skip navigation
Man's Castle

Man's Castle(1933)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Man's Castle - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Not a cad!

    • I_Fortuna
    • 1/16/13

    I think anyone who watches this movie will find Tracy's character big hearted and willing to do the right thing. Clearly his language toward Loretta is merely an attempt to avoid attachment to her and her to him. He offers many lessons here in his Buddhist like approach to being detached from worldy things. He shows someone who is able to stand on his own two feet and tries to get others to do the same. He does small kindnesses throughout the film that show he is immature but compassionate. Loretta's character shows love in its purest form of selflessness and acceptance. She portrays someone who is grateful for every small thing that comes her way and sees even a small slight as a blessing. Great ending. This is really a cinematic jewell.

  • Real Name of Movie

    • LAWRENCE LANE
    • 9/13/11

    The actual name of the movie is "Man's Castle".

  • Emocionate

    • Sonia
    • 11/4/10

    Uns dos melhores filmes que Spencer Stracy j fez e uns dos meus preferidos. Maravilhoso. Todo o elenco est muito integrado ao filme. Eu gostei muito.

  • Um pecado não ver

    • Sonia
    • 10/25/10

    Este filme um dos melhores que Spencer Tracy fez. Ele est timo. O filme todo maravilhoso. Fantastico e deveria j ter sado em DVD, pois nico. Um filme comovente. Deveria ser exibido no TCM. Vale a pena ver a Loretta e o Spencer neste filme. Nota 10.

  • WHAT A CAD, LIVING IN A DUMP!

    • Jordan
    • 9/25/09

    With a title like, "A Man's Castle" and the opening scenes where Bill and Trina are so well dressed, I expected so much more from his behavior and their living arrangements. Two huge surprises! Bill is a total cad - calling his girlfriend nasty names and pretending to hit and hurt her periodically - then being kind in the next moment. He is not worthy of her or her love. Even in desperation, Trina could do much better. Hanging around an unemployed "traveling man" will only get a lady hurt and living a very sad existence. Even when it's time to step up to real responsibilities, he attempts robbing and stealing to "pay his debts". Yikes - run from this man, as fast as you can go and take your heart with you! Spencer Tracy is a nice looking, dark haired young man, as is Loretta Young a lovely lady in this movie. A neat scene was when Bill was a costumed clown stilt walker.

  • DVD

    • victoria
    • 5/7/09

    seriosly...DVD, come on, this movie has millions of reasons to on DVD so let's go come on.

  • Even more than I remembered!

    • Das
    • 9/8/08

    I saw this movie for the first and last time when I was a teen. It was played on NY's Million Dollar Movie, so I saw it several times within one week, and since it has been one of my all time favorites although never viewed again. I would look for it, never finding it. I really thought it was lost. When I checked out the title and found you were playing it on Spencer's day I was so excited...and seeing it after 40 years found it was even better than I remembered! Thank you!! And I hope to see it again! PLEASE!!!

  • Good Pre-Code Film.

    • John Anelli
    • 9/1/08

    Thank You for showing this lost classic,It is good for everyone to see the early Spencer Tracy.

  • Viewed only once

    • Mary
    • 12/11/07

    Over 30 years ago, I was a teenager who was sent to sit with my grandmother overnight so she wouldn't be alone. One night, A Man's Castle was on Movies 'til Dawn. Having nothing else to do, I watched the movie and was hooked from the first five minutes. I still remember everything about this one. Spencer Tracy walking down the street in his top hat and tails with "EAT AT JOE'S" in electric light flashing on his shirt. What a great movie! It's in the top five of the best movies I've ever seen, and I am constantly looking out for the next time it's shown anywhere. With the exception of the Castro Theatre, I have yet to see it again. I am disappointed it hasn't made DVD, and will have to remain patient until it does.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.