see

    • Nan R
    • 3/22/12

    My husband and I have been waiting for years to get "The Miracle of the Bells", on vhs to begin with and now that vhs' are outdated, we are waiting to see it on dvd. It was always a tradition for us to watch it at Christmas time and now it's not shown at any time. Please bring it back and make it available for sale so we can keep our tradition going. We love this movie.

  • Do you Believe in Miracles?

    • Boguszewski
    • 1/11/12

    This movie is based on a true story in a small coal town"Glen Lyon" PA, as a child I was told that this actress did die in this manner is indeed is buried at St. Michael's Cemetery up on the hill, I have seen her grave. St. Michaels was the church where most of the polish coal mining community went to church, always looked down upon by the more elaborate church in town, St. Adalberts "Leos in the film" The whole concept of the film is based on having a better life, and making life better for those we leave behind. Whether or not this miracle really occurred I never heard for sure, but the fact that she was able to go and make something of herself from a small town USA gives everyone HOPE! St Micheals was torn down not too many years ago, and a smaller catholic church has also closed due to a lack of money, some of the community tried to save St. Micheals from being torn down, but St. Adalberts prevailed. The two Polish Roman Catholic parishes, Saint Adalbert's and Saint Michael's were founded in the late nineteenth century. Things really have not changed much in the past 100 years.(I cherish 2 bricks)News Article:Glen Lyon church will fall to wrecking ball in March By Debby Higgins , Citizens' Voice Staff Writer 02/21/2004 When the wrecking ball crashes into St. Michael the Archangel Church, Glen Lyon, a small part of its history will remain to tell its story. The brick church that sits on a hill in Glen Lyon will fall to the wrecking ball in March.Despite its history and integral role in the religious community, a lack of funding, shortage of priests and a declining number of parishioners led to the church's closing and pending demolition. A parish community committee made the decision."These are helpful, loving people. It was not easy for them to let their church be razed," said the Rev. Jacek Bailkowski, parish priest. The church was made famous by the 1948 movie, "The Miracles of the Bells." The film, which starred Frank Sinatra, Lee J. Cobb and Fred McMurray.

  • Miracle of the bells

    • Victoria Vandervest
    • 12/9/11

    Fantastic movie!! Why oh why don't they release this on DVD? I have been waiting for years and my VHS is almost worn out.

  • Where to start.

    • Godzilla 97
    • 8/9/11

    Make sure to bring along lots of Kleenix before watching this one. Also barf bags. Where to start... How about Frank Sinatra. As a priest. Fred MacMurray as a hot shot Hollywood press agent who falls for the doomed Alida Valli, who plays a Polish (?) Joan of Arc in her debut/swan song film, before succumbing to Ali McGraw Syndrome In her final movie-within-a-movies scene when she gives her Joan of Arc speech before being set aflame, one can almost hear the extras pleading for some lighter fluid. In the end all comes out neatly. She is still dead, but everybody has found God due to a very convenient miracle and Frank Sinatra is almost ready for Sainthood himself, having practised his beatific expression for the entire time he is on screen.

  • " THE" Christmas movie to watch!

    • Noel
    • 10/27/09

    THis is one of those movies that wereonce very popularly shown at the holidays,but have disappeared again. It's a shame,because while this is not a "great" movie,it does have some fine acting, an inter-esting plot line, and a particulary touching subplot and scene of the trialof Joan of Arc, that is impressively played by Valli. I've always enjoyed thismovie since I saw it as a teenager, andfor me, this is "THE" Christmas movie that I watch every year. Thankfully, I own a copy!

  • Why not?

    • John Doro
    • 11/22/08

    I had read this book when I was in HighSchool and a few years later started see-ing it on TV (pre VCR days). I've alwaysbeen an old movie buff and always loved watching this movie. A few weeks ago Iwas shopping in a supermarket and stopped by their discount movie bin. "Evil RoySlade" caught my eye, a made for TV moviethat I only saw once, but never forgot it.As I browse DVD sections of stores I seemovies I never heard of. If they can popthese out, why not Miracle of the Bells.I'm sure if people see this it might justcatch their eye. Give it a shot. Thanksfor listening.

  • EXCELLANT MOVIE

    • janice korynta
    • 10/2/08

    I saw this movie many years ago and would like to see it again. There are many people who would enjoy this movie if they could only see it. EXCELLANT> Deserves to be seen again and again.

  • simply memorable

    • terri binder
    • 12/5/07

    beautifully written,watched it once and it touched me so, will never forget it,will love to own it, if it becomes available on home video

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.