skip navigation
Midnight

Midnight(1939)

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Midnight An unemployed showgirl poses... MORE > $11.99 Regularly $29.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • The Best Classic Comedy I 've Ever Seen

    • Ilene
    • 12/24/13

    I watched this movie on TCM recently and right away ordered the DVD from Amazon.COM. I always liked Claudette Colbert and I had not seen any of Don Ameche's earlier work. I always admired Mary Astor and John Barrymore. This movie is WONDERFUL!!!! I absolutely love it. The chemistry between Claudette Colbert and Don Ameche is palpable. I had to look to see if they were romantically involved off screen. When he holds her in his arms and tells her that she "can't run from what started between them." I melted and then when she said that she would have waited to thank him. (After he asked her to stay at his place while he was out driving the taxi) it was pure FIRE!! I think that they have the best on-screen romance I have seen. John Barrymore was hilarious. I absolutely adore him in this movie. I am just so glad that "Baroness Czerny" realized that just because a man has money doesn't mean that he'll make you happy and I think that she could see that by the way that "Jacques Picot" constantly mentioned his mother. He was like a little boy in a man's body. I think that the ending was fabulous too because, she finally revealed her true feelings and Tibor Czerny let her pour her heart out all the while knowing that he was not going to "divorce" her. He had a scheming plan too. They were made for each other and at the end they walked to the marriage licensing office to make it official.

  • Midnight

    • Goetan
    • 12/17/13

    A smart, overlooked screwball comedy. Colbert is a penniless showgirl in Paris who poses as a Hungarian baroness; Ameche and Astor are solid, but Barrymore steals the show. The story is splendid with rich characters and dialogue. This is a witty, quintessential Paramount film. I give it a 4/5.

  • The best screwball comedy of all time!

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 8/12/11

    You'd be hard-pressed to find any flaws with this classic gem. Claudette Colbert is in top comedic form as the independant and adorable Eve Peabody who finds herself propelled from one unexpected twist to another in the City of Lights. This movie is charming, unpredictable, and oh so funny! Don Ameche is also great as the equally stubborn cabbie and love interest, and John Barrymore is a riot as Eve's well-to-do "fairy godmother." The scene where Colbert and Ameche engage in bluff and counter-bluff at the estate is priceless, and Barrymore tops them all with one word: "Da-da!" If you're trying to introduce someone you know to classic films, this is the one to do it with. It is fresh and modern and just plain fun. The unfortunate thing about this film is that it is underrated and often goes unnoticed, probably because its title "Midnight" just doesn't capture its sense of humor and fun. Perhaps a more catchy title like "The Cinderella Syndrome" or "The Pumpkin Hour" might have made it stand out better. Regardless, "Midnight" deserves to be watched ... and re-watched!

  • Midnight: A hilarious light comedy

    • Andy Alburger
    • 8/4/11

    Whoever loves screwball comedies will absolutely adore this film. Midnight is a very funny light screwball which never takes itself too serious. Claudette Colbert, Don Ameche and John Barrymore stars in this laugh-out-loud comedy about penniless showgirl Eve Peabody (Colbert), who in Paris, poses as a Hungarian countess, with the help of rich aristocrat Georges Flammarion (Barrymore). But can she stop herself from falling in love with yet another poor man (Ameche). In Midnight, there's humor throughout. If you're ever confused and questioning a part, this film doesn't let you ling on to that thought to long. The acting is fantastic from all the cast members, also including Francis Lederer and Mary Astor. But Colbert is by far the best. She charms and perfects her role and I couldn't think of anyone better for her role. The directing from Mitchell Leisen is great, but it's the Billy Wilder and Charles Brackett screenplay that really has you laughing. It's filled with many hilarious jokes and situations you'll remember. Another terrific 1939 movie I've seen. Midnight is an excellent comedy!

  • Midnight

    • Mark Sutch
    • 4/14/11

    ****

  • Um filme divertido

    • Sonia
    • 11/1/10

    Um filme incrivelmente divertido, suave e com a Claudette Colbert sempre vale a pena assisitir. timo filme.

  • Midnight (1939)

    • James Higgins
    • 11/27/09

    Incredibly funny comedy with a superb cast, everyone is great, right down to the smallest roles. Claudette Colbert is outstanding but it's John Barrymore that steals the show. A real gem of a classic, comedies this good are rare.

  • Barbara Stanwyck as Mme Czerny

    • Jarrod McDonald
    • 8/18/09

    I read that Stanwyck was supposed to play the lead but a scheduling conflict prevented it. She got her chance to do a similar con artist role in the screwball classic 'The Lady Eve' a few years later. Still, I can't help but think how Stanwyck would've done the scenes when Eve Peabody wakes up in the suite and finds all those clothes then receives the offer from Barrymore's character. That does seem like pure Barbara material to me. I think Claudette is good in the part and brings an air of sophistication to it, but she doesn't come across as hard-pressed as I think Stanwyck would've. Don Ameche is excellent and so is Mary Astor with a very good supporting performance. My favorite scene stealer is Hedda Hopper as the socialite, Stephanie. This film has so many great characters and the cast seems to be having such fun as the situations keep piling up and it gets more (plausibly) absurd. Monty Woolley is good in the final sequence, but I would've preferred seeing a final shot of the lovers as they got married.

  • A Classic Comedy

    • Carl Wood
    • 2/10/09

    From beginning to end, this is a captivating and hilarious film. The big pay off comes when Don Ameche's character arrives at the party - one of the great movie "pauses" ever!

  • Love it!!

    • Luci
    • 1/18/09

    I love this movie! It's so cute and funny, and Colbert and Ameche do a fabulous job. Can't wait for the remake! =)

  • CLASSIC SCREWBALL COMEDY

    • julie
    • 10/23/08

    My first encounter with MIDNIGHT was years ago. And until recently, I never saw it on TCM's program schedule. I missed the last viewing--work kept me late and I don't have a DVR. But I digress.MIDNIGHT is one of those rare screwball comedies that one must see. And it has the greats of that era--Barrymore, Colbert, Ameche to name a few. It's on a par with IT HAPPENED ONE NIGHT, MR. SMITH GOES TO WASHINGTON, MR. DEEDS COMES TO TOWN, THE LADY EVE, and that movie with James Cagney and Bette Davis...Runaway Bride? a real scream! I can't fathom just WHY Midnight hasn't been shown more often?And WHY are some of those other movies played again and again and again??!!!MIDNIGHT is a grand old fascinating comedy of which millions of today's moviegoers are being deprived.SHOW IT! SHOW IT! FOR HEAVEN'S SAKE S-H-O-W IT!!!!Yours truly, an avid movie buff

  • Where has this movie been??

    • JanT
    • 5/15/08

    This was great! I had never seen this before. I recorded it on my dvr, and didn't watch it for a week or so, I wasn't sure I was even going to, then one night, I couldn't sleep so I turned it on! I love this movie! John Barrymore was my favorite character. It is full of wonderful actors and it is just an adorable movie. I can't believe it is not shown more often...

  • enchanting

    • Leon
    • 4/22/08

    The movie was entertaining. It was a delight to watch. The humor was cady and refreshing. It is nice to see these types of movies.

  • Love those situation comedies.

    • Carmen
    • 9/28/07

    I really enjoyed this movie. I saw it by accident when I could not sleep one night. I laughed to hard, I still could not sleep just thinking about it. What a fun adventure. Story is good.

  • Wonderful storyline

    • polivepea
    • 5/27/06

    It's love pure and simple but they are to pig headed to see it at the same time. You want to love someone but at the same time you don't want to hold them back. It also helps an already married couple in a hilarious way. I really want this movie to be on dvd. She is one of my favorita acters. I also fell in love with Don in theis movie too. HE is also great!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.