skip navigation
Lisa

Lisa(1962)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Lisa A Dutch Jewish who has... MORE > $14.99 Regularly $19.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Amazingly Intrigued

    • Peter Gaudet
    • 5/28/14

    I am fortunate to know a Dutch family from Holland who immigrated to Canada in the mid fifties and we have been friends since we first met in Amherst, N.S. They would really appreciate all that this movie has to offer and then some, I'm sure. I did talk to one of the siblings and she would really like to obtain this as an important part of the time and era.I was captivated all the way through this movie and felt that the impact was as powerful as Casablanca and others as deep and professional.It was a real pleasure to see Ms. Hart chat about the various times and experiences along her path in life. Such a soft and gentle person, amazing to me.

  • Lisa/The Inspector

    • RJ
    • 9/21/12

    Saw this film several years ago on TCM. You can't get it anywhere, not VHS or DVD, and not in any library. It is deeply moving, beautifully acted, and a thoughtful take on the refugee/Holocaust nexus. I hope TCM will show it again soon.

  • Lisa

    • Joe Conlon
    • 7/13/12

    I saw this movie on late night television when I was in about 4th grade and found it very moving. I could not sleep and went downstairs and watched on our small B&W tv. This movie prompted me to ask many questions. Over the years I have not found any one who has seen, heard of this film or storyline until a recent netflix search some 39 years later. Netflix does not have this film in their inventory but is considering. Many of the films I enjoyed as a pre-adolescent I enjoy today and look forward to seeing this fine film again.

  • LISA 1962

    • Barbara
    • 4/7/12

    Saw this movie in 1962Thought it was one of the best.Cannot seem to get it on NETFLEXMaybe TMC will show it someday

  • Lisa

    • Jules
    • 3/11/12

    I also saw this movie when I was a child - sometime in the late 1960s or early 1970s. Although the story behind this film was beyond my ability to truly understand at the time, I absolutely was taken by it. I saw it maybe 15 years ago on a cable channel - I remembered the theme music, the opening credits - and finally as an adult I was able to understand exactly what had happened to the main character. What a great film it is. I remember crying my eyes out at the end when that wooden shoe is dropped. As a child I remember my mother telling me that Dolores Hart had become a nun. I swear I read somewhere that making this film helped her in that decision. Oh, this film so needs to be put on DVD so that those of us who truly loved it can watch it again and again.

  • Lisa - a great movie

    • Kathy
    • 2/24/12

    I really loved this movie as an adolescent. It had a more powerful impact on me than just about any other film from that era. Delores Hart gives her best (in my opinion) performance in this film, and the film is evidence of what a really good actress she was. Stephen Boyd, who is one of my favorite actors, is also very effective in this film, as are the supporting cast members. I might add that I read in an article about Delores Hart, that Lisa was her favorite film of any she appeared in. PLEASE, PLEASE PLAY THIS MOVIE. It is well worth seeing and I am sure your viewers will appreciate it.

  • The Inspector

    • wan
    • 6/29/11

    I saw this movie when I was a little girl-it has stuck in my mind all through the years.I never could remember the name of the movie until one day I was channel surfing and came across the movie again,the bad part was I only got to see the tail end,the good part I finally found out the name of the movie-I want to see this movie again real bad

  • Please show this movie . . .

    • Julie
    • 2/2/11

    This movie was one of those pivotal moments from my childhood. It made a huge impact on me, and I so want to get to see it again. And for it to be released on DVD so I can watch it whenever I want. This is one of the few movies that Delores Hart made before she entered the convent, and I think the most compelling one. It would be a huge tribute to her for it to be released on DVD. "Lisa" is one of my three favorite childhood movies along with "The Nun's Story" and "Exodus". It helps keep alive the reality of what happened during WWII in a very realistic and honest way not overdone with melodrama. I do not know of any other movie that tells this story. 40 years later I still think about this movie. You have no idea how badly I want to be able to see it again.

  • Lisa

    • Vicki P
    • 3/16/10

    I also saw this movie years ago in the early 1970s as a young teenager. It too opened my eyes to the horrors of the Holocost and the passion of the Jewish people trying to get to Israel. The romance between the two characters was so beautiful and the heart-wrenching ending caused me to cry buckets! I have been looking for this movie for years and I pray it will be released on DVD or shown on TV soon.

  • Great work by Delores Hart!

    • Steve E
    • 1/22/09

    I saw this film when I was in Jr. High school. It was one of the few films at that time that delt with any aspect of the Holocost. I felt that it opened my eyes to this topic after seeing it. It is too bad that Delores Hart left the screen only a short time later. This film shows what great acting potential she had. As a very scarred individual she gives a heart wrenching performance. Hope this one will be released soon as it needs to be seen more widely by all.

  • Deeply Moving

    • Michael Thompson
    • 1/2/09

    I found the film Lisa to be very moving. Stephen Boyd plays a Dutch policeman with extraordinary integrity, compassion and decency. He falls in love with a holocaust victim who, because of experiments performed on her at Auschwitz, believes she cannot be physically intimate with a man and, thus, cannot reciprocate the love she feels for the Boyd character. Yet, despite of all her travails, the character played by Ms. Hart is strong and with great conviction. Although the film is not a grand, expensive production, it is powerful in its understated simplicity and subtlety.

  • Movie "Lisa" Dolores Hart and Stephen Boyd 1962

    • Rita Rodriguez
    • 3/27/08

    I saw this movie many years ago. I wouldlove to see it again. It does not appearto be on DVD. Please show this movieand advise as to when it will be on.Thank you.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.