skip navigation
Li'l Abner

Li'l Abner(1959)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Li'l Abner - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • LiL Abner

    • Delbert Daws
    • 5/18/12

    I saw this movie one time and loved the music, and enjoyed it, wish I could see it again.

  • Fun Abner Facts.

    • Mike Dudnikov
    • 4/21/09

    On this site one can see a trailer of the movie where where the real Al Capp can be seen. Just wanted to include a few fun facts for those who liked this movie. At one point there are heard the voices of some radio announcers talking about the discovery of Yokumberry tonic. One of those is Paul Frees. If the voice sounds familiar, he was often heard doing narrations on the Rocky and Bullwinkle Show. In the parts of Mammy and Pappy Yokum were two very different thespians. Pappy was played bu Joe E. Marks who was 68 at the time of the movie. Mammy was portrayed by Billie Hayes. She was only 27, good make-up job. And concerning the wonderful Evil Eye Fleagle as portrayed by Al Nesor, well there is a little inside joke here. Fleagle, usually spelled Fliegel, is the Yiddish term for a chicken wing. So next time you are at one of those take out places just asked for some fliegels and see if you get any response.

  • Capp's Follies

    • Mike Dudnikov
    • 4/21/09

    While this movie is worth seeing and has some wonderful songs, it does very much miss Al Capp, who invented the comic strip it was based on. Capp's cleverness and wit is very much what made Abner a national treasure for more than 30 years. There is a record album out there called Al Capp on Campus where one can here from Al himself. If you can find it, it will be a treat. Valerie Harper of Rhoda fame appears in the movie as is often noted, but also present is Donna Douglas, later of the Beverly Hillbillies, in a very small role. In the part where she appears she mentions wanting to broaden her horizons and Mammy mentions that hers are broad enough.

  • LI ABMER A HOOT

    • MARK KATZ
    • 3/31/09

    LOTS OF FUN...LOTS OF ENERGY...GREAT SATIRE...WONDERFULL DANCE SEQUENCES....ONLY LACKED ASHOWSTOPPING SONG......VERRY UNDERATED MUSICAL MOVIE

  • Maybe a little dated, but who isn't?

    • DougieB
    • 3/17/09

    Dogpatch was sort of the South Park of its day, Al Capp's suspect politics aside. It was certainly sweetened up for the movie, and the stage play on which it was based. I remember seeing a production in summer stock (Remember summer stock?) when I was a kid and loving it. It's the kind of thing that engenders delight, and not just in kids. They were smart to import some of the Broadway people, because this has to be played in a broader style than is appropriate for most movies. Stubby Kaye is great, and the comic timing of some of these people is a wonder. I laughed myself silly every time Available Jones (Sorry; I don't know his name.) came up with a zinger. Howard St. John and Stella Stevens (!) are also first-rate. One of my fave songs from the stage show was dropped (You Can Tell When There's Love In A Home), but there's plenty of good stuff left. I was thrilled to see this show up on TCM.

  • Interesting to see the raw film frame

    • Steve
    • 2/9/09

    Good to see this musical on TCM. The print shown on TCM was excellent. However, I noticed that the full VistaVision frame was used, which means that the top was not cropped for CinemaScope, resulting in the lights, boom mikes, and the tops of the sets being clearly visible in the top of the frame. At least we got to see what the cinematographer saw, and more than what theatrical audiences did.

  • Surprise…It’s Good

    • Teddy Kaye
    • 2/7/09

    I was expecting a bad musical. Instead I saw a good one. Not great, but fun and entertaining. There are some nice songs and well staged dances. Songs include "Jubilation T. Cornpone", "The Country's in the Very Best of Hands", "I'm Past My Prime" and "Put 'em Back". All are good. The Sadie Hawkins Day Race is fun because the choreography is so, well, moving. The leads Peter Palmer as Li'l Abner and Leslie Parrish as Daisy Mae are handsome and beautiful, respectively. They are a likable and convincing couple. Oh, and they both can sing. Watch Li'L Abner. It's a good musical, sets, songs and dances.

  • would like to see this movie run sometime on TCM

    • Kenneth Treadwell
    • 4/3/08

    Haven't screen this wounderful musical since it played ay the RKO PALACE in my home town,inthe 1960's. woundering if TCM will run it any time soon?

  • Great menory early 60's

    • Harold Fussell
    • 12/26/07

    As a teenager to sit through a musical was un-believeable, to enjoy it was a miracle.I have wanted to see it again, but I have never seen where it has been shown in the theater or on TV.I would love to see it on TCM and share it with the world again.H.L.F.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.