skip navigation
Mark of the Vampire

Mark of the Vampire(1935)

  • Friday, October 31 @ 07:00 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Mark of the Vampire Vampires seem to be connected... MORE > $39.98 Regularly $39.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Surprisingly cool.

    • Michelle
    • 10/20/13

    I thought I was watching a true old horror movie, until the end! I want to watch it again to see if I missed anything. Love Lionel Barrymore and Bela Lugosi!

  • THE best with a twist

    • Ed "L"
    • 4/17/13

    The storyline, characters, actors portrayals, and the EXCELLENT work of the actors themselves make this movie MY personal favorite. The cemetery and crypt scenes, with the howling in the background, make for THE most haunting scene in classic horror film. If you are a Bela fan or a classic horror fan then do yourself a favor and get this film. There is one small failing. The movie is only an hour long. It DOES move along well and very quickly from scene to scene. The plot leads to an ending you do NOT expect. That is the frosting on what is a very well 'baked' cake.

  • Just off the Mark

    • Oliver Cutshaw
    • 10/4/12

    I wish I liked this movie more. Tod Browning is a wonderful and challenging director (Dracula, Freaks). Add to this Lugosi, Barrymore, and Atwill. What a team! And Carol Borland as Luna. Stunning is the word. She just stares and she has one line and yet she steals the picture. Despite all these elements the picture leaves the viewer with a sense of disappointment. This film could have been so much better. There was an odd subplot about the Luna character and the Lugosi character, that was not filmed. Another of these 30's films where they seem to have gotten worried about the censors and the shooting schedule and seem to say let's wrap it up.Everytime I see the movie I love the first half and then whoosh like a bat's wings it takes off. Silly forced conclusion, obviously referencing the lost London After Midnight. The ending is odd, and hokey to say the least. Still the film is worth a view for any classic horror movie fan.

  • Glorious FUN!

    • RedRain
    • 10/4/12

    This has all the traditional horror flick shtick - the bat flying through the open windows of a mansion, the beautiful girl with the two bites on her neck, her lover with bites on his neck, the vampire lurking through the night and then retiring to his coffin, the omnipresent doctor who is familiar with vampires and how to kill them. Naturally, if it's a real vampire film, the inimitable Bela Lugosi has to be present and his eyes mesmerize you. You just have to watch this particular film and dare not leave in the final ten minutes. I'm so pleased nobody has revealed the ending in their comments because it will absolutely stun you! In many ways, this is the best of the best horror films. Bela Lugosi was furious at the ending, as he wanted to be known for pure horror films. The ending will reveal why he was so angry! Have fun!

  • Watch the First 45 minutes, (1935)

    • nshepard
    • 10/3/12

    MGM's solo entry into the world of vampires with Bela Lugosi heading an all-star cast. Terrific actors, Lugosi, Atwill ,Barrymore, Hersholt, Allen ! Great sets ! Browning directs. Are vampires commiting muders ? Could be...Czechoslovakia is the place to be or not... With the murder of Sir Karell Borotyn , inspector Neuman(Lionel Atwill) and Professor Zelin(Lionel Barrymore) set out to find the killer/s. Well that set up is Great, until we get to the sell out ending...I will stop there. The first 45 minutes are top notch, then you are on your own because it gets really DUMB.2.5 STARS OUT OF 5.

  • Creepy

    • Creepy and Kookie
    • 6/7/12

    Strange,but entertaining.First viewing left me wondering what sclock is this.

  • Lugosi Is The Best

    • James
    • 10/24/09

    ..This little gem will throw you off balance if you go grab a sandwich,and lose track of whats going on for a few minutes,it will leave you scratching your head.I dont want to give it away but,man I think it was great how this movie changes paces,when you least expect it.Bela Lugosi,is the best. He knows how to play a Vampire better than anyone ever has.That,stare of his will send shivers through you.To me he will always be Dracula,he is called Count Mora in this film,But to me he will only be Dracula.Luna his female counterpart is beautifully dead and scary.See This Gem..

  • "Vampire" Hits the "Mark!"

    • Joe Waz
    • 8/24/08

    A little bit hard to follow at first, but the cinematography and the direction by the Great, Tod Browning elevate this film above most of the horror movies of it's time. It's a shame that Lugosi was given so little screen time (and merely a supporting player-billing), but he definately makes the most of it, and his speech at the very end is only fitting for the man and his career. Indeed, he was "greater than any REAL Vampire!" "Mark of the Vampire" is a terrific horror film. I'm still wishing that "London After Midnight" shows up soon.

  • bela rules

    • curt solash
    • 2/1/07

    any fan of horror or bela the great will feel his blood turn to ice water at the sight of an angry bela in several of the scenes. nobody can frighten with one look like the master!!

  • My favorite type of movie!

    • Norma Kosse
    • 5/24/06

    I love these old horror films. The elegance, earnestness and overacting of the period hook me from the beginning.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.