skip navigation
A Millionaire for Christy

A Millionaire for Christy(1951)

Contribute

FOR A Millionaire for Christy (1951) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

A Millionaire... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Eleanor Parker Always Enchanting And Mesmorizing

    • Joella Lyndon
    • 5/11/14

    I don't know if I'm correct, but I'm under the impression that Eleanor Parker is underrated. She can play a dramatic role, villain, and in the film 'A Millionaire For Christy', a convincing comedienne. I remember the first time I watched her as the would-be step mother of those 'Sound of Music' little darlings when I was a young girl. Even though Eleanor Parker was the antagonist to the sainthood of Julie Andrews' Maria, as a child I was hooked: Miss Parker's magic encompassing elegance, sensuality, sophistication and drop dead beauty. Since then it has been a pleasure to see her in so many brilliant performances that completely overshadow her most remembered role in S of M.Here's the perfect summary of Eleanor Parker's magic: "Eleanor Parker was and is one of the most beautiful ladies I have ever known," said Plummer, who just turned 84 on Friday, in a statement following news of Parker's passing."Both as a person and as a beauty. I hardly believe the sad news for I was sure she was enchanted and would live forever." Christopher Plummer, December 2013.

  • Very Likeable film

    • susan
    • 7/14/13

    I had never thought of Fred MacMurray in a leading man role until I saw his acting in Double Indemnity - wow- what a great film. I was glad I caught A Millionaire... and got it on the DVR. In this one, it is a light comedy and I thought both leads played their parts really well. I hope TCM shows more of Fred's earlier (1930s-1940s) movies. Yes, the plot was a little far-fetched, but the actors did well with the material. I also liked the RR scene and the way comedy lines were worked into the "love" scenes, keeping it entertaining and not overly serious.

  • Funny with a great love scene

    • Tom Hamilton
    • 7/15/12

    The sensuous kissing (MacMurray called it "necking" later in the film) between MacMurray and Parker was so extremely realistic that I thought in a moment they would have their clothes off (then I realized it was 1951). Easy to watch, simple, great entertainment!

  • Painful

    • Ron Kerrigan
    • 11/24/11

    Did MacMurray and Parker have a contract they were trying to run out, agreeing to be in this? I found it strident, unfunny, and most of the characters unprincipled and unlikeable (Parker plotting to marry a millionaire, MacMurray getting romantic with a woman he just met on his wedding day, Carlson plotting to derail his friend's wedding). Likeable actors caught up in a terrible, contrived plot and long set pieces that were as bad as his prune juice infomercials. Avoid it.

  • A Millionaire for Christy

    • Diane
    • 11/20/11

    I have asked many times to get this movie on DVD. Maybe a few of Fred's comic movies on one DVD would be great with this one. You reminded me it was going to be on and I waited for months, so I could record it. I forgot about EST and was ready at 1 p.m. MST. Please play it again soon. This is one of the best romantic comedies for my youth. Thank you.

  • hilarious

    • elang
    • 4/3/11

    I love TCM. I woke up especially early one work-day morning and turned on TCM to see this movie in progress. I had to go to work, but it was difficult to leave the movie because I found myself laughing out loud at 6 in the morning. I tore myself away to go to work vowing that I would buy the movie on Amazon when I got home. Oh, dear! I can't buy, rent, view, or steal this movie anywhere! I missed the beginning and the end. I did get to see the middle. I loved the scene at the railroad -- hilarious! Please tell me when this will be on again or how I can buy the movie.

  • A Millionaire for christy

    • Marilyn Crady
    • 11/7/10

    I would like to purchase this movie on DVD...I don't always get a chance to see movies like this when they are on TV....as you play the best old movies at I guess ...when the viewer ship is the lowest....I just hate that...Sunday morning ..is when I go to church...4:00AM..in the moring...I am a sleep...or getting ready for work....

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.