skip navigation
Love Is a Many-Splendored Thing

Love Is a Many-Splendored Thing(1955)

Contribute

FOR Love Is a Many-Splendored Thing (1955) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Love Is a Many-Splendored Thing A Eurasian doctor in Hong Kong... MORE > $29.98 Regularly $29.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Love is a many splendored thing

    • albert forsyth
    • 3/18/14

    I was serving with the RAF in Hong Kong whilst this film was being made, and was priviledged to see a couple of scenes being shot. When the film came out I went to see it and was very taken with the performance of Jennifer jones who is beautiful even more so in the flesh, William Holden was a gentleman and seemed very down to earth.

  • easy on the eyes

    • el debbo
    • 9/6/13

    The sweeping aerial view of 1949 Hong Kong, the gorgeous mansion where Jones & Holden meet at an afternoon cocktail party, the two stars at the peak of their beauty... this is a visually-absorbing movie from the get-go. With Lyle Wheeler, Walter Scott, and Charles LeMaire on board, you know it will be a feast for the eyes. The Old Guard hangs on by their talons, the Brits in their palatial eyries, as life as they know it falls away. I loved panning in on this fascinating era, but the second time I watched it, I did so without the sound. Too many platitudes like "Darling, whatever happens, always remember, nothing is fair nor unfair under heaven." It's still delicious to watch and I'm glad to have seen it. As Holden said to Jones, "We have not missed, you and I... we have not missed that many-splendored thing." Poetic, yes. Stunning, definitely.

  • Love Is A Many Splendored Thing

    • Charlo
    • 5/6/12

    Jennifer Jones is stunning, and I love her wardrobe. Representing the controlled Chinese Culture. She still looked sexy. Love her and Bill Holden together. Sweetness between them and still sexy...you KNEW that they were being discreet and she had a devil may care attitude after he told her his wife wouldn't give him a divorce afterall. She was very strong and yet...she was always hopeful in her heart. Love the Hong Kong backdrop of the 1950's and the set decorations and scenery were sentimental to me. Love this movie...it translates to real life for some people. Who love so deeply, knowing that it will end tragically. Wow.

  • Love this movie

    • GEORGE'S GIRL
    • 4/15/12

    Of course I love this movie. this love story, the photography and music.But guys, I gotta tell you that seeing William Holden in a bathing suit is well worth the price of admission....those great legs and perfect man-butt his adorable smile and dimples.....whewwww!! He was a great work of art and a darn good actor.

  • Awesome anti-Communism message

    • Jeff Boston
    • 3/1/12

    I watched "Love Is A Many-Splendored Thing" for the first time last night because of William Holden (#1 movie star of the fifities), for I admire his acting in the many great films of which I've seen him as the protagonist. This movie has a few antagonists, with none greater than the ideology of Communism. The priest has a good line ("You'll be shot"), as does Jones' character ("You see truth, but I think it is an illusion"). The anti-collectivism that is sprinkled throughout this Oscar nominated film concludes well with the Holden character's narration of what separates the foundation of the West with the wrecking ball of Marxism: "God has been good to us."

  • Love is a Many- splendored Thing

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 1/18/12

    "Love is a Many- splendored Thing" is an effective romantic film that clashes with cultural traditions. The music score adds more effect to the film just as the sensitive performances of Holden & Jones. Had a few dull moments, but a well- rounded romance. I give it a 4/5.

  • Bill Holden and Jennifer Jones are lovely together

    • Natacha
    • 1/17/12

    I like this film a lot, but the concepts contained therein are somewhat dated. The word "Eurasian" isn't used any more, nor is there any negative connotation with someone being either Asian or part Asian nor someone who is not Asian being involved romantically with someone who is part or all Asian. Also, nowadays, if someone who is married falls in love with someone else, it's not scandalous if it is handled with integrity and there is no lying or blatant unfaithfulness involved. Today we recognize that married people sometimes fall in love with someone else, and that is not sinful in and of itself. Issues arise with how it is handled. That said, Bill Holden is a wonderful leading man and Jennifer Jones is beautiful. Hong Kong of the 1950's is also fascinating. This picture is worth seeing. Music is outstanding as well.

  • Jennifer Jones and Bill Holden Superb

    • David Atkins
    • 7/23/10

    Bill Holden was the perfect movie leading man,( Holden's co stars a who's who of Hollywood: Barbara Stanwyck, Kim Novak, Susan Hayward, Lucille Ball, Judy Holiday, Grace Kelly, and his great love Audrey Hepburn et al) and what movies he made: Golden Boy, Sunset Blvd, Country Girl, Picnic, Born Yesterday, Bridges At Toko Ri, The Bridge On The River Kwai, Network, Suzie Wong, and this great love story from 20th Century Fox Love Is A Many Splendored Thing. Jennifer Jones is superb as the Eurasian Doctor and was nominated for her 5th Oscar. Beautifully directed by Henry King (who had directed Jennifer in Song of Bernadette)This film was a huge hit and its theme song popular even today. A Must see and the ending is beautiful.

  • Breathtakingly Beautiful

    • Jim MacLellan
    • 5/16/10

    This movie is exquisitely beautiful on so many levels.I would rank it amongst the top ten.It is rather unfortunate that many of the historic Hong Kong buildings have been demolished.

  • Thank You for showing this beautiful love story.

    • Lorraine C
    • 3/23/09

    Thank You TCM for showing this beautiful love story. Beautiful, sensitive, tender performances from William Holden and Jennifer Jones. The literate screenplay reads like poetry. Beautiful location scenery of 1950`s Hong Kong. Beautiful music score by Alfred Newman. Lorraine C.

  • I wanted to like this film.

    • Dorman
    • 2/14/09

    It's the second time I've tried to sit through it. I love a good love story. I love tear jerkers. But I found it incredibly boring. Loved the music. Love the actors. Gorgeous cinematography. It was the dialogue. The script. It lacked a poetry, a wisdom, a passion. I believe those their lyrical goals. But they failed. Miserably.I wanted to like this film.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.