skip navigation
The Locket

The Locket(1946)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Locket A dark personal secret drives... MORE > $19.99 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Exceptional!

    • RedRain
    • 5/3/13

    This is a truly suspenseful film noir and nothing whatsoever plays out as you expect at any time in the film! I am a stickler for viewing and commenting on film in the context of when they were made or the time they depict but absolutely nothing, no matter what happened to you in your childhood in any decade, would justify what Lorraine Day's character does in this film! She is completely amoral and, finally, it catches up with her and off she goes to an institution where her character probably remained forever. The biggest shock to me was that none of the men she became involved with didn't kill her but, instead, killed themselves as Robert Mitchum did. This film is so tightly drawn and the scenes so expertly knitted that I can't believe it hasn't received more play on TCM! It's simply a real winner and one not to be missed!

  • THOUGHT PROVOKING

    • Aaziah
    • 5/2/13

    FIVE STARS

  • LOVED THIS ONE.

    • JODI
    • 12/1/12

    SAW THIS FOR THE FIRST TIME RECENTLY. IT WAS GREAT. NEVER SURE WHAT WILL HAPPEN NEXT. I WISH TCM WOULD PLAY IT AGAIN. I'LL HAVE TO PURCHASE IT.

  • I LOVE A PSYCHOLOGICAL DRAMA

    • Sue
    • 6/25/12

    I love this movie. The flashbacks are easy to understand and the movie flows along nicely. I have one question, does John know that Nancy was once living in the house and the daughter of the maid? I think probably not as the social classes would not allow such a marriage. I did have to watch the movie a couple times before I realized that John Willis, and everyone else except Mrs Willis, leaves the house with Nancy. For one person who reviewed this as just another psychological drama should watch the movie again and look at the high ratings other reviewers have given it.

  • That Precious Locket!

    • allaboutlana
    • 3/8/12

    Laraine Day stars in what some movie critics may call her meatiest and most memorable role she ever had, that of a lying, manipulative, unbalanced young lady whose world can be turned over by the slightest change. Because of an event in her childhood, she holds steadfast to anything and anybody she can and won't give up without a fight. But of course, we really don't know this from the beginning. Now pay attention. We see Gene Raymond on his wedding day, set to marry Laraine. But there's an interruption. Brian Aherne has something to tell him that may make him think twice about marrying her. By way of a flashback, we see his story. Almost immediately we see Robert Mitchum, who has to tell Brian of how he met Laraine. Yes. Another flashback. Then in that one, Laraine tells Robert about her childhood. Another flashback. It may seem muddled to some, but this is a fascinating and a star-making role for Laraine Day. Anyone who's seen it is not likely to forget it or Ms. Laraine Day. I would get into more detail, but this film's crust is too delicious to read about. Watch and enjoy the many faces and facets of Laraine Day. How she lies! 5 out of 5 stars

  • The Locket

    • April Lynn
    • 10/2/11

    This movie is a 5 star for me. I saw this movie many years ago before computer searches were so easy. I have been looking for it every since I saw it. I've explained the plot to many people trying to find someone else who had seen it, no one had. Finally tonight I look it up and there it is. I can't wait to watch it with my mom and friend. It is a "Essencial" for me. The way the main charicter was treated as a child proves can grow up to be just what they are treated as when they are young. MUST SEE!

  • The girl can't help it

    • Emgee
    • 12/9/10

    This film has style and mood aplenty going for it, plus Mitchum and Day make a fine couple. But the plot holes could be used for a golf course.The villainess, pardon, victim of this movie is so traumatised cause she had to give back a locket as a child, she becomes a jewel thief. After killing a man, letting another frie for it and driving a third one to suicide, it turns out all she needs is a lotta love and understanding! Life can be so simple sometimes.Oh yes, why didn't the Mitchum character change his testimony to save the poor butler? Probably those big blue eyes.

  • great film noir

    • louis
    • 8/29/10

    This film is so good! I would love this for my collection. TCM Can you make it happen?

  • The Locket (1946)

    • Stella
    • 7/9/10

    I saw this yesterday....Great movie! Robert Mitchum is good as the first husband. I will check to see if it is on DVD.

  • The Locket

    • richard hegedorn
    • 7/8/10

    This is a wonderful movie. Hard to believe that it was very poorly received when it first came out with most critics complaining about what they considered way too many flashbacks. Larraine Day's terrific performance was also overlooked. It's a shame that she never got a chance to shine again as she does in this film. A DVD is way past due.

  • Awesome film noir!

    • Carole C
    • 5/28/10

    If you love classic film noir, you'll love this picture. It was played in the past sparingly & every time it comes on, I'm sure not to miss it.

  • I finally found this classic

    • Barry
    • 9/30/09

    I stumbled across this movie a long time ago at the point when, in the movie, Robert Mitchum left the scene....wow...I was shocked!. I have never seen the whole thing in its entirety but this film had me riveted.

  • The locket!

    • Yemaya
    • 6/16/09

    Just put it on my ipod! Please release the dvd!

  • Th Locket: Where oh where is the DVD?

    • j moore
    • 6/2/09

    The Locket is a wonderful Film Noir story with great performances bt Loraine Day nd Robert Mitchem. I have been so disappointed that there is no DVD of this film. Surely by 2010 fans of this dark and terrific film will be available. Please make it happen, TCM!!

  • Where Is The DVD???

    • Sandi J
    • 4/17/09

    I love this movie, why isn't it on dvdMy vhs off the tv is getting old.Pleaseoh please put this on dvd.

  • I love this movie!

    • Cindy
    • 2/23/09

    I can't believe it's 2009 and this movie STILL is not on DVD. Other more obscure and horrible movies come on out DVD all the time....why not this one that everyone seems to love? I keep waiting and hoping.

  • Superb Movie

    • Ruthi
    • 11/13/07

    This movie is one of my favorites and I hope it will be available soon on DVD. The ensemble cast is excellent and it deserves to be seen by all movie buffs, both young and old. They don't make them like this anymore!!

  • Great movie

    • Debi
    • 10/16/07

    Would like to see this movie played again, hopefully soon. Better yet would be to have it come out on dvd.

  • Excellent Movie

    • Susan
    • 10/16/07

    This is a classic - it really needs to be put on DVD. They don't make movies like this one (or any of the oldies) anymore. Please TCM - get this on DVD.

  • The Locket

    • Ray Karol
    • 10/13/07

    This is the best film I have ever seen! How can I get a copy of the film? Or a copy of the book it is based on, "What Nancy Wanted", by Norma Barzman?I can't believe that this movie did not get any awards or that I never heard of it before today, when I saw it on TCM.

  • The Locket - Larraine Day

    • Jean Scheid
    • 5/29/07

    This is one of the best classics out there and I don't know why it is not shown more or available on DVD. I have heard the original film is in bad shape. Please, please, TCM, get this movie on your schedule so others can enjoy Larraine Day, Robert Mitchum & Brian Ahern in this awesome classic!

  • EXCELLENT SUSPENSEFUL MOVIE

    • Carol
    • 10/13/06

    THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST OLD MOVIES THAT I HAVE EVER SEEN. LARAINE DAY SHOWS HER TALENT. BETTER THAN "FOREIGN CORRESPONDENT"

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.