skip navigation
The Long Gray Line

The Long Gray Line(1955)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Long Gray Line An Irish immigrant becomes one... MORE > $49.99 Regularly $54.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Memorial to Pont's Heroes

    • Conn
    • 5/29/14

    West Point served the USA by training the most famous military leaders in codes of honor and duty, sent them to war and often lost them fighting for freedom. Focus is on the personal story of Martin Maher, who "knew them all" from their time at the Academy. An affecting, finely acted memorial to West Point heroes by America's greatest director, John Ford. Kudos to Power and O'Hara for their exceptional performances. A great movie!

    • 1/29/14

  • Vivid and heartwarming

    • Dee2
    • 12/24/13

    John Ford's emotionally rewarding portrait of the fifty -year West Point career of Irish immigrant Martin Maher. Tyrone Power gives a well -deliniated and heartfelt performance. Displaying his considerable range as an actor, he is comedic, athletic, dramatic and ultimately quite touching as he ages from brash youth to maturity and to old age. Likewise Maureen O'Hara who is splendid as Martin's wife and helps to bring alive a portrait of a marriage of long-lasting love and affection. Many fine supporting players bring the story to life. Shot at least in part at the impressive campus of the Point, Ford's film pays robust homage to the military academy's history and traditions and to the many leaders and heroes it has graduated over the years.

  • The Long Grey Line

    • Lawrence Harris
    • 3/31/11

    A wonderful film for those ,who as I, love military lore , historical accuracy, and great entertainment, Tyrone Power, Maureen O'Hara ,and Donald Crisp, make a great cast bringing out an Irish flavor you could cut with a knife. This little known movie should be viewed by everyone who savor American history and long to see the dedication that Americans have striven for more then 200 hundred years. This is not about one man but of a people of which he is not an uncommon example. A patriotic film that shows the close nit lives of those who serve,their joys, their grief, their memories. One of my all time favorites.

  • minor work brillanty directed

    • Len
    • 11/22/09

    The sequence near the end of the film when Marty goes home alone for Christmas is a one all film students and most currently working directors should study. Ford moves his camera and actors with grace only sometimes matched by Robert Bresson.

  • Family legacy brought to life

    • cathy
    • 11/22/09

    I came upon this movie during a night of sleeplessness but never regretted staying awake till dawn. The character of Marty Maher brought to life a family legacy, that my grandfather had attended West Point during the same years as Dwight Eisenhower, and so had been one of Martin Maher's beloved Cadets. By watching the movie I was able to understand what it meant to be a West Point Cadet, and later a military man, and gained a great deal of respect for my grandfather (now deceased.) I wish I had seen this movie during his lifetime. Thank you TCM for making such a great movie available. I will make sure my grandson sees this movie and understands the importance of his great great grandfather's military career.

  • Isn't Tyrone Georgeous

    • Virginia
    • 4/4/09

    This is a very nostalgic movie for me. Once that stands out as very special in my childhood and it started my love affair with Tyrone Power (only in my dreams). If you want to see Tyrone at his most beautiful, see him as the fated matador in Blood and Sand. Again playing a "devil" of a man, but in love with two women, his beloved sweet Carmen (Linda Darnell) and the torid Dona Sol (Rita Hayworth). I think she even better here than in Gilda. And then there is Anthony Quinn playing Manolo. If ever there was a man who could play any ethnic, it was Quinn. But then he was half Spanish, so was in his element. See it. You won't be disappointed.

  • Error in your synopsis

    • jerry
    • 6/29/08

    Martin Maher was not a officer ! He was an enlisted man. Probably why he was so beloved...lol

  • My All Time Favorite

    • Jim
    • 6/28/08

    By far, the best !!!Simple, yet elegant and wonderful wonderful story. THe only movie that makes me cry at the end, regardless how many times I see it.

  • What an unexpected treat!

    • Neine
    • 5/4/08

    What an unexpected treat. I came apon this movie while surfing channels and couldn't walk away. What a touching and humorous delight of a movie and the Father is a riot! Can't wait to see it again.

  • Must see

    • amy
    • 8/19/07

    I started watching this movie by chance and could not walk away. This is now one of if not my favotite classic movie. I have not watched a movie so touching ang just all around good in a long time.

  • The Long Gray Line

    • Craig
    • 8/14/07

    i feel every one living in America should see this bio-pic. These men and now women are are nations pride along with are other service academies. Mr Power give a great show as do the supporting cast. as in the movie even the ghosts show there pride in are Long Gray Line.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.