skip navigation
Margie

Margie(1946)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Margie - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • So nostalgic and sweet

    • andy
    • 8/21/14

    I love the movie, the color, the nostalgia, the sets, dresses, the music. I love this movie. Two of my all time favorite movies with Jeanne Crain is Margie and Pinky. Worlds apart but I love them both. Please show them more often. Even the young girls of today could learn something from this film in how to shield your heart from puppy love and to be patient. It just might win out!

  • MARGIE

    • Sarah
    • 7/31/14

    LOVE THIS MOVIE SO MUCH. A DEAR AUNT LET US BORROW HERS AS A CHILD. MY SISTER AND I FELL IN LOVE WITH JEANNE CRAIN'S CHARACTER MARGIE! WOULD LOVE TO BE ABLE TO BUY IT ON DVD AND SHARE THIS WITH MY DAUGHTER WHEN SHE IS OLD ENOUGH! GREAT CLASSIC WITTY MOVIE

  • Margie

    • Cheryl Neary
    • 12/3/13

    Margie is about a mother who tells her story about a pair of bloomers that are packed in her trunk in the attic. For some reason this was how she was able to tell her daughter about the meeting of her child's father. He was a teacher and she was a student. However, it was innocent encounters with him that seemed always end up with her bloomers falling down. The crush and the public encounters are so endearing and makes us remember our first crushes and how we fumble and stammer. Yet, the teacher kept his humor about him....Later, when they were no longer student/teacher, they fell in love and married. It is one of those happily ever after movies with old fashioned values. This movie was made in the 40's before I was born, but as a teenager I loved it with all my heart. In those days, it was a favorite movie played as often as other favorites as 'The Wizard of Oz! I miss those days of seeing Margie...It may have come on about twice a year!!! It has stayed with me in my heart as the movie of my life. One I desire to see!

  • Margie

    • Nancy Jimenez
    • 11/16/13

    Margie is my very favorite movie of all time.It was on years ago when I had a VCR and I did tape it but the poor tape is worn out.That was the only time I have seen it on tv until Turner Classics showed it a couple of years ago on Christmas Day.I was going through the schedule and I actually had to check to make sure I wasn't seeing things,that this was the actual "Margie" with Jeanne Crain that I have loved for years,and oh how I smiled when i saw it was.I remember telling my grown daughter that I could not believe that "Margie" was being shown after all these years of hoping.I did send an email to Turner classic telling them how much I appreciated them showing this movie after requesting it for such a long time,and that just to watch this wonderful,heartwarming and delightful movie was a joy and it just made my Christmas so special.And then they showed it again months back, and once again I was so pleased that I had the chance to watch it..Wont you please bring this wonderful classic back,please.I am not getting any younger and would like to have this wonderful movie while I am still around to enjoy it~That may sound funny but its absolutely true.I have been waiting for a very long time for my favorite movie "Margie".I wish so many others could have the opportunity of watching this wonderful classic,I think they would grow to love it as much as I do.PLEASE make this movie available .thank you so much~

  • A Gem

    • hermann
    • 8/27/13

    Eleven pages of user reviews! That says it right there. This movie is a MUST SEE for anyone who enjoys a little nostalgia. So... if you like any of these films: Meet Me In St. Louis, Life With Father, Heaven Can Wait, you have to see this one. Wonderful characterizations, wonderful comedy, wonderful music, and all done with such life and believableness. One of the few movies that I want to see over and over.

  • Margie - 1946

    • Janice Leos
    • 8/19/13

    I missed it again. Haven't seen it since I used to record it on VHS and that was many years ago.

  • Margie on again Thank You!!

    • L
    • 7/16/13

    Thank You for putting this back in rotation!!! Its about time!!! So Excited!!!

  • Margie

    • Kathy
    • 6/12/13

    My Mom shared this movie with me many years ago. I have a VHS tape but hoping it can be in DVD format soon. What a delightful story!

  • music

    • Robert Rivera
    • 5/19/13

    I especially loved the music. I would like to have the names of all the songs especially the ones played at the prom.

  • Margie

    • Linda
    • 5/16/13

    Jeannie Crain is darling in this, and the love of her father and grandmother concerning her love of a school teacher is charming. A lot of sweet and wholesome acting. Thanks TCM for putting it on!

  • Margie

    • Monica
    • 4/9/13

    One of my absolute favorite oldies. My two girls (ages 26 and 19) just love it and it is their favorite too; we watch it every year together. I have it on VHS but would love to have a DVD copy that is touched up with better quality.

  • Margie

    • Kris
    • 2/6/13

    I encourage everyone who would like to see Margie on DVD or Blu-ray to go to hometheaterforum.com & do a write in for Margie. They are taking votes on what to release next on Blu-ray from the 1930's through 1960's.

  • "Margie"

    • Susan
    • 2/2/13

    Please put this great movie on your schedule. It is a movie that should not be forgotten. Its a lovely lighthearted movie. I haven't seen it in years and would love to see it again. Thank you

  • Waiting to see "Margie"

    • Susan
    • 2/2/13

    I have missed the few showings of Margie that you have had. I haven't seen this movie in years but it is one of my favorites. I used to watch it when ever it was on when I was younger. Please put this great movie on your schedule in the near future. It is a movie that should always be shown. Thank you!

  • Time to Show Margie Again

    • Denise
    • 11/18/12

    It's that time of year again! Please show Margie. While you're at it Pinkie is a great movie too!Thanks!

  • Margie 1946

    • Kathy
    • 7/14/12

    I personally have been watching the movie Margiie since I was 10 years old and fell in love with the movie alond with the Ghost & Mrs. Muir.There is no reason why the movie cannot be put on DVD and watched by old & new fans. It is a classic and a special era in our history.

  • Margie

    • Sharon
    • 6/21/12

    One of the best movies I ever saw....heartwarming. Please release this title on DVD. I would love to own a copy to watch over & over.

  • "Margie" (1946)

    • Nancy Jimenez
    • 6/15/12

    I just sent an email but I am not sure if it got to the right place or not,I hope so,if not then I am sending this email also..I just wanted to say that the movie "Margie" is one of the most heartwarming,delightful,wonderful movies ever.It's the kind of movie that makes you smile,and thats a good thing.The first time I ever saw this movie I loved it and it became my favorite and still is today...Jeanne Crain does a wonderful job as Margie.TCM showed it last Christmas Eve and I was so very pleased to see it listed on the schedule.I hope that it will be shown again,but even better would be to see it come out on DVD.If I was so pleased and happy to see it on TCM last Christmas Eve,you can only imagine how very,very happy I would be to see it come out on DVD.And I just bet there would be a lot of people that would love to have this movie.

  • margie

    • suzanne
    • 3/11/12

    i would love to see this move. my mother and used to watch it every time it came on when i was a young girl. how i wanted to be her. please if there is anyway you can show it again i would love to see it and let my daughter watch it.just like i used to with my mother.

  • Margie with Jeanne Crain

    • Joan
    • 2/2/12

    I missed Margie on Christmas Eve because was busy with company. I have watched and waited for it all these years on TCM. I could have cried when I found out I missed it. Is there any chance you can show this wonderful movie again and again. I watch for it in the tv guide every Sunday, and now from the monthly list you send me.Please show it again and if possible let us know when.Thank you so much,jpk

  • Margie 1946

    • Linda Cucek
    • 1/14/12

    I saw this film when I was a young girl. I have searched for it all these years on DVD. I was very excited to watch it on TCM, I can't understand why it got misplaced... My husband watched it with me. After watching it he told me that he really enjoyed it too! This film is very charming. If you need a good laugh watch Margie! This is one of a kind movie! Thank you TCM for airing this movie on Christmas Eve. What a wonderful Christmas present.. I was in tears to see it again after all these years!

  • French Classroom scenes

    • Elaine
    • 1/7/12

    I just love this movie and wonder if anyone can remember if there were classroom scenes in the movie as I have seen movie lobby cards of the French class scenes on the internet but not in the movie. Does anyone know if there were other scenes in the original movie that were left out. I love the movie anyhow but it would add a little more depth and continuity in some parts of the movie if those scenes were really in the movie. but left out on the tv version. Thanks.

  • Margie

    • Diane
    • 1/6/12

    Thank you for finally airing this charming movie, I watched and recorded it to DVD. Hope one day to add the studio release to my collection. Thanks again.

  • margie

    • k.henry
    • 1/5/12

    thank you for airing margie. i saw this back in the 1970s or 1980s as a presentation of the sfm holidaynetwork & was totally charmed by it. i taped it on vhs; but it has long since worn out. i hope tcm will air this at least once or twice a year. i also hope it will come out on dvd. i would pre-order this . i nominate this to be a vault collection dvd. the whole film is charming and whimsical. the cast is great & includes jeanne crain as well as esther dale & hattie mcdaniel.

  • Margie

    • Yolanda
    • 1/3/12

    This was a wonderful movie. My husband, 14 yr. old daughter and 17 yr. old son watched this last night. We all loved it. It is a timeless story of innocence, first love, and a very sweet relationship between father and daughter. I am going to try to find this movie on DVD.

  • Margie(1946)

    • SYRA
    • 1/2/12

    I REALLY LOVE THIS MOVIE, I HAVE BEEN SEARCHING EVERYWHERE FOR THE DVD, TCM SHOULD PUT IT AVAILABLE ON DVD TO MANY CAN PURCHASE THIS BEAUTIFUL AND ROMANTIC STORY AND PUT IT ON TCM AVAILABLE TO BE SEEN FOR THE MONTH

  • A wonderful Film

    • Bree
    • 12/30/11

    I saw this film when I was a girl.I have searched for it on DVD.I was so excited to watch it on TCM.My husband watched it with me.After watching it he told me that he really enjoyed it.This film is very charming.If you need a good laugh watch Margie! I laugh every time I think of the cafeteria scene.

  • Margie

    • Denise
    • 12/29/11

    Thank-you so very much for showing this movie after I requested it. Margie is one of my all-time favorites, but my daughter watched it with me for the first time on Christmas Eve, and it became one of her favorites also. Now, if I could purchase it on DVD or Blu-Ray.

  • It brought back happy memories.

    • Betty
    • 12/28/11

    Thank-you for playing this old favorite movie thaqt I hadn't seen since I was a young girl. My favorite uncle took us to see that movie in Edmonton, Alberta and we just thought it was the best movie ever! Please, play it again. Is My Little Margie a TV series of this movie?

  • A LIttle Gem

    • Elise
    • 12/28/11

    I saw this movie a while ago and loved it. Such a charming little move! Was happy to see it was on TCM recently. I watched it with my sister who was also delighted with this film and simply stated at its end: "Adorable!"

  • PUT THIS ON DVD AND SHOW THIS MOVIE AGAIN!!!!

    • Laura
    • 12/26/11

    I love this movie and saw it for the first time the other day and just loved it! I would love to have a copy of it and/or see it again on TCM!

  • Margie

    • John
    • 12/26/11

    I saw the film margie for the first time this Christmas Eve. I thought it was a beautifull movie, I really loved it and would like to buy it. I'd Like to invite freinds over to watch it with me.

  • WONDERFUL CLASSIC

    • AMY
    • 12/26/11

    I love this movie, it is my all time favorite. I use to watch it when I was younger and then bought a VHS Tv taped version on Ebay a few years ago. I am hoping they will play it more and possibly even make it into a real DVD. It was such a treat to watch it with my own family Christmas Eve. I am only in my 30's, so I know that younger people can appreciate a good story line.

  • margie, please keep your promise to me

    • Michael
    • 12/26/11

    this is a great film. My daughter and I taped it and watched it over and over in the 1980 s. I hadn't seen it for 30 years, as we lost the old tape when we moved. Please show it again so i can record it again. The film has so many wonderful subtle moments that create layers of timeless nostalgia. It is a film that can be enjoyed again on each reviewing.

  • Margie

    • janie
    • 12/25/11

    My Mom's favorite movie from her teen years. What a treat to see you were showing it on Christmas Eve. Hope you show it again. The innocence was so refreshing. Even kept the attentention of the reality TV watchers in the house. Good Job!

  • A sort of film noir teenybopper film from Fox.

    • lcs
    • 12/25/11

    What fascinates me about this movie is the way it is lit. MGM would have used klieg lights everywhere on a Technicolor film, but 20th Century Fox created the perfect tone, emotion, ambiance and mood with the combination of soft color and shadows, especially in Margie's room. You are immersed into a kind of wistful Kodachrome dream of the 1920s with real people instead of caricatures. The location shooting was definitely not Illinois, with mountains in the background, but not Hollywood either. A great deal of pains were taken with this film, the dialog and casting, unusual for the subject matter, but it makes for an underrated classic.

  • Thank you TCM for showing "Margie"!!!!

    • Michele
    • 12/24/11

    Many, many thanks to those at TCM for not only showing "Margie", but for showing it on Christmas Eve. When I saw it on the schedule for tonight, I thought I was seeing things, and like others have posted, I too let out a squeal of delight and quickly called my Mom in PA. She introduced this charming, delightful film to me almost 30 years ago. Not only did you make my night, but that of my Mom who loves, loves, loves this film! Thank you for giving us all a wonderful Christmas gift and I hope many others felt the same...enough that TCM keeps on showing this wonderful film! TCM you are the best!

  • Margie, a wonderful movie.

    • Cythara
    • 12/24/11

    What a lovely little movie! It is the story of a midwest highschool girl in 1928. It also appears to have been shot on location - Illinois. The settings could have been the Illinois town I grew up in during the 50s. There is nothing of Hollywood in this movie. Sometime around 1960, a short-lived TV show called "Margie" played and fizzled. It must have been an attempt to recapture the quiet charm of this movie. I highly recommend it to all tired of cliche'd plots, insincere historical 'dramas' or mindless sex, violence, gratuitous computer graphics all in slow-mo. TCM should play this movie more often.

  • Margie 1946

    • Marty Painter
    • 12/24/11

    Marty Painter 12/24/ 2011 Margie 1946 and Could tcm tcm show Margie again on tcm in 2012 and Margie 1946Needs to be releases on Blu-ray and DVD .

  • Margie 1946

    • Marty Painter
    • 12/24/11

    Margie 1946 Could tcm show this movie Margie 1946 again on tcm and Margie 1946 needs to releases on Blu-ray and dvd combo.

  • Margie, at last

    • cindylewe
    • 12/23/11

    I was just talking about this movie last week and how it had been years since i had seen it. That it was time for me to find it and watch it. Thanks for putting it on as a great early Christmas present to us all !!Love this movie since i first saw it on TV back when we got 3 channels and you watched what you could get in clearly. LOVE this movie!!

  • "Margie, I'm always thinkin' of you..."

    • Elizabeth
    • 12/20/11

    Thank you TCM for finally showing this movie - and what a great Christmas gift! I first saw Margie on TV in 1968 when I was 11. My sisters and I loved it and to this day we still remember some of the very funny lines. It is one of my top 10 favorite comedies. I caught it whenever I could on TV over the years, but it has been at least 20 years since I last saw it. I look forward to sharing Margie with the next generation and am sure they will love it as much as we did! Please bring it out on DVD soon!

  • Merry Margie to all of us!

    • Lee
    • 12/19/11

    What a fantastic present! Did you hear me scream when I saw it in the movie sked? Thank you so very much and with everyone else I have been waiting years to enjoy this sweet delightful film. I know my late sister in heaven is dancing the jig for me...we used to love to watch it. Happy Holidays to all.

  • A nice Christmas Gift

    • Pat
    • 12/17/11

    TCM, thank you so very much for getting this wonderful film, which I have not seen in many years, out and giving it a good dusting so we may view it on Christmas Eve. Jeannie Crain had to be one of the loveliest women I ever did see. How nice to see her and this film again.

  • Margie

    • Denise
    • 11/29/11

    Thank you so very much for showing Margie on Christmas Eve. I first watched this movie with my mom when I was 8. Mom is now 81. I intend to watch it with her this year, but this time I will include my daughter and my grand daughters!Thanks again.

  • Margie

    • Cher
    • 11/24/11

    What a wonderful Christmas gift!Thanks TCM for showing the delightful "Margie" on Christmas Eve.

  • Ooh-wacka-doo

    • Kathleen
    • 11/11/11

    Thanks so much, TCM, the most wonderful station in all of television, for scheduling this terrific movie to be shown December 2011. I was thrilled to see it listed in the December TCM Magazine. Gosh, first Mary, Mary (with Debbie Reynolds) was shown in recent months after years of not being seen, and now Margie. For anyone who hasn't seen this film, don't miss it. It's adorable (and Jeanne Crain is, as always, wonderful).

  • Margie

    • MikeE
    • 10/29/11

    This is a wonderful and sweet movie, and I am amazed that it hasn't been released on DVD!

  • SIMPLY THE BEST MOVIE

    • ALISA
    • 10/29/11

    I HAVE BEEN WAITING FOR YEARS FOR TCM PLAY THIS MOVIE PLEASE RELEASE IT ON DVD. IT'S SUCH A SWEET AND FUNNY MOVIE. I REMEMBER WATCHING IT WITH MY SISSY WHEN WE WERE 7 & 8 YEARS OLD. CANNOT WAIT FOR IT TO BE ON!

  • Margie

    • Nancy
    • 9/24/11

    Keep waiting for movie to be released on DVD. Hope TCM puts this on that schedule. If you just want to get away from all the "noise" going on in the world today.....just sit back and enjoy the "peaceful good ole' days" of an innocence of an era that this movie provides.

  • Margie

    • Lois Hughes
    • 8/25/11

    One of the most delightful movies ever made. My sister and I have searched for this movie for a long time....she finally found a VHS copy on eBay that someone had recorded from a TV showing, not a good copy at all, but good enough that we finally got to view our beloved movie "Margie" again after all these years! Please, please make this wonderful movie available for purchase.

  • Watching with Mom.

    • Lori Sanchez Caudill
    • 6/16/11

    When I was 14 my mother let me have a "free day" from school and I stayed home and watched the afternoon matinee on Channel 11 with her. The movie that day was "Margie" and I absolutely loved it. I saw it on TV a few times after that and finally in the 80's I taped it and finally had a copy of my own. I shared it with my children and now with my grandchildren.It is just such a cute movie. Even though times have changed and nowadays Mr. Fontayne would be in a bit of a jam with his being attracted to a student, in those days it all seemed innocent and acceptable.Jeanne Crain became on of my favorite actresses and I loved her in several other movies, especially State Fair.My VHS recording finally broke but I am happy to see that some wonderful person copied it to YouTube and I can watch it there.Yes, technology has come a long way, and the best things in life are still free.

  • "Margie"

    • Marjorie (Margie) Aldrich
    • 6/9/11

    I was 6 years old when I saw the movie "MARGIE" in 1946. It was the very first movie that I was allowed to see at an actual movie theatre with the older kids in the neighborhood. It's no wonder this movie made such an impression on me as it was the first movie I had ever seen and, in my mind, was named after me, made this so special to me and I want so much to be able to buy it on DVD. I noticed that this movies has been requested on DVD for years now so why hasn't it been transferred to DVD yet. Can't you see how many copies of this movie you would be able to sell. PLEASE, PLEASE, get "MARGIE" on DVD as soon as possible. I would be eternally grateful. Oh yeah! by the way, I am now 70 years old and would love to get this DVD before I die!!!Thank you,Margie

  • Margie

    • Margaret Poland
    • 6/7/11

    Hello, My sister has this monie on VHS and i watched it and i thought it was the mo0st adorable movie i have ever seen and i just like to know if it was going to be released on dvd soon so i can buy it. It would help me alot if you know the exact date of its release please please let me know thankyou so much.

  • "A Cup of Coffee, a Sandwich and You"

    • AC
    • 6/7/11

    Great music! This song gets me a smooch every time I sing it around the house. My wife and I are huge fans and would love to show our kids the movie behind the song.

  • Romantic and fun

    • cynthia
    • 1/29/11

    I grew up watching these types of moves. I loved them then and I love seeing them now. I even ended up marrying my college professor. Please make it available to buy.

  • Margie

    • Nancy
    • 9/6/10

    This movie is the best. My daughters grew up watching this movie since they were 5 years old (they are now going to be 22 years old) and it has been their favorite movie of all time. It was also my dad's favorite who just passed away this June. He along with my whole family were hoping Margie with Jeanne Crain would be available on DVD. We have worn out our old videos. They are hanging on by a thread and so is my video player. Please release on DVD. We need more movies like this that we can recommend or pass down forever. Every friend or family member that my girls and I would show it to loved it and wanted to know how they could get a copy. They were so disappointed when they found out it is not available anywhere! I ask them to go to tcm.com regularly to see if it has been released.

  • Truly memorable

    • Pam
    • 8/17/10

    Margie holds such special memories that my sisters and I shared as children . I would love to have the movie as part of my collection . I know my sisters would love to have the movie too, so please put it on DVD. Thank You!

  • Margie

    • Dawn
    • 8/15/10

    I remember when I was a teenager and my mom told the story of this movie - it was so funny and so romantic. It's a great movie that also helps us understand life earlier in history...make this movie available and help moms create memories with their daughters! Jeannie Crain is the best!

  • Margies is Awesome

    • Amy Brokaw
    • 6/6/10

    I love Margie this is such a great movie l wish it were on dvd the music is great l love the time period its just a wonderful and fun movie.

  • Such a great movie

    • Kasey
    • 5/30/10

    Margie is a CLASSIC! Why isn't it available for purchase??? This movie shouldn't be overlooked or forgotten, it is way better than most of the crap that is made these days.Please release Margie on DVD, or at least play it every once in a while on TCM.

  • Please Release!!!

    • Ann
    • 2/28/10

    My sister and I watched this with my cousins and absolutely loved this movie! My cousins are 10 years older and we don't really get enough time to spend together with our busy lives but when we do we break out that old cassette that they recorded and love every moment of it. It really gives us time to laugh and bond. however, that old cassette is fading and will probably go bad within a few years. When we first saw this movie my sister and I were 15 and 17 years old, were are now 19 and 21 and we still enjoy it. Just goes to show its a movie for ALL generations to be a part of. This movie is part of tradition and brings back great memories for all of us. please release on DVD!

  • My Little Margie

    • Alice
    • 2/18/10

    The kind of movie you can always depend upon to give you a lift when life throws you a curve.

  • DVD PLEASE!!!!!

    • becky
    • 2/3/10

    i watched this movie YEARS ago with my daughter. we both just LOVED it. wonderful acting, just very tender touching story. NOTHING LIKE THIS is never made today. when will it be shown again on TCM? i hardly watch any other station than tcm. the movies are just great!! thank you, and please try to get this released on dvd. your faithful viewer-becky

  • Margie is a great movie!

    • Bob
    • 12/22/09

    This was big enough in 1946 that Jeanne Crain was on the cover of Life magazine in a scene from the film. Its a great film about the trials of a teen-ager growing up, and lots of fun. It is nice to see Margie's respect for her father.

  • wonderful movie

    • Shari
    • 5/8/09

    Please show Margie i really feel this is a very overlooked movie because this is a excellant and very funny movie that i can't find anywhere.

  • Surprise, Surprise

    • Flip
    • 4/22/09

    This may surprise some of you but "Margie" was pointed out by the House On Unamerican Activties as an example of communist influence in films that came out of Hollywood. If you see this film, keep an eye on Margie's grand mom and her political views. I have a copy of this film, I transfered my video tape copy to DVD. It really is a good movie.

  • Please!!

    • Sharon
    • 4/8/09

    Yes, please please play this. I'm dying to see it again!! What a great film!

  • please put it out!!

    • debra
    • 2/27/09

    i missed the opportunity to see this film last week at the Stanford Theatre in Palo Alto, and i wish that this wonderful film would be on dvd. i haven't seen it in years, because AMC doesn't play these kind of films anymore. so please TCM, play this film at least once so i can get my fill of jeanne crain and this sweetheart of a movie.

  • A wonderful movie

    • Charlotte
    • 1/23/09

    I love this movie. I would really like ato own it on DVD. I never get tired of seeing it.

  • a classic

    • Sheila
    • 12/7/08

    I love this movie I watched this movie with my mom, then my daughter now I hope to watch it with my grand daughter she loves to come over and watch movie together. I want her to see that they are classic movie that aren't forgotten. Please play that movie Jeanne Crain is a great artist. I also love the movie she played in A apartment for Peggy. please play that one also. don't she have a birthday coming up you she play all her movie. she deserves a day.Thank You TCM a just love you. You make it possible to watch old classic keep up the good work and keep them coming. Thanks again. a fan

  • play margie

    • katie
    • 11/25/08

    put Margie on demand on TCM this movie is great

  • Make this Movie!

    • Cookie
    • 11/12/08

    Margie is one of those great movies that my Mom and I love to sit and watch together. But I haven't seen it on TV for years and miss it! Make this movie to a DVD so my Mom and I can watch it for years to come!

  • Play this movie!

    • doublecola
    • 9/25/08

    Margie is a great film.Unfortunately, it is not available on DVD.TCM needs to put Margie on the rotation.This is a classic film that might, someday, be lost to all of us.Play the movie!

  • margie, one of the best classic

    • Ann
    • 9/21/08

    I used to watch this so many times when Iwas just a little girl. I enjoyed watching this movie. I tape this movie along time ago on vhs which was over 20years ago and I still watch it over and over. I would like to purchase the movie on dvd for me and my sister. Its a good family movie. Even my son & daughterenjoy it. I like to known when it is coming out on dvd.

  • One of the Best Classics Ever!

    • Nancy
    • 9/9/08

    I first viewed this on another classic movie channel at the time and watched it with my twin girls when they were in kindergarten. We watched it at every opportunity. We had a tape but it is so worn from watching it over and over. My daughters played it for friends of all ages who loved it as well through the years. They are now going on twenty years and are in colle. They would love to see it finally released on DVD. Funny, I came to find out that Margie is my 81 year old father's all time favorite movie too! Please TCM, please see it through to DVD!

  • Jeanne Crain is adorable!

    • Pam
    • 8/14/08

    I personally have been wanting this movie on DVD for years! Every other Jeanne Crain movie seems to be out and I'm such a big fan! I love this movie the most- too sweet for words!!!

  • Among my all-time favorites!

    • Amy
    • 6/29/08

    I fell in love with this movie as a young girl and have shared it with my daughters and granddaughters, who love it, too, but my VHS copy is too old to share anymore. The story is timeless and it is portrayed so well. Jeanne Crain shows her comedic talents to perfection! Please show this movie on TCM. I will look for it.

  • Sweet Movie

    • Sheri
    • 5/25/08

    I saw this movie as a little girl and loved it! Over the years I had forgotten most of it but only remembered about the bloomers playing a big part in the movie. I was so glad to find out the name and actors after so many years. I would totally recommend this movie and only hope I am able to purchase it someday.

  • Wonderful Movie!

    • Elisha Sansom
    • 4/24/08

    When I was a teen about 10 years ago, I watched this very movie by chance on TCM. I instantly fell in love for all the silly things a teenage girl could get into. I have always hoped to see it again. This should be available to people who want to buy it...

  • Great Movie!

    • TK
    • 3/16/08

    I remember watching this movie on TMC when I was about 13 or 14 with my sister and we just loved it! For years I've been looking for the title of the movie so I could buy it or rent it. I am so happy to finally know what the title of the movie is, but sad that its not available for purchase!!! Please play it again on TMC or make it available for purchase. It's such a sweet movie!

  • Margie - Jeanne Crain

    • Beverly Groe
    • 2/26/08

    Margie is a good classic film. It is a good story line.

  • margie

    • aurora
    • 1/6/08

    would you please play this wonderful movie someime? i would love to see it again. i haven't seen it in years.

  • margie

    • kat
    • 12/20/07

    I enjoyed this movie, my daugther watch it with me and we both enjoyed it she's 18 and for a kid that age to watch an old movie and like it that's a real thumbs up.

  • Fab musical score

    • Becky
    • 10/12/07

    I'd love to see this movie on DVD for purchase. Has sentimental value for me. Need a copy badly!

  • great!

    • judy jensen
    • 9/29/07

    IT'S ONE OF THE BEST MOVIES. IT'S A FEEL GOOD MOVIE. VOTE TO HAVE IT PUT ON DVDPLEASE!

  • Timeless Classic

    • Elaine
    • 8/22/07

    Yes, it would be wonderful to see this timeless classic portraying traditional family values and eliminating some other movies we see repeated time and time again.

  • MARGIE: One Of My Favorite Movies

    • Denise
    • 8/21/07

    This is a very wholesome movie. Although it is set at the turn of the century, it is timeless. Clothes change, but people do not! I have reqeuested this movie many times, and have yet to see it again. The last time I saw this movie was about 40 years ago. Instead of showing the same flicks over and over, please consider playing this one. A Saturday morning or afternoon would be perfect.

  • Great Family Movie

    • Rachel
    • 8/4/07

    We have seen this and it is a great movie. It is wholesome and one of the few movies that you can truly share with the family with old time values.

  • Margie is my favorite movie!!!!

    • Millie
    • 7/27/07

    I am 42 years old and this was and still is my favorite movie! I have been looking for it forever! I am sorry to hear that it is not released yet. Please have it released! So many people are missing out on a great movie!

  • margie

    • phyllis
    • 7/17/07

    PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE MAKE THIS AVAILABLE ON DVD ASAP! It is a wonderful movie and could be watched again and again.

  • "MARGIE" --an OUTSTANDING MOVIE!!!

    • JoAnn
    • 7/4/07

    This is one of those rare 1 in a million --quality movies!!! I saw it years ago and could not understand why it has not been released for home viewing!!! It is an incredible GEM!!!! PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE, get this on DVD, ASAP!! I wouldbuy a bunch of them to give to family &friends besides one for myself!!!Christmas is coming--please release by then on DVD!!!! Thanks in advance!!!!

  • I remember wathching this with my mother

    • Genevieve
    • 6/6/07

    she was born in 1920 and 40 years older than me but that turned out to be a blessing since she shared so many classic movies as well as books with me. This was one of my favorites. It's a great story..I think a lot of us girs can relate to, having that big crush on the handsome teacher. Please TCM show this again on your channel or VOD(Video on demand). I'll be looking for it.Thank you.

  • I simply love this movie

    • Marika
    • 5/30/07

    And am very happy to see that others have suggested it be played as well. Like another poster, I too saw it on that other "classics" channel that really can not be classified as such anymore. I think I saw it maybe 2x at most and fell in love with the whole movie. I have not seen it in probably 10 years.. Please consider showing it, I think that so many of us viewers would love to see it again.

  • TCM! Are you listening?

    • Rene
    • 4/27/07

    I have posted comments here in the past to see if we could see this on TCM. It is truly one of my all time favorite movies! Margie is so sweet and wholesome. Jeanne Crain is just perfect in this part. Please, TCM, bring this one back!

  • Waiting YEARS to see again!

    • Natalya
    • 4/20/07

    I first saw this on 'the other classic movie channel', back in the good old days, when there were no commercials on that channel. I was 13, and now at 25, I have yet to see MARGIE again. Incredibly entertaining, every girl's daydreams realized, about finding romance, older men, and the misery of teenage years, rectified.

  • Margie

    • Toni Maybee
    • 3/16/07

    My husband has wanted to see this movie again and we would appreciate you showing it on TCM. We watch everyday and love the good old movies!

  • MARGIE

    • Jean
    • 3/13/07

    I would love to see this movie again.

  • AIR MARGIE

    • ACB
    • 3/11/07

    Please Please Put this movie in rotation, In fact you have a Jeanne Craine Day! Margie is so sweet and we love the Rudee Valley Music..

  • I Love Margie!

    • Debbie Crawford
    • 2/26/07

    I loved this movie when I first saw it.It was so cute and funny, but it had truth to it, I think we all experience what Margie did when we were in High School. Brought back so many memories.Please play it, and put it on DVD.

  • How can we get Margie on DVD?

    • Si Daugherty
    • 2/18/07

    We loved this movie with Jeanne Crain. Looked all over for a copy on DVD where the color will be as good as it was in the 40's.

  • C'mon Margie fans!

    • Ann Brown
    • 2/14/07

    The top vote getters have well over 3,000 votes each on TCM's website voting polls. Let's get voting out there or we'll never see "Margie!"

  • I keep hoping this will be released on DVD

    • Donna
    • 1/31/07

    I have fond memories of watching this with my mother. I would love to see it again.

  • I'd love to see this movie again

    • Linda Avey
    • 10/25/06

    My mom and I use to watch Margie when ever it was on TV. I love this movie, wish it was out on DVD

  • "Margie", I'd love to see it again.

    • Maddie
    • 9/15/06

    If anyone remembers a TV series from the early 60's called "Margie" with Cynthia Pepper, the series I don't think was exactly the same story line as the movie, but it was cute. So when I saw there was an original movie by that name I wanted to see it. It was so touching. The period it was set in didn't matter, it was the story and Jeanne Crain that made it appealing to any age group. I'd love to be able to buy it. I think it's been 10 or 15 years since I saw it. I hope it will be released on DVD.

  • Sweet, funny movie

    • Colleen
    • 9/7/06

    My sisters and I always enjoyed watching this movie on TV. I have been looking for this movie on video and DVD for years. I hope to see it on TCM and have a copy for myself someday. They just don't make 'em like this anymore.

  • Margie with Jeanne Crain

    • Celina Carroll
    • 8/24/06

    I would love to see this run on TCM. It is one of my all time favorites. Tried to purchase this when my son had a video store, but it was not available. This is a great old family flick that I would love to share with my grand daughters.

  • Completely Charming

    • Ann Brown
    • 8/21/06

    This is one of Jeanne Crain's best films, and uses her natural charm and retiscence to great advantage. Margie is a 20's high school girl, when "youth was flaming and the Charleston was the national anthem." Margie isn't popular, and has a goofy family life, but she manages to catch the eye of the hunky new French teacher. Based on Ruth McKenney's (My Sister Eileen) story with a surprise ending, Margie is a terrific family film you'll want to watch over and over again.

  • Margie Fan

    • tish
    • 8/13/06

    I have been unable to locate my VHS copy of Margie and am so disappointed. My girls and I would watch it over and over again. We thought we were the only Margie movie fanatics...apparently not. It's great to know there are others like us. I wish TMC would play it soon, because we sure miss it.

  • A watch over and over again movie

    • Jackie
    • 5/18/06

    When I lived in England I had this movie in my library and use to watch it over and over again. I could not bring the movie with me when I moved to Canada and have not seen it since I left England 17 years ago. It is one of the best of it's kind and would love others to be able to enjoy this priviledge of watching it over and over again.

  • Completely Charming

    • Ann Brown
    • 5/17/06

    This is one of Jeanne Crain's best films, and uses her natural charm and retiscence to great advantage. Margie is a 20's high school girl, when "youth was flaming and the Charleston was the national anthem." Margie isn't popular, and has a goofy family life, but she manages to catch the eye of the hunky new French teacher. Based on Ruth McKenney's (My Sister Eileen)story with a surprise ending, Margie is a terrific family film you'll want to watch again and again.

  • One of the Best!

    • Marquita Osborn
    • 5/8/06

    Margie has always been one of my favorite movies. I remember seeing it as a child in the '50's. I would really love it if they would make Margie available on DVD, with the extra's included. I would be one of the first to buy it.It is a good wholesome movie. Jeanne Crain, who plays Margie, is absolutely wonderful. I sure wish they would make more movies like that today.

  • My Inspiration..

    • Nancy Van Gulick
    • 3/18/06

    Very fun movie. I saw it on the late movies on TV in the 60's. It made such an impression on myself and my sister's, that we still can sing the theme song and "... cup of coffee a sandwich and you..." Poor Margie always losing her bloomers... Hilarious!

  • Margie

    • Shannon
    • 3/16/06

    It is one of my favorite romantic old movies. I was able to finally get a copy for my library. It would be great if you would show the film more often.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.