skip navigation
The Member of the Wedding

The Member of the Wedding(1953)

Contribute

FOR The Member of the Wedding (1953) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

The Member of... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • MY REVIEW

    • LIZ
    • 8/24/14

    AS FAR AS I'M CONCERNED, THE MOVIE MADE NO SENSE. AND I DIDN'T LIKE THE WAY IT ENDED...

  • "My 2 cents"

    • Julianne Stark
    • 9/23/13

    I've seen "Member of the Wedding" before and I loved it. Watching it again today, I really love the uncontainable and raw energy portrayed so well by Julie Harris' in the role as Frankie. And Ms. Waters performance has so much passion and a strength that shines through. Emotional, real, and just a fabulous film! I wonder if someone has or will do this on broadway again, and what actors could fill their shoes? Food for thought. Thank you TCM for being here for us to see all the wonderful films of the past.

  • The Member of the Wedding

    • Ann jasper
    • 1/25/12

    One of the most memorable films I have ever seen, and that was about fifty years ago. Now I want to buy it on DVD for each of my five children and 12 grandchildren, as well as friends. Please someone, make this possible. Put it on DVD

  • Member of the Wedding -- early version

    • Diane
    • 1/25/11

    This is one of the best things ever put on film -- why oh why is this not available to buy on dvd????!!!!

  • WoW!

    • Rocks
    • 7/10/10

    Loved this movie! Read the book,and the film is very faithful to it. It express all the emotions a young teenage girl goes through at !3yrs old (amazing that Julie Harris was 25 at the time!) Ethel Waters shines,and Brandon De Wilde breaks your heart...A cinematic treasure!!

  • Profoundly captivating

    • Pat
    • 2/10/10

    I think this is one of the great films of all times, not only in the acting and the interplay between the characters, but for its insightful script and its depiction of societal issues of that period that were far more complex than is often depicted. PLEASE air this film again soon.

  • A Member of Something Great

    • Jarrod McDonald
    • 1/22/10

    I've seen the first part of this film so many times, but I never made it to the end of it till today. I'm glad I finally took the time and had the patience to sit through it. The actors are wonderful in it. The story is fairly basic, and it reflects the time in which it was made. But the themes (coming of age, loneliness, the fragility of life) are timeless. I especially love how the story has a neat, but not-so-tidy, resolution. We know these three spent an important portion of their lives together, but we also know it's over and they will never know each other again, except in memories. It's very poignant and gives the viewer plenty to ponder.

  • Riveting performances

    • Nelsa
    • 2/28/08

    This film mesmerized me. The performances of both Ms. Harris and Ms. Waters are so intense I felt I was in the room with them. This film gives us an intimate look into the minds of a young girl and her black housekeeper, both of whom live in turmoil and suffer greatly from loneliness. Who, even in this day and age, can't relate to that? Excellent film.

  • on dvd a plus

    • cynthia b.f.
    • 12/9/07

    this movie on dvd is important --- i see this movie along the same lines as to kill a mockingbird ,, a true learning experience ....

  • DVD

    • Susan
    • 10/13/07

    I would love to see this movie on the list of requests for DVD!

  • Superb

    • Barry Phillips
    • 3/10/06

    An excellent play realized fully on the screen, with almost embarrassingly naked performances by Ms. Waters, Mr. de Wilde and startlingly so from Ms. Harris.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.