skip navigation
The Mask of Dimitrios

The Mask of Dimitrios(1944)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

The Mask of... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • A Coffin for Demitrios

    • Toz
    • 7/6/14

    Just read the book...no wonder Alan Furst praises Eric Anbler...both great at their craft!

    • 12/30/13

  • The Mask of Dimitrios (1944)

    • Bernard M. Fabrizi
    • 7/29/13

    Now this is a true classic! One of Lorre and Greenstreet's best pictures. The film is quite faithful to the novel by Eric Ambler (which I also recommend) and is suspenseful, mysterious, and quite frankly one of the best. TCM should definitely show this more often!

  • The Mask of DIMITRIOS (1944)

    • Travis Black
    • 7/20/13

    I am a HUGE fan of Horror and Mystery/Suspence and Thriller films. Very atmosperic Thriller!

  • The Mask of Dimitrios DVD

    • Z. Dutkiiewicz
    • 5/24/13

    Warner Bros has released The Mask of Dimitrios on DVD, May 21, 2013.

  • Great Movie, Great Cast

    • Muriel
    • 11/12/12

    Lorre! Greenstreet! Zachary Scott! Florence Bates! I can't miss a movie with a cast like that. Very atmospheric, abounds with interesting characters. The novel is fascinating too, don't miss that either.

  • usual suspects

    • yakata
    • 6/12/12

    reminds me of- with a few what ifs

  • Delectable Noir

    • MJ Blais
    • 6/12/12

    I watch noir for the fascinating glimpse it gives into the time shortly before I was born, right around the end of WW II -- a shadow world where nobody is who they seem to be because the world has been stood on its head. Familiar and yet completely foreign. This is absolutely one of those. We see Demetrios come and go, dead, not dead, hated, loved...like Peter Lorre's novelist, we're completely unsure who is behind the mask. The sets, the lighting, everything so vivid you can almost feel the dust accumulate on your skin. Well, I think I've hit about every cliche there is about noir, but that shouldn't reflect on "Demetrios"... I really do like this film and hope it comes out on DVD soon. Thanks, TCM!

  • Pleasant potboiler

    • Emgee
    • 1/3/11

    This spy story seems mainly to have been made to team up Lorre and Greenstreet again. They are the main attraction in this otherwise pretty standard but well made crime movie.Too bad the main villain is played so blandly, and the surprise ending must have been predictable even then. Otherwise a quite enjoyable afternoon movie.

  • Lorre has his merits

    • nm
    • 3/10/09

    Had never seen this film before. What made the film so intriquing for me was seeing Peter Lorre (who usually plays such oddballs) in the lead as a rather likeable, intelligent, nice guy.

  • Excellent noir.

    • c l remstad
    • 8/15/08

    Shadowy intrigue, eery lighting, twisted camera angles, superb acting (just this side of camp). The plot is a bit thin, but who cares. This is one BAD movie where big stars don't get in the way of the usual suspects that made movies great.

  • A noir tour de force from Negulesco

    • alan melzak
    • 4/25/07

    A totally absorbing movie with fine performances from the cast.

  • The Mask of Dimitrious

    • Wendy Winkler
    • 3/18/06

    Sydney Greenstreet and Peter Lorre make a great team in the Mask of Dimitrious. It is great to have Turner Classic movies to see great character actors like Greenstreet.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.