skip navigation
The Miracle of Morgan's Creek

The Miracle of Morgan's Creek(1944)

Contribute

FOR The Miracle of Morgan's Creek (1944) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • miracle of morgan's creek

    • kevin sellers
    • 11/3/15

    One sign of a great director is if he or she can elicit a good performance from a crappy actor or actress, such as John Ford did with Victor Mature in "My Darling Clementine," Peter Bogdanovich with Cybil Shepard as "Daisy Miller," and Preston Sturges with the usually insufferable Betty Hutton here. That Sturges was able to get Hutton to play dumb and sweet without becoming terminally cloying, as in most of her other films, is just one reason to like this screwball comedy, set in small town America, in the middle of the WW2 home front. And that's reason number two to admire this movie. Not only was Sturges able to thumb his nose at the Hays Office, but as a byproduct was also able to go against the seemingly mandatory patriotism of the time, by undermining the image of the valiant warrior marching off to battle, suggesting that along the way he (with, possibly, five of his comrades in arms) managed to create the Kockenlocker Sextuplets. Reason number three to like this film is the inspired comic by play between wise ass daughter, Dianna Lynn, and exasperated dad, William Demarest And reason number four is, as always in a Sturges film from the 40s, a veritable cornucopia of wonderful one liners, from any and every member of a large comic ensemble, at any time. No scene is too sacred, including a wedding, or a father's viewing of his newborn children. So let's give it an A minus. (Why not an A? Well, Eddie Bracken's stutter gets old pretty fast, and there's a general air, in the entire film, of Sturges, the Hollywood big shot, looking down his nose at the dumb hicks that you just don't get in an A film.)

  • The Spots!

    • Lou Flees
    • 8/31/12

    This is a perfect, little, nutty film. One of Preston Sturges' best.

  • Fun and funny

    • Lisa
    • 5/16/12

    This is such a fun loving and silly move and gutsy for the 40's. TCM don't show this one enough!

  • I thoroughly enjoyed it

    • Gus
    • 2/7/09

    Good comedy as long as you take it as a comedy.

  • People had sex even in the 40s!

    • MonkeyHawk
    • 11/9/08

    Preston Sturges rejoices in the realities of the home front. Like "Hail the Conquering Hero," he realized the absurdity of war, even a "good" war like WWII.There were a lot of war brides in the 40s. And audiences then knew full well when someone said "I want to marry you" it was code for "Let's bump uglies." Eddie Bracken is superb and Betty Huttton's bobby-soxer is an icon for our moms and grammas who weren't always little old ladies. This'll make you smile.

  • Not so good

    • Mr. H
    • 7/21/08

    Silly satire designed to make fools of the censors. No real story value. Director Preston Sturges uses censor rules to build lagitimacy for moral laxity in film making and creates his entire story based upon his own lack of moral character. He uses the misfortune of a girl being raped by 6 US soldires about to leave for war as a normal occurance and the church, law and order and common desency are just a bunch of stuffed shirts. The tradgidy of this film is that anyone would pay for it. I bought it because of Betty Hutton, but they could have used anybody to play her role and you wouldn't know the difference.

  • A wonderful, hilarious movie!

    • Michelle
    • 6/3/08

    This is so wonderful yet hilarious movie! I had a long day and I just wanted to relax so I turned the tv on to see what's on on TMC and there it was...The Miracle of Morgan's Creek. I am deaf and I am SO GRATEFUL for closed captions. I laughed so hard and was still laughing during the commericals! I especially love the girls' father! He's my favorite! Thank you for the laughs!

  • Betty Hutton

    • Julie
    • 2/28/08

    This was a wonderful and funny movie. But there are so many many other Betty Hutton movies we never get to see. Such as: Let's Dance, Incendiary Blonde, Red hot and Blue, Dream Girl, Spring Reunion, Somebody Loves Me. Why can't we have a Betty Hutton collection of these so we can have them in our own DVD collection. We want to see and have these movies for our own.

  • I laughed out LOUD!

    • Karen
    • 2/28/08

    I can't tell you the last time I actually laughed out loud! This movie was hilarious and I am looking forward to watching it with all my family and friends.

  • Outrageous, hilarious Preston Sturges comedy

    • John Klintworth
    • 12/21/07

    Having seen this movie but once, I can understand why it is so highly rated amoung film comedies. The script is really quite daring for its time and only because there was a World War going on at the time was Sturges able to get things past the censors. Everyone in the cast is exemplary. Betty Hutton who I normally do not enjoy, is here the star of the show. It is her greatest achievement on film. But everyone else including Eddie Bracken, William Demarest, Porter Hall and especially the wonderful Diana Lynn as Hutton's younger sister are extremely funny as well. A movie that is well worth checking out if you are in need of good side splitting laugh!

  • norval and trudy

    • michael york
    • 3/15/07

    one of the top ten funniest films of all time everything and everone is tops bravo for sturges and his getting around the censors

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.