skip navigation
The Lion in Winter

The Lion in Winter(1968)

  • Saturday, January 31 @ 03:45 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Friday, February 27 @ 12:15 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down
share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Lion in Winter England's Henry II and... MORE > $14.98 Regularly $14.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • The Lion in Winter

    • Goetan
    • 2/16/14

    The loud, screaming family viewers will come to love. O'Toole won a Golden Globe, Hepburn tied with Barbra Streisand of "Funny Girl" for a Best Actress Oscar, Merrow was nominated for a Golden Globe and Hopkins, Terry & Dalton's dbuts are splendid. Won two additional Oscars for Goldman's witty and biting adaptation of his play and for the Best Score. Explores themes of love, loyalty and honour through venomous arguments, strategies and, oh yeah, shouting matches. I give it a 4/5.

  • Superb Acting!!!

    • Cheryl Christian Gonzalez
    • 4/26/13

    Excellent! Excellent Excellet! Peter O'Toole and Katherine Hepburn together what more could you ask for? The script was very well written. They brought you into the film with them. You could feel the Love/Hate relationship that existed between the family members vieing for power. The end of the movie was great. Especially in the last sentences spoken by O'toole and Hepburn. And when they raised their arms upward it was like they were taking a bow on the stage. Curtain. Play Ended.Movies: The End.

  • Acting at its height "The Lion In Winter"

    • Cheryl Christian Gonzalez
    • 4/26/13

    Excellent! Excellent! Excellent! Peter O'toole and Katherine Heburn. Some powerful, moving, great acting going on! The dialogue was wonderful. The whole cast brought you into the film as you felt the love/hate relationships between the family members. And the dog eat dog vieing for power. The end of the movie was the icing on the cake. The last sentences by O'toole and Hepburn. It was as if they were taking a bow on stage as they raised their hands overhead.

  • What Royalty!!!

    • Virginia Dunn
    • 12/9/12

    I love this movie sooo much... I love the topic and I love all the players... it was the first time my little brother learned that kings and queens didn't live in deluxe castles and that it was very cold inside them... But I watch it all the time and am crossing my fingers for the Blu-Ray to come out soon!!

  • O'Toole's last best chance for Oscar

    • Blake Anthony
    • 12/3/12

    The Late Great Kate, to win back to back Oscars for 1967 Guess Who's Coming To Dinner and for the Lion in Winter. Let's agree the Academy were also in mourning of the lost of the late Spencer Tracy, Kate"s life's romance, thus explains the second Oscar. In The Lion in Winter, Kate proves once again the tie with Striesand was totally dead on! Her performance was magnified by her co-star Peter O'toole of Lawrence of Arabia stardom. His performance was stellar and the Academy must explain why Cliff Robertson's performance is dated while O'toole's performance still memorable. In my opnion this was his last great chance for Oscar, after Lawrence and Becket nominations what gives? Now he is the sole honor of the most nominated actor in Academy history without a acting golden boy on his mantle. Oh, my bad, Honorary Oscar in 2003 and another acting nod in 2009, I wonder whom O'toole pissed off in Hollywood??

  • Second Review For TLIW

    • Bruce Reber
    • 4/12/12

    I would like to post another review for "The Lion In Winter", starring Peter O'Toole as King Henry II and Katherine Hepburn as his estranged queen Eleanor of Aquitaine. My previous review was from 12/10/09, and I commented that Hepburn shared the best actress Oscar in 1968 with Barbra Streisand (for her performance in "Funny Girl"). I also said that while both were great films, I thought FG was a little better than TLIW. I've seen TLIW several times since then, and I think I see why there was a tie for the best actress Oscar. Both Hepburn and Streisand gave magnificent performances, although they were playing very different roles in two very different films (TLIW is a dark historical drama and FG is a musical). The AMPAS must have been hard pressed to decide which actress was better. Both films were nominated for best picture also, and lost out to "Oliver!", an adaptation of the Broadway musical hit based on Dickens' classic book. TLIW features a fine supporting cast including future Oscar winner Anthony Hopkins and Timothy Dalton, still two decades away from playing James Bond 007. O'Toole was reprising the role of Henry II, the same one he played in "Becket" four years earlier co-starring with Richard Burton. O'Toole was nominated for best actor for TLIW but lost out to Cliff Robertson for "Charly". My favorite scene from TLIW has to be the finale, when Henry shouts "I hope we never die!" to Eleanor as she's waving goodbye while being taken back to her imprisonment.

  • Let the Games Begin !

    • Michael Brown
    • 4/12/12

    I first saw this film on a high school french club field trip in the late 60's. At that time, it was a history lesson, and gave insight into the politics of 12th century Europe. I thought it was about how even royalty were prisoners of their age and time, and were, after all, only human. But after my life experiences grew, I now see it as a story about love and marriage. I am reminded of "Who's Afraid of Virginia Wolfe?" It shows the full range of emotions in a marriage, adoration through loathing. We see the gamesmanship that comes from knowing someone so completely: their vulnerabilities, their fears, their hopes, their strengths. Hepburn and O'Toole are brilliant playing off each other. The screenplay is a clever balance of character exposition and wit, with language at once both common and lofty. The awards and acclaim this film receives are deserved.

  • Hepburn/O'Toole Masterful

    • David Atkins
    • 8/28/10

    Spencer Tracy had just died and Miss Hepburn seeking solace thru work joined Peter O Toole in master producer Joe Levine's "A Lion In Winter" Kate Hepburn nearly 30 years older than her great co star is magnificent in her Oscar winning performance as Eleanor. This is a splendid film with great speeches expertly given by the cast and kudos to Hepburn, O'Toole, director Anthony Harvey and Mr. Levine. I am one who feels the great films of the past are due to meticulous production, and producers such as Hal Wallis, David Selznick, Sam Spiegel, and Joe Levine. Their type no longer exists in Hollywood. I attended the world premiere of this film in New York and while she lived in NY, literally around the corner from the Theatre Ms Hepburn ever private did not attend, but Henry Fonda did.I noted that at premiere's as the credits rolled in front of the picture, applause was given to each name, i.e. O'Toole, Hepburn. nice touch.

  • Great Cast - Great Chemistry

    • midge
    • 12/14/09

    What an incredible match: Hepburn-O'Toole-and a great script worthy of their talents. As for the rest: what a delight to see first-filmer Timothy Dalton well able to hold screen with Hopkins and O'Toole...no problem! I have to say that Hopkins in his 2nd film didn't fare as well in the role of the young Richard the Lionheart...he looked a little lost most of the time. That said, it certainly is a magnificent playground for Hepburn and O'Toole. They match each other perfectly step-for-delicious-step here. The script got a very well-earned Oscar for William Goldman...and it's a total delight.

  • Shared Best Actress Oscar 1968

    • Bruce Reber
    • 12/10/09

    1968 was the year that Katharine Hepburn and Barbara Streisand were both awarded the Oscar for Best Actress, for "The Lion In Winter" and "Funny Girl" respectively, the only time that has happened. Both are great films, though I think "Funny Girl" is a little better.

  • The Lion in Winter (1968)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 8/12/09

    Extremely well done, but it is a bit long and talky. The acting is superb, everyone in the cast is great. The art direction is well done, but a bit claustrophobic. In spite of the length, it's always interesting and quite a remarkable film.

  • " The Lion In Winter "

    • JDH
    • 2/19/06

    A must see film. One of the best performances by Peter O'Toole and the best by Katharine Hepburn. A story of love, power, passion, hate , and desire .

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.