skip navigation
A Man Called Peter

A Man Called Peter(1955)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

A Man Called Peter A Scottish boy follows his... MORE > $6.95 Regularly $9.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • question

    • frank
    • 12/6/14

    I have been looking to find either a written copy or video of the jean peters speech in the movie "a man called peter". I watch the movie and really like it. I thought her speech a good commentary on peoples attitudes/contrast today.

  • Answer to 3/6/12 comment

    • andy NO
    • 3/28/12

    I think you've been misinformed. I've read all of Catherine Marshall's books and not in one does she mention a word about her being displeased with Miss Peters' portrayal of her. She did note, however, that she asked to meet Peters during the filming, but was unable to because the actress had been flown to Hollywood with a bad sinus infection and had to be treated by her personal physician. Most likely -and according to some rumors- this was the jealous Howard Hughes' doing; since Jean had gone back with her husband, Stuart Cramer, while she was making this film and she'd made a point of emphasizing the fact that her mother in law had been a real life parishioner of Rev. Peter Marshall. Furthermore, Peters won high praise for her performance in this film, even from the critic in The New York Times, Bosley Crowther -who seldom gave Fox films good reviews. Quote: "Miss Peters gives a sturdy perfomance as Dr. Marshall's tubercular wife". In fact, she was considered for a Golden Globe award as best actress as well as for a nomination for an Oscar -and was voted by the press as one of the ten best perfromances by an actress in 1955. She blew her chances to win these awards when she dissapeared from the Hollywood scene, shortly after completing this film.

  • Fitting Tribute

    • Commenter77
    • 3/6/12

    This film was produced in the author and wife of the subject's lifetime, so we have her take on it. She was quite pleased with Fox's treatment of the story and Richard Todd's portrayal of her husband. She was, however, politely puzzled by Ms. Peter's interpretation of her, especially in the ministry stage of the story, as a work weary struggler. However, we know this was Ms. Peter's sayonara to the acting profession, so perhaps she had a contract to finish and just got through it. Anyone who has read Ms. Marshall's books and heard her speak knows she was a vibrant contributor to life. She also demonstrated inner strength through the many challenges of her life. Regardless, it a well done picture and reflection of a man of depth, purpose and influence.

  • Jean Peters' last film

    • Andy No
    • 1/10/12

    I read that Jean Peters, Richard Tood and Marjorie Rambeau were all considered for Academy Awards for this film. I recall that A MAN CALLED PETER was re-released a few years after it was made and was a huge success. As a boy, my aunt took me to see it and we had to sit on the theater's aisle because the place was packed (and on a weekday afternoon). This is one of the best films of its kind, based on a best seller by Catherine Marshall, and nominated for several categories for a Golden Globe. Richard Burton was scheduled to play Peter Marshall (who in real life became Chaplain of the U.S. Senate), but Burton was doing a play, so Fox hired Richard Todd, who was tested and favorably impressed Darryl Zanuck with a well acted scene from the film -an inspirational sermon. Fox was considering Elizabeth Taylor, Vivien Leigh and Donna Reed for the role of his wife Catherine. Jean Peters had been slated to play that role months before, but she'd partially abandoned her career after her marriage to North Carolina textile heir, Stuart Cramer; however, she returned to the studio six days before filming started and was immediately cast in the lead female role. The acting is certainly top knotch in this film -and Peters, still a gorgeous beauty in her prime, quit her career after its release. She shied away from Hollywood (thanks to a demanding Howard Hughes) and it killed her chances for a nomination as best actress. In order to get nominated for an Academy Award, an actress must be seen in Holywood circles, promote her film and do some public relations amongst her peers. Jean, who was being groomed by Fox as a replacement to Susan Hayward, simply left town and ignored her Fox contract. She was placed on suspension at the studio, but she was able to ignore her contract and all legalities...though she divorded Cramer, Jean was protected by Howard Hughes, America's richest man, whom she married two years after the film's release.

  • Inspirational

    • Nicole
    • 11/20/11

    I've never heard of the movie, but the other day I turned to TCM to see what was on. I tuned into the middle of the movie. When I listened to one of the sermons I was hooked. I rented the movie and watched the whole thing. It was an extremely inspirational movie to say the least. The things he says in the sermons apply to life and society today. I have never heard of Peter Marshall but because of this movie I'm going to find out more about him. I'm happy to hear that there's a book from which this movie was based. I hope to read it.I don't write reviews. At all. But I'm so moved by this movie I want to make sure that people know about it and how good it is. Please, watch this movie. You don't see movies like this. Hollywood almost never portrays a Godly man. It was refreshing. As a side note, I'm surprised this movie wasn't nominated for more than just Best Cinematography.

  • I am a non-believer and yet enjoyed this film

    • Juli Stephenson
    • 11/19/11

    An interesting movie on the role of faith in one man's life. As an Atheist, I am always interested in how people come to their religion. The film did a great job of exploring his transcendence though his powerful almost persuasive speeches.

  • A Man Called Peter

    • Judd F. Holder
    • 4/11/11

    An exquisite movie with a magnificent musical score. Extraordinary and inspiring!

  • A Man Called Peter

    • Janice
    • 12/18/10

    This is a wonderful film. It gives you sad and happy emotions. I have seen it about 20 times. I watch it every time it is on, which isn't often enough.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.