skip navigation
The Mad Miss Manton

The Mad Miss Manton(1938)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Mad Miss Manton A daffy socialite gets her... MORE > $12.99 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Mad For Miss Manton

    • Diane
    • 9/23/13

    Excellent Film. From beginning to end, top-notch story & great acting. Ensemble cast & fun to watch. A favorite.

  • The Mad Miss Manton (1938)

    • James Higgins
    • 1/1/10

    What a delightful murder mystery comedy, Barbara Stanwyck is amazing as always, she and Henry Fonda make a great teaming. Very entertaining, great pace and well produced. Snappy well written screenplay.

  • Stanwyck and Fonda before The Lady EVE

    • BOB
    • 5/10/09

    Very funny and entertaining film with hilarious performances by both Fonda and Stanwyck.This needs to be on DVD!

  • One of the greatest

    • Denise
    • 10/20/08

    This is one of my Favorites of all times, in fact, I'm watching it now.I recorded it one night from TCM.It has to be at least two years ago.Please bring it to dvd so that I can add it to my collection of classics.Stanwyck and Fonda together arehilarious, just as they are inThe Lady Eve, which can be found ondvd.

  • love it

    • iris
    • 8/12/08

    I love this movie, i have watched it for years please bring it out on dvd, I love as much as the lady eve, it's funny and scary, it reminds me of the thin man series, it's awesome. please bring it on dvd thank you. iris

  • Please.....can I buy this movie!?

    • Vickey
    • 10/30/07

    This is such a funny and interesting movie. The fashion the cast wear is outstanding! Why can't this be realeased for purchase? Great movie.When will this air again...I just missed it because I was away. Please let me know when it will air again.

  • BABS AND HATTIE A PURE DELIGHT

    • Steve
    • 3/21/07

    In the vein of "The Thin Man" and "My Man Godfrey" this is a wonderfully delightful screwball amateur sleuth comedy. Ms. Stanwyck stars (and shines) in the title role as Mesa Manton and Hattie McDaniel as Stanwyck's maid, Hilda, are simply divine. A MUST FOR DVD.

  • Wonderfully MAD! movie

    • noor
    • 2/23/07

    This movie is so entertaining. I have been waiting for years for someone to release this on DVD. Barbara Stanwyck is incredible in this film. Actually , everyone in this movie is incredible.Whatever you do don't miss this one.Fun-Fun Fun!

  • The Mad Miss Manton a Pure Delight!

    • Sandy Green
    • 2/15/07

    This old screwball comedy classic is a pure delight with Barbara Stanwyck's antics in getting her society friends involved in solving a murder case and her evolving romantic relationship with Henry Fonda who is on the case and not appreciating her meddling. Alls well that ends wells in these wonderful old classic films.

  • Lighthearted comedic romp for Stanwyck

    • Margo
    • 7/8/06

    I love Barbara Stanwyck in this movie. She goes from dizzy heiress to master sleuth - watch out Nancy Drew!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.