skip navigation
The Mark of Zorro

The Mark of Zorro(1940)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Mark of Zorro A Spanish nobleman becomes a... MORE > $14.98 Regularly $14.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • The Definitive Zorro

    • Dee2
    • 1/25/14

    Combining the boldest adventure, the most charming senoritas and the most dastardly baddies, this is the best of the Zorro films. Tyrone Power gives a fine performance, one of his best, both funny and assured as Diego and Zorro. The great Basil Rathbone is terrific as his enemy. Movie history is made with these two antognists facing off in a justifiably famous swordfight that someone rightly termed a deadly, graceful 'dance of death.' Director Mamoulian lavished all with beautiful golden-age Hollywood production values. It's unbeatable movie making from a time when black and white was all the color true cinematic artists needed. Featuring lovely Linda Darnell as the charming love interest, all are supported by a cast of great character actors. A signature role for cinema superstar Tyrone Power. Here he is for the first time as the true swashbuckling adventurer. This movie is really a treat.

  • A Classic

    • dcb
    • 8/2/13

    Talented handsome charismatic, Tyrone Power gave a great comedic and athletic performance as Diego /Zorro. Great character actors Gale Sondegaard and Basil Rathbone provide the spice as the films heavies. Luxurious black and white photography. Richly deserves to be on the Library of Congress' National Film Archive list. Don't miss seeing this great classic movie.

  • Baz Is Mine,He's Sizzling Here

    • CeilCanHaveTy
    • 6/12/13

    Such a great villain.Suggestive dialogue.Hope Baz wasn't too badly hurt with all the slashing.If I were Lolita,I'd go for Esteban,even if he's not her generation.

  • Zanuck!

    • GreatVillains
    • 6/5/13

    Baz,we love you!You are this picture.How could Richard Greene outshine Ty,or possibly

  • Basil We Love Ya

    • Horsemanknownaszorro
    • 5/3/13

    I watch for Rathbone's scenes.He is the master,could care about corny dialogue,but he is THE MAN!Master fencer,gorgeous hunk of man,truly great antagonist to Ty.

  • The REAL Zorro!

    • RedRain
    • 3/16/13

    You simply cannot watch all the Zorro iterations and then not believe Tyrone Power is the one and only Zorro. He is fantastic in this film! You will also see exceptional sword fighting between Power and Basil Rathbone (an excellent fencer in his own right.) There is a deftness that they use that is not the power exhibited by Errol Flynn but, instead, deadly grace. Their duel is considered the finest one in all of cinema and it is worth watching this film for this one scene. Linda Darnell is not seen often enough and she was at her most beautiful in this film. I really liked Gale Sondergaard here. She was flirtatious and coy as the Alcalde's wife, even at the end. I do appreciate character actors and there are few better than Eugene Pallette who plays the trusted friar in this film. You want swashbuckling and great scenery? See this Zorro!

  • "The Mark of Zorro"

    • Asbury J. Steen III
    • 1/26/13

    This was one of my favorites. I always watch his movies. I never got tired of watching this movieand I like Linda Darnell too. I rate this one 5(*****). ..

  • The Mark of Zorro

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 6/2/12

    After Fairbanks & before Banderas, Power perfectly embodies the Spanish hero. His performance is good enough to view this film, Darnell is enchanting as Power's love- interest. Alfred Newman's score & the perfectly recreated period Los Angeles is superb. A fine entertainment film & one that's too frquently underated. I give it a 4/5.

  • THE SCREEN'S BEST ZORRO!

    • alexander perez
    • 8/8/11

    this was the first classic Swashbuckler film i had ever seen, and it pretty much captured my imagination. to see the dashing Tyrone Power fighting off a hundred troops with fierce Swordplay, have Basil Rathbone shish kebab-ed through his rapier after one of cinema's greatest sword duels, and balancing the action adventure factor with glamourous romance with the angelic Linda Darnell. complete with Alfred Newman's lusty score, the film is way better than THE MASK OF ZORRO, and a true classic of 20th century fox and cinema!

  • A Long Time Favorite

    • Rick
    • 3/23/09

    This film contains one of the greatest sword fights ever filmed

  • A TRUE FAMILY CLASSIC

    • MIKE
    • 8/2/08

    Let's not forget about Linda Darnell and Basil Rathbone. She was probably never more beautiful and basil was never more dastardly. have been periodically watching this flick for nearly 45 years.

  • Better than Mask of Zorro

    • Rick
    • 4/14/08

    I agree with another reviewer, it is one of the best movies ever. It is most definitely a LOT better than the Mask of Zorro with Antonio Banderras and Linda Darnell is more beautiful the Katharyn Zeta Jones too!!!

  • My favorite!!

    • Ceil
    • 11/16/06

    This is one of the best movies I ever saw. Tyrone Powers is great! I can see why he was considered a leading man. He's mine. DO NOT MISS THIS MOVIE!!!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.