skip navigation
Madeleine

Madeleine(1950)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Madeleine - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Madeline 1950 Bio Pic

    • Elizabeth Gantt
    • 3/12/14

    I loved this film. I thought the acting was outstanding. I first saw this film in 2010 on TCM, I saved it to my DVR and watched it multiple times. Ann Todd and Ivan Desney were well suited for their parts. This is one of my favorites along with the Heiress, I never get tired of watching them. In 2012, I erased this film from my VCR, by mistake and waited for its return to TCM with baited breath. If you love intregue, this will become one of your favorites as it is now mine.

  • Madeleine - One of the Best True Story Classics

    • Theresa Rouse
    • 1/30/14

    Very intriguing true story movie. Love the actors, especially handsome Ivan Desny & Ann Todd who portrayed Madeleine. As Ann Todd became obsessed with the story, I too became obsessed with reading and obtaining any information I could to make my determination whether or not Madeleine was guilty or innocent. I do believe that Madeleine was guilty!

  • Madeleine

    • Theresa Rouse
    • 5/31/13

    Love this movie! One of my favorites. It's been awhile since it has been shown on TCM. Anxiously waiting to see it again. I love the acting, especially Ann Todd as Madeleine and the very handsome Ivan Desny as Emile whom I fell in love with. I find this true story very intriguing. Great Movie!! Five Star for sure!!

  • Ann Todd-- Enchantress

    • Joan
    • 3/10/12

    Fine drama based upon an actual Scottish Victorian Era scandal shows to perfection the genteel touch and obsession with detail of legendary director David Lean. The revelation here is the artistry of Ann Todd who was in early middle age at the time that this film was made ,yet convincingly portrays a very young and naive woman with a multi-faceted and disturbingly realistic characterization--dependent upon yet fearful of her flinty unemtional father, enraptured with her first real love and secret suitor (the bounder--Emille), rebellious against the constraints of her father's expectations, part femme fatal, part naive child. She comes to admire and grow fond of the upstanding young man chosen by her father but lacks the experience and will power to deal with the manipulative fortune hunter Emillle. The courtroom scenes were as suspenseful as the interpersonal and societal relationships were intriguing--one of the best defenses of murder by poisoning in full forensic detail which I have ever seen captured on film. The story centers upon the consumate acting skill of Ann Todd whose delicate beauty and depth of portrayal beguiles and fascinates minute by minute. The ending alone is worth the time spent in viewing. Too bad Sir David and Ms. Todd (who were cousins and husband and wife) are no longer with us.

  • Madeleine

    • Bruce C
    • 3/9/12

    A fantastic British vehicle that wastes no time with fluid - driven movement throughout the film.There is a definitive reality when Madeline (Ann Todd) is brought up a set of stairs to trial andthe old man - perhaps the bailiff that continually allows the door to drop and slam shut. Thereis a lot of crafted suspense that comes with the cast and camera work. The cliff hanger ending adds to the dramatics. This film cannot be placed into the working's of today's time period, is absurd to attempt such. A very good film.

  • un-appreciated masterpiece

    • daniel soroky
    • 3/9/12

    This is a fine Victorian mood piece with great acting and a superb script. The prosecutor and defense attorney are both convincing, as they always are in great courtroom scenes. Mrs. Todd is mesmerizing. I view some negative reviews of this movie to be ridiculous. You don't see such superb acting and great dialogue very often. This movie, in my opinion, was well worth preserving and should be issued on DVD.

  • Madeleine

    • Elizabeth
    • 7/20/11

    I was completely wrapped up in this movie...got to the last part of the trial and just before the verdict, my Dvr didnt record the finale. Please play this movie again so I can see the ending.

  • Missed the very last of it

    • Sandy Raney
    • 7/6/11

    This movie was fascinating...only my DVR cut off the very last of the movie and I had to google it to see how it came out. Literally the last five minutes. I heard it was sort of like the Casey Anthony case, not enough evidence to convict but hope it will be on again so I can catch the end. How frustrating was that! David Lean's early movies were the best! Especially the ones with Trevor Howard.

  • Madeleine

    • LLElian
    • 7/6/11

    I too loved this movie and got caught up in the trial but sadly I too had a power outage and did not get to see the end! would love to see it played again in the evening hours so we all can enjoy it. Anyone want to tell me how it ended? argh..

  • Madeleine (1950) Directed by David Lean

    • Madelyn
    • 4/14/10

    I watched this movie for the first time when you showed it a couple of weeks ago. I was completely drawn into the movie. First there was the dilemma that Ann Todd's character found herself in with her overbearing father and her fear of his disapproval. Then there was the dilemma that her French lover, found himself in; loving Madeleine, yet longing for the life that the upperclass Smith family had. I had never heard of Ivan Desny who played her lover, Emile, but was taken with his good looks and acting abilities. He made you feel sorry for him for the way he had to sneak around to see Madeleine, yet at the same time you feel contempt for his manipulation of Madeleine. Then there was the excellent directing of David Lean. The scene where the two lovers danced on top of a hilltop overlooking a lake; the rain and snow that Emile waited in to see Madeleine. The focus on the clock, the window where he came at night, the cup of cocoa, the maid sleeping in the kitchen so that Madeleine and Emile could have her bedroom. Then finally Emile staggering home in agony from poison, the courtroom scenes using flashbacks to show the evidence for and against Madeleine having murdered her lover. The movie so intrigued me that I am looking for the movie on dvd, and also a book about the strange case of Madeleine. I notice that you do replay some of the more outstanding movies over several times in a year. How about putting this one on that list. I would love to see it again real soon. I give the movie 5 stars.

  • Madeline

    • Jim
    • 3/25/10

    I had the pleasure to first view this film on March 25, 2010. I found it to be very enjoyable. The black and white cinematography was excellent. Both the lead and supporting roles were very well done. I had not heard of this film, and was pleasantly suprised in becoming enveloped in the gradual transition from interesting romance to dark tragedy. I hope this film will be released on dvd soon.

  • Madeline

    • Holly
    • 3/25/10

    I came across this movie 3/4 through and was caught up in the story immediately. I would love to see it in its entirety. Great movie.

  • Madeleine

    • Alice Lahnstein
    • 4/6/09

    This perfectly terrific David Lean movie was shown ONCE in this decade, at 4:00 PM on a Friday when few people can be at home watching films. It is not available on home video. WHY????Could you at least show it at an hour when it might have an audience or offer it for purchase?

  • Why isn't this movie on dvd

    • robert novarro
    • 12/11/08

    The cool and reserved Ann Todd finds herself accused of murder and on trial for her life. Miss Todd gives a magnificent portrayal of a woman caught in a trap of passion.

  • "Did she or Didn't She?

    • CINDY
    • 3/28/08

    I LOVE this movie! what more could you want? The beautiful,cold,"ethereal" Ann Todd,and a great story' and it's a true story! I don't know why the critics didn't like this one?But every time this movie is on I'm completely "riveted"by Ann Todds' excellent performance. This movie reminds me of Hitchcocks The Parridine Case which I also LOVED. Don't miss this one!

  • Ann Todd As Madeleine: It Deserves Another Look

    • EJBernson
    • 10/30/07

    When one first views the film Madeleine (1950), one suspects another well made British drama. Between the magnificent home, overbearing father, and beautiful costumes, one is lulled into a false sense of mediocrity and security. David Lean directs his then-wife, Ann Todd, in a haunting mystery which unfolds in front of you like a fine piece of Chinese silk. Todd, (Madeleine), has a haunting and ethereal look. Accused of poisoning her lover, Todd is more concerned about wearing her dress correctly than the death sentence. She gives new meaning to the term "poker face." To the powers-that-be at TCM, this film merits many more showings. Todd, and the entire cast turn in fine performances.

  • Play it again

    • Cal Colvin
    • 3/24/07

    Didn't get to see all of Madeliene due to power outage. Please show it again so we can see the ending.

  • LOVED IT!!

    • Dorothy
    • 3/20/07

    I've only seen this movie once. It was early morning and I was late to an appointment because I just had to see how it all came out. I do not claim to be an expert of any kind. I just know what I like and I was completely taken by this movie. It reminds one of The Heiress with Olivia de Havilland-which I also love. I had never even heard of this movie. TCM...please, Please, PLEASE play this one again!!!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.