skip navigation
Mary Mary

Mary Mary(1963)

  • Thursday, January 22 @ 03:45 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Mary Mary A man on the verge of divorce... MORE > $17.99 Regularly $17.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • They Don't All Have to be Classics

    • BlueSam
    • 7/17/12

    I think movie maniacs like me appreciate movies like this, because we want to go beyond the so-called classics. I love movies - especially the near-misses. Debbie Reynolds certainly knows comedy, and Barry Nelson is especially funny when he borders on near-hysteria, waving his arms, ranting.It walks that fine line between photographing a play, or opening it up, and it errs on the side of not opening it up enough. But really, do we need to see people in cabs, or standing in front of elevators, or running up and down staircases, or streets?The set designer gives us a good sense of place - we can relax and settle into the attractive apartment, having seen almost all of its rooms and window views. The dated references, I think, give this movie its charm. When Reynolds and Nelson share the joke about the late-night announcer broadcasting live, and saying, "Ah, that's coffee!" is dated, but who cares? Must everything being relevant to current culture to matter? Will people watch movies 400 years from now and say, "I can't relate to people having to speak on a telephone - destroy that movie!"?It's a time capsule that requires a little thinking. One wonders what is wrong with younger Mary wearing a polo coat until one realizes that this was "code" for a bright young woman unconcerned with appearances. And that being unconcerned with appearances was code for being bright.I love this movie. It's great to see Debbie Reynolds try something different, and I think Barry Nelson is hilarious.

  • Thank you, TCM, thank you!

    • Kathleen
    • 8/20/11

    Many, many thanks for showing Mary, Mary with the wonderful Debbie Reynolds. And, the colored lights go 'round.

  • Mary Mary is Quite Contrary!

    • Chris B.
    • 8/19/11

    Debbie Reynolds has over emoted and over acted in the stage play that was, at one time, marvelous. She just over-does everything in this film. I'm not a Barry Nelson fan by any stretch of the imagination and this film is as outdated as he is, but I am a Debbie Reynolds fan. I think they could have done something to make the film a bit funnier, a bit less stagey and more believable. You can almost hear them pausing for applause here and there. See it once but repeats will be twice too often.

  • Mary Mary (1963)

    • Henriette
    • 4/2/11

    I returned home after 10:00 p.m. last night tuned in to TCM (one of my favorite stations) and watched "Mary Mary" which was in progress. The premise is amusing, the lines witty, and the delivery and presentation more like a play than a movie. Not having had the opportunity to see this work when it was a long running play on Broadway I rather enjoyed this presentation. Unfortunatedly I missed a large portion of the movie, and I noticed that TCM has not listed a future airing. As a devoted viewer, and on behalf of the many others of your viewers who enjoy and appreciate this movie, would you show "Mary Mary" again soon. Please.

  • Meryvn LeRoy's Comedic Mary Mary

    • David Atkins
    • 2/1/11

    Meryvn LeRoy honored Director and favored by WB studio mogulJack L Warner took the hit Broadway play and filmed it with style and professionalism. LeRoy made films as strong as I Am A Fugitive From A Chain Gang to this fluff Mary Mary. In his book LeRoy wanted to cast Barbara Bel Geddes who starred in the Broadway play but JL Warner must have wanted assured box office clout and offered the part to Ms. Reynolds who in her book said Debbie herself had misgivings about the movie. Co starring Barry Nelson and Michael Rennie, WB also cast lovely Diane McBain, a WB Contract star who is lovely as Tiffany.Warners was a studio that had a habit of filming Broadway plays:My Fair Lady, Camelot, The Music Man, Gypsy, Mame,No Time For Sergeants, A Majority of One etc.

  • Divorce Survival

    • Rhonda
    • 7/25/09

    I've always adored this movie. It depicts a reasonably civil separation between a couple and quite funny. I would love to see this movie released for purchase; I've been waiting for 20 years to get a video or DVD. Although the first time I saw it was on television back in the late 60s. I'd love to see it again on TCM, soon. There weren't many films made that follow the play so well or produce a film as if it were a play, unique.

  • Great Movie

    • williamny
    • 5/26/09

    This is one of the best movies I've ever seen. The screenplay is spectacularly well written, and every bit as good as the best Neil Simon screenplay. The cast is perfect for the movie, and the acting is exceptional. Do yourself a HUGE HUGE FAVOR, and watch this movie!!!!!!!

  • Mary, Mary should be released on video.

    • Joanne
    • 3/31/09

    I saw the movie, "Mary, Mary" on television many years ago and just loved the dialogue between the two main characters,Debbie Reynolds and Barry Nelson. It has not been shown in a very long time and its release on video is long overdue. Please release it so others can enjoy this refreshing movie which develops its characters without ever leaving their apartment.

  • Funny Funny

    • Mary Perkins
    • 2/1/08

    I love this movie! PLEASE put it on DVD. Debbie Reynolds is overblown in her delivery, but this is forgivable considering the whole. Her cry of, "Ears!" about the apricots is priceless. The dialog is fast, witty and very funny. I highly, highly recommend this movie.

  • Great Dialog!

    • Maria Kos
    • 1/7/08

    I would love to see this movie again but I cannot find it on a dvd. Wonderful and funny!

  • Near-perfect Broadway transfer

    • John Esche
    • 12/14/07

    Tacking Debbie Reynolds onto the repeating members of the Broadway Cast in this delightful "boulevard comedy" turned out to be genius as Reynolds turned out to be a genius mimic who, intentionally or not, preserved every vocal mannerism and gesture of Barbara Bel Geddes' superb stage original. Jean Kerr's sprightly and above all intelligent original script has been beautifully preserved as well. In the 40 years since, the *best* TV sitcom writing has emulated Kerr's pitch perfect style. It's nothing short of tragic we don't see the original screened more often - or out on DVD.

  • Mary, Mary (1963) a really funny film

    • Pat Gibson
    • 11/5/07

    I love this Debbie Reynolds and Barry Nelson film! When Barry phones Mary from the living room to the bedroom and she comes racing out with the phone in her hand and sees he really is phoning her, she steps back in the bedroom to continue talking to him. Michael Rennie is very self-deprecating as the aging actor who just wants to be able to age gracefully. A great comedy, with really witty lines, and such a great portrait of a relationship gone awry.

  • Mmmm, that's real coffee!

    • Kathleen
    • 10/9/07

    Oh, how I wish TCM had this film and could show it. Wonderful acting, wonderful and clever lines/dialogue. Debbie, as always, is adorable!

  • Where oh Where is Mary, Mary?

    • Dee
    • 9/15/07

    Here is another film not seen since the pre-cable days. I found it a lot of fun as Debbie Reynolds and Barry Nelson trade barbs back and forth. The script is witty and faithfully based on a popular stage play. I would love to see it again.

  • Best Stage to Film I've ever seen.

    • Douglas Kleinhans
    • 8/7/07

    I have never seen a better transfer of stage to film. They had enough sense to leave a great script alone and just present it with very talented performers.

  • Horray!!! I finally found it!!!!

    • Charlotte Muroski
    • 4/15/07

    Best movie, laughed so hard almost got expelled from building

  • MARY MARY

    • Robert Dunbar
    • 3/29/07

    This movie has become something of a cause -- a forgotten (lost?) classic. Once the most famous play on Broadway -- and the longest running comedy of its time -- this delightful film version hasn't been seen in decades. What gives?

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.