skip navigation
Limelight

Limelight(1953)

  • Saturday, November 8 @ 03:30 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Limelight - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Limelight

    • John
    • 8/3/13

    Overall- 4 1/2 out of 5Lead Performers-4/5Supporting Cast-4/5Director-5/5Score-5/5Screenplay-4/5Cinematography-5/5Importance-4/5Recommendation for fans of the genre-4/5

  • chaplin

    • susan mitchell
    • 4/16/13

    I want to purchase this film. It is an absolutely lovely film that I wanted to watch again as soon as it was over.

  • Greatest Movie To Me

    • Nate
    • 4/16/13

    This film may not be the greatest to film critics, like "Citizen Kane," for instance, due to the latter film's effects, cinematography, storytelling, etc., but to me it was the greatest film I've seen. It made me laugh and cry constantly, and I even missed the scenes from the banquet to Buster Keaton's appearance. It contains so many amazing features, Chaplin's genius aside. The acting and ballet sequences are fantastic, as is the score. It is the quintessential film for the mass public, and could be used as a great example of superb storytelling and screenwriting sequences. A

  • Simply and utterly beautiful!

    • RedRain
    • 3/2/13

    I first saw this film the year after it came out and I am now 68 years old. It is and has always been my favorite film of all time. I cannot tell you exactly what draws me to it year after year but I never miss a chance to view it. It breaks my heart and it uplifts my spirits at the same time. The fragility and beauty of Claire Bloom as the young ballet dancer is ever so poignant. Chaplain, as the aged but once-great clown, Calvero, will bring you to tears as he painstakingly cares for Terry (Claire Bloom) and brings her back to health in body and soul, even as he is dying. Like the film, the score was also written by Charlie Chaplain and for it he received his only Academy Award - a travesty that he didn't receive several, as he was such a genius. If you see this film, do not miss the duet between Buster Keaton and Chaplain toward the end of the film. It is phenomenal!

  • Limelight

    • Sandy Wozniak
    • 2/28/11

    This is Charles Chaplin at his best. What an incredible and touching movie. I was captured from beginning to end, laughing at times and crying at the end. An amazing film and is a must see for everyone young and old.

  • Awesome!

    • Laura J
    • 2/24/11

    I saw this film years ago, but didnt remember much about it other then I liked it, so I taped it again. What a great film. I really didnt know much about Charlie Chaplin, but this film makes you want to read up on him. The acting was great and it will definitely give you a sense of appreciation for this past film star. Although this film is not a autobiography, I read that there are pieces of the film here and there that can be attirbuted to Mr.Chaplins past. This is not the typical run of the mill film and it should be more popular then it seems to be. A MUST SEE!

  • Limelight

    • Harold
    • 11/28/10

    This movie immediately reached out and grabbed my attention. I had never seen this movie and I wondered at first if this was really Charlie Chaplin. It was and his soft spoken character held my attention as he fought to save the life of this young girl, all the while prolonging his own until he could see a reward for himself, if only for a very short time. Watch for the subtle nuances, and references both in sight and in words to the famous "Tramp". Truly an endearing film. A joy to have Charlie Chaplin educate us on the meaning and value of living.

  • Pure Genious

    • James
    • 8/13/08

    A great film with two masters of film.Chaplin and Keaton...still to this day, people just realize that Chaplin wrote and sang "Smile"...

  • See this movie.

    • Tracey
    • 8/3/08

    My favorite Chaplin movie. Really sweet.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.