skip navigation
The Left Hand of God

The Left Hand of God(1955)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

The Left Hand of... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • A Really Good Film

    • GypsyPi3000
    • 4/21/13

    I really enjoyed this film. I had never even heard of it before which is too bad because it has such a different story. I was kind of confused about the Asian warlord guy. I wasn't sure if he was actually supposed to be Asian or if he was just a warlord in Asia. But then after reading the other reviews I understand now. He seemed likeable enough, but not very Asian. It was also nice to read about Bogart helping Tierney out. I'm glad he did that because I always like both of them so it would be disheartening to read if he had been a jerk or something.

  • Bogart does it again

    • I_Fortuna
    • 12/27/12

    I was so moved by this film that I have to give it five stars all around.

  • The Left Hand Knows What It's Doing

    • Bartman
    • 3/7/12

    Great movie,can't wait to see it on dvd!Too bad Gene Tierney's career ended here,she always was a lovely woman.Bogie has more respect from me after seeing he showed support to Ms Gene thru here difficulties.A real winner,enjoyed everyone,and Bogies fists came in handy.

  • Splendid Movie

    • John
    • 2/9/12

    This is a splendid movie, with Bogey projecting his special persona quite plausibly into the garments of a priest. Quite frankly, it is almost shocking that this movie is not available in DVD when we, the long-suffering viewing public, are awash in so much which is trash. If the powers that be, who make decisions on what movies make the cut to be translated into DVD, do not come to their senses and cause this movie to be, ideally, in Blu-ray, but at a minimum in basic DVD, then they are philistines, obtuse and utmost trash. I await your verdict, and, being a retired judge, I would direct a verdict, in favor of this fine movie (to refresh your recollection, "The Left Hand of God") being made into a DVD.

  • The Left Hand of God

    • Robert Hall
    • 9/28/11

    Simply Outstanding! Bogart at his best! I wish I could get this film on DVD.

  • Casting notes

    • Jarrod McDonald
    • 1/1/10

    I really enjoyed this film. I think I liked the fact that the two don't wind up together and there is not a romantic happy ending. That would not ring true for these characters and their situation. It's also good to see Bogart in a color film, and I think his films with director Edward Dmytryk are among his best. I didn't buy Lee Cobb as the warlord. He's a great actor, but for him to play a role in yellow face (before the days of political correctness), he would at least have to look Asian. He has such a wide nose and lacks the type of delicate features that would make him physically believable. The white actor who plays a Chinese warlord in 'The Bitter Tea of General Yen' is much more convincing, physically. Agnes Moorhead is good as always. But as much as I like Gene Tierney, she seems like she's starting to head past her prime in this movie. Since Bogart is an older leading man, it still works. But if she had been paired with Marlon Brando, it would not have worked.

  • A must see for fan of Bogart.

    • Mike Davitt
    • 12/30/09

    This is one of Bogart's flimes that could be on DVD. I think that Bogart should have won an Oscar for this one.

  • Please Play This Film Soon

    • Dale Harman
    • 11/30/09

    This is one of Bogarts best films and should be seen more often. It should also be made available on DVD as soon as possible. It is sorely missed, by not only classic movie enthusiasts, but those of us who love Bogart's complete body of work. Thankyou.

  • A great Bogart favorite.

    • Donald McGee
    • 10/28/09

    A terrific Bogart film which brings out a side of him not usually seen. A great believeable film with a captivating story. The haunting music keeps the theme of the film tied together. Supporting cast is great. It MUST be put on DVD so more people can dscover one of Boggy'd great fims.

  • Whyt is this still not on DVD?

    • Bryan
    • 9/6/09

    Absolutely one of the best movies of all time, and one of Bogart's best as well. With a great move classic cast.

  • This needs to be on DVD!!!

    • Kate
    • 8/7/09

    I just love this movie. I know that it is corney and a little far fetched, but isn't that why we watch them anyway. I wish I could buy it on DVD. It is one of my favorite Bogart movies.

  • Bogart in colour

    • Lorny
    • 2/17/09

    Of Bogart's four colour films,"The Left Hand of God" is the only one which is not available to buy on DVD.The other three - The African Queen,The Barefoot Contessa and The Caine Mutiny - are available on DVD.Is there a reason why "The Left Hand of God" should be excluded from the complete Bogart colour set?

  • An unexpected jewel

    • Kyrila Scully
    • 12/15/07

    This rarely seen film is in my opinion one of Humphrey Bogart's best and most romantic films. Bogart plays a trapped American flyer, shot down behind Chinese borders and forced to work for a warlord (Lee J. Cobb). He finds an unusual means of escape when a priest is shot dead. Assuming the priest's robes and identity, Bogart escapes, only to find himself in the village where the priest was expected. The village has an American medical clinic operated by E.G. Marshall and his wife, Agnes Morehead. A beautiful nurse, played by the lovely Gene Tierney, accepts Bogart as a priest, but is tormented by a physical attraction for him as well. Through a series of events, where Bogart is now forced to act in the priest's place, he finds himself regarded as a miracle worker by the Chinese, and word of his reputation reaches Cobb, who confronts Bogart in a tense gambit.Each actor performs at the top of their game, and it's a pity this film is not more widely regarded. THE LEFT HAND OF GOD shows a side of Humphrey Bogart rarely seen. Gene Tierney is at her prime, and the support of the brilliant cast make this film quite a treat.

  • THE LEFT HAND OF GOD

    • sally
    • 9/10/07

    good movie and should be on dvd.

  • Great movie

    • JGG
    • 5/14/07

    Great movie Tierney and Bogart are a great duo I'm surprised they did not make more movies together. Bogart seem to really care for Gene Tierney. Very good movie.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.