skip navigation
Marty

Marty(1955)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Marty A lonely butcher finds love... MORE > $19.95 Regularly $19.95 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Drew Barrymore

    • Rin Hartman
    • 8/24/14

    I watched Marty for about the 3rd time and thanks to the comments by Drew Barrymore, the movie had more meaning this time because I watched for Ernest Borgnines 'closed eyes' in the some of the scenes. It's always a pleasure to watch and listen to Drew and Robert's The Essentials on saturday evenings.

  • Why is Drew Barrymore even on this show?

    • DAVID BURNS
    • 3/9/14

    Marty was a classic with either Rod Steiger or Ernie. But who hired that dimwit valley girl to speak over Mr. Osborne?He defecates more knowledge about movies than she ever knew.She keeps repeating the same words over and over. I am sure thesewords were written for her. Baldwin was such a pleasure to watch andlisten to. Last night they were discussing Burt Lancaster. Has she evenseen 5 of his movies? Go ahead, name them? She is obviously challengedin mind and speech. Whomever decided to hire that numbskull should belocked in an elevator with Drew for 24 hours. I am sure only one personwould be alive at the end.

  • Good Black and White movie to watch.

    • Maureen
    • 3/5/14

    An emotional gripping movie to watch at least once. It is a movie about loneliness and searching for love.

  • Classic

    • Mhmama
    • 9/2/12

    Ernest Borgnine won an oscar for this film and it was one of the few oscars, I agreed with. I loved his ability to go from "From here to Eternity" and playing cruel Fatso Judson to playing a loveable butcher. He showed his true talent and flexability. It is one of those movies that you can't watch just once. It is by all standards a "classic" that needs to be watched over and over again.

  • Heartwarming...... I love it!

    • flarican64
    • 7/27/12

    I just watch this movie last night for the first time and it will be added to the "can watch all the time w/o getting sick of it" movie list. I love Ernest B in this movie, I feel his pain since I am going through those lonely days myself....

  • THE WAITING WAS WORTH IT!

    • Michael Steven
    • 7/27/12

    I had known of this film,for MANY years,& ignored it.SHOWS YOU WHAT I DON'T KNOW! A VERY touching film,indeed.Only part I wasn't crazy about was the timing of the ending.I wanted to see Marty & Clara's relationship progress.But that's O.K.To seeing Ernest Borgnine go from being a heavy,to being a real caring & sensitive gentleman,was a joy.The entire cast gave a GREAT performance.In 1955,Ernest Borgnine was up against some real heavyweights,for Best Actor,& WON!GOOD FOR HIM.He lived a very long life,& didn't end up as a bitter man.I had the pleasure of coming across Mr.Borgnine in 2003,here in Las Vegas.The end result was hilarious!That laugh!The old phrase,"WE WON'T SEE HIS TYPE AGAIN",is very apparent here.To the best of my knowledge,NOBODY ever really had a bad word for & or about this man.Read his book,you'll get a kick out of it.The next time TCM shows this film,DON'T MISS IT.If you've NEVER seen this film before,DON'T MISS IT.The waiting is worth it.

  • "Loaded with tomatoes"

    • Jeff Boston
    • 7/26/12

    The older I get, the more I like "Marty." Adult fare about a man who looks less than fair who is treated less than fairly by his mother and best friend after he gets a fair shot at love. No one wants to be lonely. Beautiful work by Borgnine.

  • Marty

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 5/6/12

    A touching film that won '55's Best Picture "Oscar." Borgine gives an Academy Award- winning performance as a lonely butcher who finds a soul mate in Blair, against the opposition of Mantell, both of whom earned nominations for their supporting work. Chayefsky's touching story & Mann's direction are a great combination. A great film with a few dull moments. I give it a 4/5.

  • A fine performance and romance from Borgnine.

    • Kevin Butler
    • 1/22/12

    In this big screen adaptation of Cheifsky's teleplay..Ernest Borgnine gives a warm and charmingperformance as the lonely butcher.Who is hesitant about falling in love..until he meets a not sopretty but caring and understanding girl.Who makes him feel that love is possible.Borgnine'srole here is more realistic and not as dogmatic as Steiger's.The other cast members also givessome memorable dramatic turns and the script by Cheifsky himself..and the film of the movieon location in mid 1950's Bronx,NYC..adds a genuine charm and unique look to this wonderfulstory.

  • wonderful movie... horrible product

    • 4u
    • 8/24/11

    There are 4 minutes cut from this version on DVD. While some might say they don't detract from the overall move, it is a disgrace and disrespectful of fans to issue a movie in a crippled form. If you've seen the full version when it is broadcast you'll ask yourself why the 4 minutes was cut. Shame on whoever made this decision. It certainly wasn't because the length was too long for a DVD. I wish someone from MGM would post here explaining the thought process used to eliminate a very touching part of this movie. No way would I ever buy this version. If your computer is able to play iTune movies, go there... they are renting and selling the intact version.Shame on you MGM. And SHAME on you TCM for selling this version when the other is obviously available via iTunes.

  • Merty

    • Morgan
    • 12/11/10

    I love this movie so very much and I watch it all the time..I happen to come across it on netflix and to my surprise the was a scene in it that was not in my box movie I bought..I was wondering if anyone can tell me where I might be able to get that version. Thank You AMartyLover :)

  • Disc is incomplete

    • deg
    • 8/16/10

    I bought the disc, but it is not the full version. The disc has cut the scene where she talks to her parents after the date. This scene is in all the on air versions I've seen, but not on the disc.

  • BUY IT! BUY IT! BUY IT! YOU WON'T BE SORRY!

    • JEN J. from Philly
    • 6/3/10

    I watch this movie every time it comes on so I am buying a copy today. I love it! It's Borgnine at his best! He did a fabulous job as Marty! I watch him and see that he's putting everything into his performance but at the same time it seems effortless and natural. He just IS Marty. It's great. When my copy comes I'm going to show it to all my friends bacause i know they'll love it too. BUY IT! BUY IT! BUY IT! YOU WON'T BE SORRY!

  • Oscar Irony

    • Bruce Reber
    • 4/12/10

    Ernest Borgnine competed against Spencer Tracy for the Best Actor Oscar in 1955 - Borgnine for his marvelous performance in "Marty", and Tracy for his equally great performance in "Bad Day At Black Rock". Borgnine won the award for his role as shy Bronx butcher Marty Piletti over Tracy, with whom he had starred in "Bad Day" as trouble making bully Coley Trimble opposite Tracy's one-armed WW2 vet John J. MacReedy (remember the scene where Coley gets karate-chopped by MacReedy in the diner?). Both of their performances were excellent, and though these were two different characters in two different films, if I were an Academy voter at that time it would have been hard for me to decide between Borgnine and Tracy.

  • Marty

    • Bonnie
    • 4/12/10

    I loved this movie.great plot, great drama and great acting.

  • ONE OF THE GREAT ONES!!!!

    • Noreen
    • 11/19/09

    I have literally watched this movie over 100 times and each time is like the first.Superb acting and story. Being and Italian-American, I can identify with alot of it. I only wish that they had made a sequel. Too bad - Betsey Blair passed away recently.A MUST SEE! Totally deserved its OSCAR!!!

  • GREAT movie

    • Mick
    • 5/11/08

    Just watched "Marty" for the first time this weekend. Boy, what a wonderful movie. I saw a lot of myself and my old "gang" in Marty and his pals. "So whaddya wanna do tonight?" If I had a dollar for every time I heard that! "Marty" has a lot of heart; I defy anyone to watch this movie and not alternately laugh, cry, cringe and jump outta your chair and cheer at the final scene. As true-to-life as any film you'll ever see. I can't say enough about it.

  • A Reminiscence of my Past

    • Dan
    • 7/6/07

    Ernest Borgnine wins an oscar for this extraordinary film. It reminds me of my younger years hanging around friends talking small talk and trying to decide what to do on a Saturday night... Wow, this film rekindles my past like no other-- I watched this 6 or 7 times and never tire of it... .

  • My All-Time Favorite Movie

    • Leigh Cox
    • 3/25/07

    I saw this film for the first time as a teenager, and for some reason it stayed with me. This is my all-time favorite movie. I am not sure why, but I really empathize with the characters, who are shy, socially-awkward and lonely. You are very glad they find each other. The characters are so real that every time I watch "Marty" I find myself speculating afterward about what happens to them. (I promise you I am not a crazy person!) An additional great aspect of this movie is the subtle, quiet humor. Watch for the scene between the two older Italian sisters (Marty's mother and aunt) and also the storytelling scene in a bar between two Irish women. The Paddy Chayefsky screenplay is classic.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.