skip navigation
Little Dorrit

Little Dorrit(1988)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Little Dorrit Adaptation of Charles... MORE > $49.98 Regularly $49.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • loved it!

    • sally
    • 1/8/12

    I also missed the beginning of Part 1. I saw all Part 11 and just loved the movie. I had never seen it before. I would love to see the full Part 1. Please run it again!

  • I so enjoyed "Little Dorrit"

    • Valerie Nolin
    • 12/28/11

    Fortunately I got to see Parts I and II for Little Dorrit. I just think it was wonderful! And I have thoroughly enjoyed the Charles Dickens movies playing this month.

  • show it again

    • nwoods
    • 12/27/11

    like others I missed part of Little Dorrit. Please play it again

  • Would have like to have seen Part II

    • Wendy
    • 12/27/11

    I enjoyed part 1 and would have like to see part 2, but it would have ended at 2:30AM Eastern time. I hope it is shown again. I thoroughly enjoyed this version.

  • Bad DVR Timing

    • Patte
    • 4/17/09

    Like many other reviewers, part of the film was lost for me too. I'm so upset! I've hoped TCM would show this film for a few years & when it finally happened, the beginning was cut off from Part 2. Please show it again!

  • Start time

    • Larry
    • 4/12/09

    Renee is absolutely right. I recorded both parts on my Dish DVR and the start times and end times were inaccurate. I missed completely the beginning of Part II. Yes, please re-air. I must say I have never before experienced this kind of error on TCM.

  • Bravo!

    • Sue Reyburn
    • 4/11/09

    Really enjoyed "Little Dorrit part 1 & 2 today. I am watching the PBS series also on Sunday nights. The acting is superb!

  • Little Dorrit Part 1 Part 2

    • RenĂ©e
    • 4/11/09

    Both these parts should be re-aired making sure the start/end times are "ACCURATE".Seeing how I missed both ending by at least 8 min.Please re-air.

  • Little Dorrit

    • Rebecca
    • 4/11/09

    This movie should be aired again. I would suggest that both parts be aired on the same day or over two days. I stumbled on part I by accident. With other committments, I could not watch the entire movie. As I watch part II, I feel that I've missed important information from the previous movie. Ugh! Next month? Maybe?

  • Will "Little Dorrit Part I" be repeated?

    • Roberta Sharpe-Martin
    • 4/9/09

    I missed seeing Part I of "Little Dorrit" this past Saturday, 4 April 2009 and would like to know if you will repeat the two parts of this story in the very near future. I shall watch Part II this coming Saturday, but would love to see Part I. I am presently watching the PBS verison on Sundays.I would very much appreciate having any information about a rerun of this film.Thank you,Roberta

  • EXCELLENT VERSION OF A LESSER KNOWN DICKENS NOVEL

    • Lee
    • 4/5/09

    Part Two, the concluding part of this version, will air on Saturday April 11 at 9:00 am Eastern daylight savings time USA. Derek Jacobi is excellent in this version and we have the pleasure of a late and fine performance by Alec Guinness as well. I haven't seen this in years owing to it not being on dvd. It is as good as I'd recalled. This should certainly be released on dvd.

  • Little Dorret

    • Rebecca Lynne
    • 4/4/09

    Dear TCM - I accidently tuned into the presentation of Part I of Little Dorrit and was disapointed that you did not post when the Part II would be shone. Please advise, I do not want to miss it. I understand this is the version made in the 80's. Is this correct? thank you, Rebecca

  • Little Doritt, part 11

    • Evelyn Lambden
    • 4/4/09

    When will you show Little Doritt, Part 11and 111?

  • I Missed It ... When it will air again?

    • Maureen Butler
    • 4/4/09

    It's now past noon in my time zone and I missed this film! I would have loved to have seen it and compared it to the newest version now airing Sunday nights on PBS' Masterpiece Classic. This latest version began last Sunday and I see is also available on DVD via Amazon.com and the Critic's Choice catalog.How do I find out when/if TCM will schedule this version again????

  • I too stumbled upon "Little Dorrit"

    • Mary Lennox
    • 4/4/09

    I too stumbled upon TCM's showing of "Little Dorrit". That was this morning, Sat, April 4. Outdoors snow flakes are quickly eclipsed by sun bursts as huge white and black clouds pass by in a turbulent Spring storm. So much like the movie! Not on my Saturday agenda, but so compellingly alive in the way a good movie can be. What a gem! As soon as it was over, I jumped on line to find out where I could buy Part II and Part I. I was disappointed to find TCM doesn't have it!I won't give up - in the world of movie procurement, "Epartmentofcircumcopyrightinternetarchival office" ML

  • Little Dorrit

    • geehjayh
    • 12/6/07

    It is one of Dicken's unheralded masterpieces. Derik Jacobi is superb and I'm always suprised that so few Dicken's lovers are aware of this wonderful adaption. Jump on it if you can get it because it is very hard to find. Libraries seem to be the only ones to have it.

  • Truly Wonderful

    • Ed
    • 11/2/07

    I stumbled upon this playing on TCM and spent the next couple hours completely spellbound with the complexity and the politics of social standings in that erra. I wish they'd release it on dvd. It's certainly one I'd like to throw in the player on that rainy day.

  • A Dicken's Delight for the Eyes

    • Ally
    • 7/6/07

    I could kick myself, I used to have this on cassette, but sadly it no longer works. Dicken's interweaving of stories for which he is famous, succeeds brilliantly in Little Dorrit. So beautifully filmed. It captures the imagination from start to finish and it truly tells of the lives of people during the "work house" era. If you read anything of Charles Dickens you will know that what he wrote about, reflected what his life was before he became a writer of timeless fiction. Please consider this as a DVD release soon.

  • Pure Dickens

    • Meg
    • 6/11/06

    I recently viewed this for the first time on a late night cable channel and was hooked.( Especially since I am currently reading this volume) Stayed up all night watching part 1 and 2 Since then have been trying to locate this for home. I hope they will release it soon I would love to add it to my classics collection.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.